We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely holiday home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kittiwake House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
St Monans, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

lesleymur...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely holiday home”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a lovely week here. Cava and Tunnock biscuits were waiting for us. House was lovely and warm and view from master bedroom was beautiful. We watched dolphins from the window. Lots of space for a family to spread out.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thank you for leaving a review. We are especially pleased you were able to watch our local pod of dolphins from the house .... they are so beautiful aren't they! Other guests have reported sitting and watching them from bed too. Kittiwake House is great for larger families, with rooms over 3 floors plus a large kitchen and lounge, nobody needs to feel on top of each other. Perhaps we can welcome you another time of the year? Thank you, Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review. Kittiwake House is in a perfect area for exploring all the coastal villages and sites of the East Neuk. The accommodation is spacious and offers families and friends a chance to relax and spend time together but with plenty of space too. We would love to be able to welcome you back at another time of the year! Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CEWD
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We enjoyed a fabulous weekend at Kittiwake House. Fantastic and idyllic location, perfect for exploring the East Neuk of Fife and walking it's dramatic coastline. The house was ideal for a group of friends, warm and welcoming with all the necessary amenities. The wonderful Craig Miller restaurant is less than a 5 minute stroll as are the walks along the coast from St. Monans harbour. We bought the best scallops ever tasted at the wholesale and retail fish supplier also based in St. Monans. There is the delightful Smokehouse take out or sit in cafe 20 yards away at the harbour. Open Sat/Sun during winter. My London companions were blown away by the landscape. We will definitely return to Kittiwake. The 8th member of our party, Ruby the Labrador also had a great time and received a warm welcome. Thank you to Wendy for answering our questions and making the weekend seamless. I'd recommend this house at any time of the year.

Date of stay: October 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
It sounds as though you really took advantage of all of the lovely eateries and fresh produce on our doorstep! The East Neuk and St Monans is one of Scotland?s best kept secrets ?. unspoilt and friendly, relaxed and peaceful, with great pubs, cafes and restaurants! We take a great deal of pride in ensuring our guests have a memorable time at Kittiwake House. There are a number of great walks on the coastal path ? and the local bus runs backwards and forwards along the coast road and through all of the East Neuk Fishing Villages and on to St Andrews. We would love to welcome you all (including Ruby) back to Kittiwake at any other time of the year. Perhaps consider booking during the Fife Open Studios weekends next time and check out our local Artists too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiona m
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this for a surprise for my Husband's 50th and our 8 year old son along with a few friends, we had a fantastic weekend. The house is very spacious and has everything you would need for short or long stay, the views from the living room and master bedroom are amazing and you could sit there all day looking at the sea. The little courtyard out the back is very private and peaceful and has plenty of seats for a group to sit and have a few drinks or BBQ. The bottle of Prosecco and the Tunnocks biscuits were such a lovely touch - Thanks Wendy! Kittiwake House is a short walk from the harbour and play park for the children, the local pub is a stroll away. We took a walk along the path to the sandy beach where my son had a great time playing in the sand and exploring the castle ruins. I hope to be back at Kittiwake for another stay next year.
Thanks for sharing your beautiful home!
Fex

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sitting room and the view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
This is such wonderful feedback that I can’t thank you enough! We are so proud of Kittiwake House and we are always over the moon when we know that our guests have also enjoyed Kittiwake’s magic! St Monans is a great place for kids and adults alike to relax and share some good old fashioned time with friends and family. You had great weather for your husband’s surprise 50th, but even during wild storms it is lovely to sit and look out to sea, or to venture out along the coastal path in the knowledge that the house will be warm and welcoming upon your return. We are proud that Kittiwake has become a traditional family holiday home for many guests to use again and again. We hope we can welcome you next year! Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCC64
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely house fantastic views”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Every review of Kittiwakes House is 5 star and deservedly so.
-stunning sea views from lounge and bedroom.
-beautifully appointed house, comfortable, spacious and stylishly decorated.
-spotlessly clean with luxurious bathroom.
-lovely quiet harbour location with great coastal walks from the door.
Best of all - a cookie jar filled with Tunnocks Tea Cakes!
Fantastic.

Date of stay: September 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for taking time to leave a review of your stay. We really want our guests to enjoy Kittiwake – it is our labour of love – and we believe that the benefits of a little bit of spoiling and luxury enhance memories of great times spent with family and friends at the coast. St Monans is a peaceful East Neuk seaside village and we hope it has cast it’s spell and you can return to experience more of the magic another time … the Tea Cakes will be waiting for you! Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent location, great views, house tastefully decorated and furnished.
Liked least: That we had to leave after a week!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
We really appreciate your feedback and comments. You are absolutely right about the beauty of the East Neuk of Fife. We believe one of Scotland’s best kept secrets is the tranquillity and beauty of this area which has completely unspoilt traditional fishing villages scattered along it’s coastline. The coastal paths are such a pleasure to walk too, so thank you for telling us about your favourite walk. We work hard to ensure our guests are made most welcome, as we believe holidays are valuable and precious time to spend with friends and family. You visited Edinburgh and Glamis Castle too, so really made the most of your week exploring the wider surroundings! We would be so pleased if you decided to return on another occasion! Thank you, Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2015_Open
Waterloo, Illinois
1 review
“Perfect! 2015 Open Championship stay”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Kittiwake House during the 2015 Open Championship which was held at St Andrews. We had a great stay. The house was perfect for us. Plenty of room, clean, lots of little extras, and in a perfect place to visit Scotland. Lots of parking was available. St Monans is a postcard town. Scotland is a postcard country. We can't wait to go back. This place would be perfect for a golf trip. Just minutes from KIngsbarns (best course in the world) and St Andrews. There are a bunch of small, quaint restaurants dotted all over the area. Wendy, the owner, is very responsive and trust-worthy. Before I booked KH, I had reservations in Edinburgh at the Radison. I was so so impressed with Wendy and KH, I cancelled with them and paid a hefty fee. The rates for KH were high because of the Open(everything was high then). But I wouldn't change a thing. We had the time of our life and that house was a big part. If I had any small issue, it was that the washer/dryer was small and hard to figure out. Other than that, I can't wait to go back and stay there again soon! Thanks Wendy!!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition of property.
Liked least: Washer/dryer
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
We are so happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Kittiwake House in St Monans. We knew you were staying for the Open Championship and although the weather was (quite frankly) terrible we were relieved to hear that the rain on the fairways of The Royal and Ancient Club didn’t dampen your spirits too much!! Yes we are blessed with some absolutely gorgeous golf courses, including Kingsbarns, and I am always a bit surprised that we don’t get more golf parties … perhaps we will now! I didn’t know you had cancelled your booking at the Radisson in Edinburgh to stay with us, so we are especially pleased that you are happy with your choice. Thank you for your comments regarding the washer/dryer – I will check the instructions to see if they can be improved … generally though these machines are smaller in the UK compared with the USA. We would love to welcome you back again any time. Many thanks for taking the time to leave this review, Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.