We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious cottage with great character”
other travellers have booked this property
 The open plan sitting room and kitchen.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 The open plan sitting room and kitchen.
The Neuk is the middle house in a row of three similar fishing cottages. The kitchen is well-equipped and has an induction hob and dishwasher.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The open plan sitting room and kitchen.
The Neuk is the middle house in a row of three similar fishing cottages.
The kitchen is well-equipped and has an induction hob and dishwasher.
The dining area sits four people comfortably.
Lots of books, maps and games are provided for your stay.
The double (kingsize) bedroom is on the first floor, adjacent to the bathroom.
The cottage is filled with an eclectic mix of furniture, artwork and curios.
The bathroom has a large shower cubicle and an extra-large heated towel rail.
A rope banister leads you to the attic bedroom.
This room has two single beds and faces the front of of the cottage.
This is a spacious room and filled with light during the summer.
The cottage is located just round the corner from the harbour.
A view of the west harbour.
A rainbow over the east end of the village at low tide.
In the winter, all boats are lifted out of the water and stored on the quay.
The St Monans windmill, on the coastal path leading to Pittenweem a mile away.
The pan tile roofs are a traditional feature in this area of Fife.
St Monans is an active harbour with shellfish boats and pleasure boats too.
A view of the harbour from the West end.
St Monans Kirk, overlooks the sea and the coastal path leading to Elie.
Enjoy amazing beach walks such as the West Sands in St Andrews. (image:Cornfield/(Shutterstock)
There are lots of golf course options available locally.(image:Cornfield/(Shutterstock)
Fresh seafood is available locally - to buy and cook at home or to eat out.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Monans, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Martyn C
Netherfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Spacious cottage with great character”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

It's always amazed me how the weather can influence your feelings; when we arrived early evening on the Friday, after driving 7 hours in drizzle and lorry spray and no sunshine, everywhere felt cold and disappointing. No desire to go far and an early night beckoned. Wake up next day to blue skies and a cottage that was shining. Great nights sleep in really comfy beds and a terrific shower, plenty of hot water too.
We enjoyed our stay immensely, with just a small problem caused by the cleaner overlooking downstairs, whereas everywhere else was immaculate.
You'll need to plan your eating as the village has only a small Spar (now a post office in the road opposite the house), but there's a nice place to eat called East Pier and Pittenweem and Anstruther have good choice too.
We don't want TV on holiday when there's a hundred walks on your doorstep or the sea to gaze across whilst contemplating your next move. It's a wonderful part of the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: situation and access; the charming character inside the house
Liked least: no mat inside the front door which meant for a wet and dirty kitchen floor!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay - come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
loveholid...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had booked for two nights at the beginning of June. Cottage is lovely, tastefully decorated and everything that you would need if you wanted to cook your own meals. The stairs in the property are very steep so i wouldnt recommend this property for anyone frail. There is no television which was a bit of a loss for us as the weather was really bad.
Due to our elderly dog not settling we decided to go home after one night.
St Monans is very pretty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No television in property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie A
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular St Monans”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What an unforgettable weekend at the Neuk! We absolutely loved it from its prime position in the charming fishing village of St Monans to the little extras which were so appreciated like the biggest white fluffy towels ever. We spent the days exploring the local beaches and picturesque harbours particularly enjoying buying locally caught crabs from just next to the cottage and cooking them up for lunch (as recommended by the very helpful owner).The kitchen is equipped with every utensil you could possibly need and a brilliant induction hob too. In the evenings we were very happy to cosy up in the gorgeous sitting room but we did manage to venture out to the Mayview Hotel one night and had a great laugh with the locals (very friendly). Our only sadness was that the wifi was just too easy and made an electronic free weekend an impossibility. The kids weren't complaining though. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stylish yet comfy decor
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISLA R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Blissful stay in a lovely harbour house”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Although it was a brief two-nighter we had such a great time, packed with trips to all the East Neuk villages, each with their own unique character, and also to Cambo Gardens. However, the real treat was to return to our lovely comfortable billet! It had everything we needed and more...Apart from the super stylish look of the place, the house seem to anticipate every need. It was cosy and comfortable, with great beds and roomy shower.
We shall return....!
Many thanks Steve
x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say, but I felt instantly at home
Liked least: No complaints!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vx
Edinburgh, UK
1 review
“Cozy cottage”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

St Monans- what a great wee traditional fishing village and a fantastic cottage (we stayed for a long weekend.) Everything we needed in the cottage had been thought of and the quality of the bedding and cutlery, glasses etc are so important and they are all top notch. Beds so comfy slept like a log. Masses to do in the area with lovely walks along the coast and delicious food at the East Pier. Bonus that dogs are allowed. All just perfect and we will be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy beds!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
My first review and its five stars - thank you so much for taking the time to write and I am pleased you had such a great time at 4 East Street, come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing