We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location lovely house!”
other travellers have booked this property
Just steps from the harbour, Ceol na Mara means 'Music of the Sea'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Just steps from the harbour, Ceol na Mara means 'Music of the Sea'
Set over three storeys, the cottage has lots of traditional charm The patio area offers a suntrap to sit and enjoy the surroundings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Just steps from the harbour, Ceol na Mara means 'Music of the Sea'
Set over three storeys, the cottage has lots of traditional charm
The patio area offers a suntrap to sit and enjoy the surroundings
The wood burning stove offers a warming focal point on colder days
The lounge can accommodate up to two additional guests on the sofa bed
Newly fitted kitchen
The kitchen is well equipped
Enjoy informal dining at the breakfast bar, or a table is in the lounge area for more formal dining
The superking master bedroom on the first floor is bright and spacious
There is ample storage for short or long stays
The superking can be split into two single beds on request
The twin room is on the second floor
Tastefully decorated to reflect its coastal location
Perfect place to kick back and relax
Just a pebble's throw to the beach, with great rockpools to explore
The newly fitted shower room is sleek and modern
Stylish and practical
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
St Monans, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ls264
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location lovely house!”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed for a couple of nights in September with some friends for a girls weekend away. Lovely house in a great location near the water with everything you need plus very comfy beds. The nearby East Pier Smokehouse was excellent for lunch especially on a nice sunny day sitting on the upper decking - beautiful location. Also had a lovely evening meal in the Ship Inn along the road in Eile who offer a free taxi service on booking a table! Lovely walks along the Fife Coastal Route and overall a great place to relax as well as having plenty to do. Would definitely return.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theresami...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb house in perfect location”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Just had 2 days in St Monans made perfect with this lovely accommodation. The house is immaculate and very well appointed, bright,spacious and has a lovely homely feel to it.Beds super comfy, fab shower room and kitchen/living area has everything you need to make your holiday special. Located walking distance to harbour, local shops, restaurants ect make this house a prime location. Highly recommended!
TheresaM

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic property in a magical setting”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic 3 day stay with plenty to do for our 5 & 11 year old daughters and our family pet Hudson (cavapoo). The property is very well maintained and has all modern facilities inc wifi, SkyTV, selection of board games and DVD's. You could basically just arrive with your clothes and everything for a short break is catered for. The picturesque harbour is a few steps away with great views up and down the coast. Conveniently located across the road is "The Diving Gannet" a fabulous cafe that has just re-opened with more seating. There is a spar/post office across the road also. A short drive away is Kingbarns beach where we visited and had a Toastie from the Toastie Shack. Elie beach is 10 mins drive west where the kids and dog had a ball. Will defo be back in the summer as this tranquil hideaway will be even more stunning with the sun shining.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Thanks for your fab review Tracey, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a detailed review which will no doubt help our future guests plan their trip!
We're delighted that Ceol na Mara met your needs so well and do hope we can welcome you back to the East Neuk again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Dec 2016
Thanks for your comments Laura, we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found Ceol na Mara a comfortable setting for your short break.
As we discussed prior to arrival, we await a phone call to say you are thirty minutes away before going to the property. This is due to many guests advising an ETA then not actually arriving until often many hours after this. Due to having a number of properties to manage, we make this request as we have spent many wasted hours waiting on arrivals, I'm sure you'll appreciate that this is a reasonable system. It was unfortunate that you had been using an incorrect number to try to contact us, our contact is also displayed on the window of the property which could have been used to reach us sooner.
The instructions for the heating are contained in the handbook and the system is on a timer. As there had been no issue with the heating for the guests who stayed prior to you, we had no reason to believe that the radiators needed to bled.
We had a plumber called out at very short notice who was able to rectify the issue, which was due to a guest incorrectly moving something on the boiler. Hopefully the well stocked fire offered plenty heat whilst the issue was being attended to.
We do hope that you will return to the East Neuk again to explore its delights further.
Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FifsRoss
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabs weekend”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a gorgeous part of the world - we love organising holidays here. This was our first trip away with our new Scottie puppy and chose the cottage as pets are welcome - as they are in most pubs and restaurants around about too! We had a lovely relaxing, peaceful stay at Ceol na Mara - the cottage is perfect and caters for your every need and spotlessly clean. My husband particularly loved the wood-burning stove - so cozy at night with the blinds drawn. The cottage is so central and the ideal location for walking along the coastline to the amazing villages - and some of the most amazing scenery in Scotland. It was also just a 15 mins drive to St Andrew's for a sunny Sunday afternoon stroll. We will definitely be booking again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Thanks so much for takin gtime to leave a review, it is appreciated.
We're so pleased that Ceol na Mara was the prefet place for your stay- and we agree that the wood burning stove is such an asset, especially on the cooler nights! We look forward to welcoming you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneW5432...
Kelso, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Enjoyed a week here with 14 year old daughter and 12 year old son. House is lovely,beds are extremely comfortable and location is super. The house is clean and tidy and well equipped,especially the kitchen.The selection of board games kept us busy in the evenings.The wifi connection was good which pleased the kids! Plenty of lovely beaches and walks in the area . There is a super choice of pubs and restaurants nearby and most are dog-friendly which is great. Have already recommended to friends and will definitely like to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
So pleased Ceol na Mara was so perfect for you, hope we can be welcoming you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arunning
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, peaceful with excellent facilities and amenities. Perfect holiday!”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a fabulous relaxing weekend in Ceol Na Mara. The house was immaculate, very comfortable and had excellent facilities and amenities. There was plenty of space, extremely comfortable beds and everything that you would need and expect. We were only yards from the harbour, the local Spar and hotel and pub. Eateries in the area were also excellent with a huge variety of food.

As St Monan's is on the East Fife Coastal Path, we could walk along the coastline in both directions where the scenery is outstanding.

We were only a short distance to Pitenweem and Anstruther and a 15/20 min drive from St Andrew's.

I would recommend Ceol Na Mara - and already have to friends and family. We can't wait to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Thanks for your great review, we are delighted that Ceol na Mara was the ideal destination for your break. I do hope we can welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing