We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful home from home!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kittiwake House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
St Monans, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Freda E
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful home from home!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What a great discovery! The East Neuk of Fife is so pretty and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay than Kittiwake House in St Monans. Comfortable and beautifully decorated and equipped, we had everything we needed, whatever the weather. The perfect place to stay to really relax and feel restored. Plenty of places nearby to eat, if you don't fancy cooking, and the Fife Coastal Path is a stone's throw away. We visited lots of nearby towns and villages like Elie, Crail and St Andrews and our National Trust cards came in very handy too! The local people are so friendly and kind - it would be a great pleasure to return one day. Thoroughly recommended!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation and condition of the house as well as the wonderful views.
Liked least: The cold drizzly rain - but it only lasted a couple of hours!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
31 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for leaving this review … and we agree … the East Neuk is definitely a hidden gem! For those who have yet to discover it, the East Neuk occupies the north east corner of the Fife peninsula and encompasses a string of beautiful fishing villages which look south across the Firth of Forth and around to the North Sea. We have fascinating architecture, lovely old harbours, beautiful coastal walks, spectacular seas and 100% pure, clean, fresh air! I think this is why, like yourselves, our guests always mention feeling restored after they have stayed with us. We are also a wee bit passionate about design and detail and love creating little touches of individuality for guests staying at Kittiwake! But most of all, St Monans itself is so welcoming and friendly! Many of our guests chose to return and we love being able to welcome them back! Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review … You originally enquired with the philosophy that ‘If you booked it, your children and grandchildren would come’ … and it worked! The East Neuk is a traditional family holiday destination that seems to call people back again and again and I am so happy you had a great family holiday together … it would be our pleasure to welcome you all back at any point in the future. Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lesley L
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

From the moment of arrival we knew this was the perfect choice for our holiday. It was the perfect location, perfect house no matter the weather, which too turned out to be better than forecast. We felt perfectly at home, very relaxed, a home away from home. All went far too quickly. We will certainly come back to Kittiwake House in the future should the opportunity arise.

Date of stay: May 2014
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We find it really helpful in ensuring we are giving guests what they are looking for in a holiday by the seaside. The house has enough space to ensure friends and families can relax. We were pleased you had good weather, but Kittiwake's views mean that you can watch the sea on the stormy days too. We would be delighted to welcome you back again in future, Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property and the way it was furnished and finished.
Liked least: Nothing we didn't like x
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Apr 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback as we pride ourselves on the standards at Kittiwake. We had amazing spring weather this Easter ... plus you were lucky enough to view the full moon rising up over the sea. Fabulous memories! I hope the pull of Kittiwake, St Monans and the moon call you back again soon, Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bidabara
Peebles
1 review
“Fantastic Weekend............”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Had the best weekend ever, lovely coastal walks watching the sunrise, house is so lovely feels more like a home from home and very tastefully decorated, comfy beds also and such wonderful touches, can't wait to return thanks so much Wendy :-)

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything and the weather...
Liked least: Having to leave..
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
17 Mar 2014
Thank you very much for leaving feedback. I am so delighted you had a relaxing weekend. I especially love the early mornings ... watching the sunrise on a peaceful coastal path - unforgetable memories! We aim to make our guests feel as though they have a home from home at Kittiwake. Please know that you will always be warmly welcomed if you chose to return, Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant G
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic haven of relaxation and stunning views”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

It's a fab house and has everything you would need. The house is right on the Five coastal path. The owners have thought of everything and the little touches (from Tunnocks tea cakes to wine) and it's really perfect!

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Feb 2014
Thank you for your feedback ... We want all our guests to feel as though Kittiwake is a home from home for them. We were really touched to hear that your little daughter took her first steps at Kittiwake - lovely memories. We hope to be able to welcome your lovely family again in future x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic Valentines Weekend”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Kittiwake House is beautiful; fully stocked, everything you could need for a weekend away just as a couple or with friends. The house was warm, welcoming and so beautifully decorated. The bath and other facilities were brilliant and the lounge was a proper chill-out zone. We packed loads of Prosecco and our walking boots and we had a fantastic valentines weekend together. We were even able to bring our wee Cocker Spaniel puppy Snoops which made it feel like a proper family break. When we arrived we were greeted with a bottle of bubbly, chocolate and some doggy treats. It's all the small things that make the difference!

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Feb 2014
Oh thank you so much for this review. We agree that Valentines is a lovely weekend to take time out and celebrate. Too often we take important things for granted nowadays. We are convinced time slows down in St Monans which adds to the sense of relaxation. We are equally delighted that Snoops enjoyed the weekend (and the doggy treats!) x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.