We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal pet-friendly cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Shore has a beautiful bright colour scheme with the cutest window seat to take in the sea views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Shore has a beautiful bright colour scheme with the cutest window seat to take in the sea views.
Window seat with views to the distant shore
View from The Shore window
Dining seats 4
Delonghi appliances
Egyptian cotton Bedding and memory topper to give a luxurious sleep!
Bedroom
Hall
Spacious hall with great storage for golf clubs etc
Bistro set on exterior patio. Enjoy the afternoon sun in this little sun trap!
Bathroom
Walk in wet room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Monans, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Fiona B
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ideal pet-friendly cottage”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We - our dog and it’s two humans - spent a relaxing Easter weekend in St Monans and stayed at The Shore. The Shore is a comfortable, well-equipped and stylish self-catering cottage in a convenient location. Even though it was a busy weekend, close-by street parking was available.

The cottage is tastefully furnished with a recurring ocean theme throughout. All equipment was of good quality, everything was clean and tidy. We have no complaints. Can it be improved? Yes, the addition of a Tassimo/Nescafe type coffee machine and some more books for casual reading would make for a perfect stay.

Fife is a popular destination and St Monans is ideally situated to explore the region, by foot or by car. We had a wonderful time with our dog walking the coastal path between towns and asked to stay at The Shore a day more than we had planned.

We highly recommend The Shore and will use it again should the opportunity arise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
Thanks Fiona for your great review of The Shore. I am so glad that you's all had such a wonderful visit and so much so you decided to extend your stay. I love my fresh coffee in a cafetiere but maybe the addition of a machine would be useful ! Thank you for the recommendation.
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian R
1 review
“Cosy, comfortable, Gem of a cottage”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

A welcoming feel as soon as you enter the door , everything has been thought of to make your stay comfortable . High quality throughout .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Brian,
Great review and i am glad that you appreciated the quality of The Shore during your stay, thank you.
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Cosy harbour pad”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Clean,cosy,and comfy little place ideal for two.The place is well equipped and well situated for a fun packed holiday. The village itself is quaint and has its own little harbour. Earlsferry beach is lovely and worth a visit as is Anstruther both of which are only a few miles away. We will certainly be visiting again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you Lyn for your lovely warm review. So glad you enjoyed your stay over the festive period and looking forward to your next trip at The Shore!
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morag W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect bolt hole!”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Shore for 3 nights and found it cosy, comfortable and very well equipped. St Monans is probably the most unspoilt of the villages of the East Neuk in that it seems to still have a reasonable proportion of locals. There's an award winning restaurant and a lovely cafe. There's lots to see nearby and the Fife Coastal Path on the doorstep. Special mention to Adross Farm Shop just along the road. We missed the East Pier Smokehouse but will be sure to catch it next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy, private and view of the sea.
Liked least: Was a bit concerned about the wet floor shower but it drained well and wasn't a problem.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2016
Thank you Morag for taking the time to leave a review of The Shore. So pleased you found it to be comfortable and well equipped. St Monans is blessed with great restaurants and is well placed for exploring the area. Maybe next time you will get to East Pier!
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the decor and St Monans itself!
Liked least: Entrance at the rear of the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Oct 2016
Danny what a lovely review and greatly appreciated. I love sitting in the window seat and watching the sea and the different weather fronts that change its look completely. I am so glad the décor was met with approval from everyone. I hope yous can make a return trip next year
Thanks
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ann C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“" The Shore is comfortable and great location”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My wife and I stayed for 5 days at The Shore . Very neatly and brightly decorated . It is fully equipped ,with a most comfy bed . The local shop is only 2 minutes away . Good base for St Andrews .A must visit . If your a golfer there are several courses around . I found Charleton G C ,very good and few minutes drive away . We found the place to eat at this time of year was the Pub at Pittenwee . We enjoyed our stay and intend to return soon .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2016
Salvatore we are pleased that you made the most of your stay and enjoyed the excellent choice of golf courses in the area. Yous were the perfect guests and we look forward to your next visit to The Shore. With a bit of luck Eveie has now recovered from her op.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So peaceful”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

lovely flat. both functional and charming. Everything of a good quality and had everything we could wish for plus a few extras. A very quiet flat and only a short walk from sea. Excellent for our dogs, plenty of good walks for them. Would recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet and comfortable
Liked least: entrance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
We are so pleased that you recognised the quality of The Shore interior and that you appreciated the quiet and charm that it offers. Thank you for the recommendation!
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing