We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Shore has a beautiful bright colour scheme with the cutest window seat to take in the sea views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The Shore has a beautiful bright colour scheme with the cutest window seat to take in the sea views.
Window seat with views to the distant shore
View from The Shore window
Dining seats 4
Delonghi appliances
Egyptian cotton Bedding and memory topper to give a luxurious sleep!
Bedroom
Hall
Spacious hall with great storage for golf clubs etc
Bistro set on exterior patio. Enjoy the afternoon sun in this little sun trap!
Bathroom
Walk in wet room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Monans, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
nathburge...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Me and my partner stayed here for a few nights in August 2017. It was a perfect little stopping point for our trip around Scotland. The accommodation was very well presented and clean. Good cooking utensils and also the comfiest bed I have ever slept in. Very quiet and relaxing. I would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family. We would love to return again one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephense...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Relaxing stay at The Shore”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a great time staying at The Shore in St Monans. We loved the town, so quiet and picturesque. We decided on St Monans because it is on the Fife Coastal Path. The hiking to the neighbouring towns of Pittenweem and Elie we some of the most spectacular we have experienced. We didn't rent a car, but transportation was pretty simple. We bought a bus pass and took day trips into St Andrews and Anstruther.

The Shore was clean and nicely decorated; it had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. It is just one block from the harbour with a nice view over the rooftops to the sea beyond.

Our host recommended the East Pier Smokehouse, which serves up local seafood caught right off the Fife Coast. With a beautiful view, the restaurant is unpretentious, but we had one of the best meals on our trip to Scotland.

We would highly recommend The Shore.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark o
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Perfectly situated for some great coastal walks from the doorstep. A few steps from picturesque harbour. Cosy, clean and bright accommodation. Very comfy bed. Plenty of room for two people. Very enjoyable holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pim G
1 review
“Go the Shore!”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a very nice time in the Shore. We made some beautiful walks along the coast, visited the romantic Kelly Castle and had a very good meal at the smokehouse in the old harbour. We love the sea and the birds. In St. Monans you can enjoy both. After doing our little tours, we fell very much at home in this lovely appartment. We will recommand it to all our friends. We might very well want to go back to the pittoresque village and this well decorated very comfortable home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacation6...
1 review
“Short break”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The shore is a stylish wee flat which is fresh and clean and we have had a really lovely 3 days in St Monans. Even the weather was well behaved. A real effort has been made to provide everything that might be needed.
A bit of confusion arose about the linen provided, thank you to Liz who was keen to ensure we enjoyed our break and sorted that out right away. Happy holiday !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina H
1 review
“Disability accommodation”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The flat was lovely. However as my mother requires to use a wheel chair all the time, the bathroom was totally unsuitable as her wheelchair would not fit through the door. We did try to manage with me transferring my mum onto a normal chair and then folding the wheelchair and opening up on the bathroom. Unfortunately this was really difficult and we decided to come home early. As a holiday flat I would rate it top marks but as a holiday flat suitable for wheelchairs I would rate it 0.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2017
Robina,
I am rather disappointed that you scored The Shore so harshly with a 1 star review. I accept that the accommodation was not what you expected and that I naively placed it as wheelchair accessible, due to it being on the ground floor and all on the one level. Clearly it was distressing for your mother and while I accept you would have wanted to leave the property, you did not give me the opportunity to relocate you to more suitable accommodation. You only informed me for the first time you were travelling with a wheelchair disabled guest and there were accessibility issues after you left the property and went home. I instantly rectified the listing and offered you some compensation but I would have liked to have had the chance from day 1 to pay to upgrade you to a complying accommodation and therefore spare your mother all that distress!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely holiday flat in a lovely village”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I booked this flat based on the photos and hadn't researched the area so didn't know what to expect. The Shore and St Monans did not disappoint!!!!!

Liz's instructions meant I found The Shore very easy to find. I parked up the road slightly, got distracted by the view on arrival and left the Satnav plugged in and killed the battery (whoops) but that's another story! Slightly off topic but I do highly recommend GLMotors if you find yourself needing vehicle assistance.

The Shore is a ground floor flat with its own private entrance and a little private terrace outside the front door. This place has the wow factor from the minute you open the door. It's interior is modern, light and refreshing, yet homely and practical. It was perfect for just me and I felt settled almost immediately. Last week during my stay was mainly hot and sunny and the flat was always quite cool. There was Thunder and lightning one evening and I sat in the living room window seat watching the lightning! Fantastic! When I had enough of the sun I sat in the shade in the terrace drinking fruit cider!

I benefitted from many great nights sleep, the bed and the pillows are so comfy.I particularly loved the shower! Handy having the washing machine too, which washes the clothes so well and they come out near dry!! Everything you could possibly need has been supplied and it really is home from home.

The flat location is just a stones throw from the harbour front and there are short walks to the Salt Pans and Newark Castle. There are a fair few beaches on the coastal path. Many times I was fortunate to have a beach to myself reading a book and watching the wildlife. St Monans has everything you need; a paper shop, a spar/post office, Chinese takeaway, cafes and a few shops all of which are within a 5min walk from The Shore. It's just a delightful place to explore, so full of character.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay and didn't want to leave. Thank you.xxx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Louise, your holiday time at The Shore and St Monans sounds absolutely fabulous!! Fantastic description of a perfect break and sunny as well as dramatic weather to enjoy. I greatly appreciate your comments on The Shore and that you had such a restful time there. Hope to have you back very soon.
Thanks
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing