We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and myself have stayed at Kilconquhar a number of times most recent in May 2014. This time we stayed in a Castle Suite which could accommodate six people and were impressed with the space this accommodation afforded. The suite has a large TV in living room/dining room/kitchen which was very well equipped with appliances and crockery etc. There was also a TV in the main bedroom and also two good sized bathrooms, one with Jacuzzi.

We find staff exceptionally friendly and attentive giving us very good service. The food is of a very high standard with a wide variety of choice on the standard menu and theme nights including roast night, steak night, fish night and Scottish food night.

We are already planning our next visit..

Room Tip: Join the Last Minute Club you get really good special offers by e-mail or text that save you money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalcolmDalgetyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Staff were very accommodating which was appreciated as we were such a large group. Great location in lovely grounds. Lodges are clean with good facilities, décor could perhaps do with an update. Would definitely return. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCGAyrshire_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A large property with beautiful trees, lawns, far from all noises except birds , with many two-or three-bedrooms houses spread over the place .Ours had a chemney,a pleasant living room overlooking a meadow, a US type kitchen, and even a sauna .
The resort comprises a large golfing practice - bucket of balls to be rented at the reception -, a tennis court, an indoor swimming pool etc .
For families with children , or simply willing to enjoy a countryside quiet vacation, this is a perfect spot.
There is also a bar/restaurant where breakfast and dinner are served .
However this is definitively not a hotel :there is no maid service at all, nobody cleans up your room and makes your bed , there is no change of towels irrespective of the duration of your stay .There is a wifi , theoretically accessible from everywhere, but the speed is so low that it is not really possible to use it.Breakfast is served only after 8.30 ,which is obviously too late for golfers having been allocated an early tee time ,sometimes miles away.
On a more positive side, all staff is smart , courteous and efficent .
Finally this is a very nice spot for vacationeers looking for a countryside retreat , it is not suitable for people playing golf on the various famous courses in the neighborhood , and needing hotel services.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked a two bedroom cottage for a two day weekend break - myself, husband and two children 14 and 6. The cottage looked rather bleak and dated from the outside but it did improve a little on the inside. All the rooms were of a generous proportion and the kitchen was fully equipped with everything you could have needed.

The bedrooms were a little outdated and the small TV in the second bedroom could only be seen by the single bed nearest to it so we had two children arguing over who slept nearest the TV. They agreed to listen to the radio channels as a compromise. Our bedroom had a huge jacuzzi in it. Unfortunately the jacuzzi also had a huge spider in it so we never used that! The view from the patio door in the lounge was great. We sat and watched the bunny rabbits run around the grass for ages.

The swimming pool was a great extra although to have individual saunas in each of the changing rooms and not a shared one was a bit unusual. Although it did mean my husband had peace and quiet in his as we have two daughters!

Overall we had a great stay and will definitely consider a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Butterfly959908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic week here. The villa was dated but very clean & well equipped. Beautiful views with the horses on our doorstep. Swimming pool was good & our children loved going! Beautiful well kept grounds, playgrounds in the walled garden & wooded area were a hit. We went horse riding for a trek which was thoroughly enjoyable. The staff were friendly & helpful too. Good food in the bistro, apart from the kids menu where there was not a baked bean, vegetable or piece of fruit to be seen!!! We had a really relaxing, fun time & will be back again (when we can face the drive from SE England again!!)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Arranged last minute trip to St Andrews and all local hotels were full. Found Kilconquhar Castle had a vacant double room on ground floor which we booked for two nights. It was the cheapest deal for miles around and we were only expecting basic facilities. On arrival we were struck by the magnificent grounds which were beautifully maintained. Several small rental properties are scattered throughout the grounds.The reception staff were charming and efficient. Our accommodation was in the main building and far exceeded our expectations. It had two armchairs provided and was more like a small suite, very well appointed with tv, dvd player, coffee/tea making facilities, and en-suite shower. The bed was comfortable and the room was warm and quiet. The Scottish breakfast was excellent,and we ate in the Bistro on the second evening where the food was very good and the staff very friendly. It was a great experience and I heartily recommend this hotel. The value for money was unbeatable..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaydeeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing week at this timeshare resort. The grounds are stunning and the outlook from our 3 bed roomed villa (71) was beautiful. As we got sunshine on our patio in the afternoon/early evening it was perfect to sit out and have some pre dinner drinks! Accommodation was good - all appliances were new and worked! We pre paid for a 5 night dinner package which included the roast dinner night, steak night, scottish menu evening, 2 course table de hote on a night of our choice, takeaway fish and chips and full scottish breakfast on 2 mornings - excellent value at £61 each!! Although I thought a bottle of house wine was expensive at just under £18. We found the food very good and always had efficient service in the bistro. We cannot complain at all about our weeks holiday at Kilconquhar Castle - a relaxing and pleasant experience with no complaints.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank grssal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilconquhar
8.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
3,500 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
558 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
420 reviews
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,343 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club

Address: | Fife,, Kilconquhar KY9 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kilconquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Price Range: £57 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilconquhar Castle offers a wide range of self-catering accommodations ranging from 2 bedroom to 4 bedroom in size and a selection of hotel rooms sleeping from basis double rooms to family rooms sleeping up to 4. The estate has a selection of leisure facilities available for our onsite guests to enjoy during their stay including a heated indoor swimming pool, gymnasium, badminton court, outdoor tennis and a golf driving range. The White Cockade Bistro is avaialble to both onsite and off site guests to enjoy meals throughout the day from breakfast through to evening meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Hotel Kilconquhar
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing