We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked a two bedroom cottage for a two day weekend break - myself, husband and two children 14 and 6. The cottage looked rather bleak and dated from the outside but it did improve a little on the inside. All the rooms were of a generous proportion and the kitchen was fully equipped with everything you could have needed.

The bedrooms were a little outdated and the small TV in the second bedroom could only be seen by the single bed nearest to it so we had two children arguing over who slept nearest the TV. They agreed to listen to the radio channels as a compromise. Our bedroom had a huge jacuzzi in it. Unfortunately the jacuzzi also had a huge spider in it so we never used that! The view from the patio door in the lounge was great. We sat and watched the bunny rabbits run around the grass for ages.

The swimming pool was a great extra although to have individual saunas in each of the changing rooms and not a shared one was a bit unusual. Although it did mean my husband had peace and quiet in his as we have two daughters!

Overall we had a great stay and will definitely consider a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Butterfly959908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic week here. The villa was dated but very clean & well equipped. Beautiful views with the horses on our doorstep. Swimming pool was good & our children loved going! Beautiful well kept grounds, playgrounds in the walled garden & wooded area were a hit. We went horse riding for a trek which was thoroughly enjoyable. The staff were friendly & helpful too. Good food in the bistro, apart from the kids menu where there was not a baked bean, vegetable or piece of fruit to be seen!!! We had a really relaxing, fun time & will be back again (when we can face the drive from SE England again!!)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Arranged last minute trip to St Andrews and all local hotels were full. Found Kilconquhar Castle had a vacant double room on ground floor which we booked for two nights. It was the cheapest deal for miles around and we were only expecting basic facilities. On arrival we were struck by the magnificent grounds which were beautifully maintained. Several small rental properties are scattered throughout the grounds.The reception staff were charming and efficient. Our accommodation was in the main building and far exceeded our expectations. It had two armchairs provided and was more like a small suite, very well appointed with tv, dvd player, coffee/tea making facilities, and en-suite shower. The bed was comfortable and the room was warm and quiet. The Scottish breakfast was excellent,and we ate in the Bistro on the second evening where the food was very good and the staff very friendly. It was a great experience and I heartily recommend this hotel. The value for money was unbeatable..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaydeeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing week at this timeshare resort. The grounds are stunning and the outlook from our 3 bed roomed villa (71) was beautiful. As we got sunshine on our patio in the afternoon/early evening it was perfect to sit out and have some pre dinner drinks! Accommodation was good - all appliances were new and worked! We pre paid for a 5 night dinner package which included the roast dinner night, steak night, scottish menu evening, 2 course table de hote on a night of our choice, takeaway fish and chips and full scottish breakfast on 2 mornings - excellent value at £61 each!! Although I thought a bottle of house wine was expensive at just under £18. We found the food very good and always had efficient service in the bistro. We cannot complain at all about our weeks holiday at Kilconquhar Castle - a relaxing and pleasant experience with no complaints.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank grssal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The 5 of us booked a villa for the night to celebrate two family birthdays. We booked a table in the restaurant and weren't overly impressed with the menu. The food was average but it was the attitude of the staff that was shocking. Four meals were served together and we were left for five ten minutes for the last main meal- we got no apology. Next, we asked for port and cheese boards- the cheese boards came with tiny pieces of cheese and not enough crackers. When we politely asked for more we were rudly told she would ask the chef and it was up to him. No smile or apology- and no understanding. We then only received two ports and were left waiting for 15 minutes for the other two- by this point we had finished the cheese. On top of this- the ports came in tiny shot glasses! Everyone knows port is a 50ml serving. This was barely 25ml. When we tried to explain why we were unhappy the server, Bryce, was rude, abrupt and unapologetic. My Dad paid the bill and explained why he felt it wasn't worth the £160 and he was met with a sullen response from Bryce, who stated "that's your opinion... Nae bother."
What a shocking way to treat customers. The cleaners weren't much better either. We asked for a late check out and were given till 11am, yet a cleaner came in and started stripping the place at 10:40, while we were all still getting ready!!
Not going back to this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nmck1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We flew into Glasgow and stayed one night there and then drove to the Estate. Once there we were greeted and check in was a pleasure. We were there on Friday and Saturday which both nights had weddings and that was their main focus in the tent next to the restaurant. We are not needy and very rarely use resort amenities so this didn't bother us. The restaurant service was very friendly but lacked detail and forgot we were there on one occasion. The food was amazing the seafood Haddock, Mussels and Oysters were divine. We took day trips to Edinburgh, Sterling, Inchcolm Island, St Andrews, East Neuk, the villages of Pittenweem, Anstruther, Ellie, St Monans and Crail. Simply amazing vistas, people, food, castles, abbeys, cathederals........Oh best timeshare ever. Oh did I mention that they have an indoor pool, putting green and horses in paddocks on the estate. We had a 2 bedroom suite in the castle and it was spacious with amazing views.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinsatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed in a Club Room for our golfing trip so didn't need much in the way of luxuries. Room was a bit dingy, and really just needed brightening up, but plenty good enough for our needs. Food in the bistro was good, and the bar/waiting staff were excellent. That was the only bar though, so if you just wanted a drink there were no easy chairs or comfy area. The estate was lovely and there appeared to be plenty for families to do.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrivePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilconquhar
8.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,274 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,154 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
375 reviews
11.1 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,302 reviews
14.3 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club

Address: | East Neuk, Kilconquhar, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kilconquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Price Range: £55 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Hotel Kilconquhar
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing