We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Location and Houswe”
other travellers have booked this property
The front of the Old Post Office, There is a south facing area outside of the front with seating
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of the Old Post Office, There is a south facing area outside of the front with seating
The Old post Office is in a stunning harbour front location on the West Shore Ground Floor living room and dining room with wood burning stove and sea views across the harbour
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
The front of the Old Post Office, There is a south facing area outside of the front with seating
The Old post Office is in a stunning harbour front location on the West Shore
Ground Floor living room and dining room with wood burning stove and sea views across the harbour
View from the 1st floor living room that has a beautiful open fire
Fully fitted kitchen outstanding original features and modern convieniences
Double bedroom on the 2nd floor with outstanding sea views across St. Monans Harbour
There are many original antiques and artworks throughout The Old Post Office
St. Monans Harbour with The Old Post Office in the background
1st floor living room with outstanding sea views, open fire and quality double sofa bed
Modern shower room with W.C and wash-hand basin
Hallway leading to the double bedroom
St.Monans Pier within a minutes walk of the front door of The Old Post Office
Ground Floor living room and dining room with wood burning stove and sea views across the harbour
Fully fitted kitchen outstanding original features and modern conveniences
1st floor living room with outstanding sea views, open fire and quality double sofa bed
St. Monans harbour right on the doorstep of The Old Post Office
One of the many original and quirky features that The Old Post Office has
Ground Floor living room and dining room with wood burning stove and sea views across the harbour
Twin bedroom on the 1st floor with bunk beds
St. Monans Smoke House within a minutes walk of the front door of The Old Post Office
Twin bedroom on the 1st floor with bunk beds and exposed stone walls
Bathroom with wash-hand basin, there is a separate W.C  with wash-hand basin next door
St. Monans Windmill within a five minutes walk from the front door of The Old Post Office
The 14th century St. Monans church has a boat suspended from the its ceiling
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Monans, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Greg H
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Location and Houswe”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were more than pleased with our stay at the Old Post Office. Flora met us for early check-in and it was all that we expected. There were fresh flowers on the table, butter, milk and a bottle of Prosecco in the fridge. The kitchen was well equipped for making breakfast every day and the beds were very comfortable. Fast wifi made catching up with work easy and it was the perfect location for the 7 golf courses we played in the area. Other than Carnoustie, all of the links courses were within a 25 minute drive. The harbour view out the front door is amazing and we could not believe the 10 to 12' tides!! We walked the beach trail to the old castle and the views were magnificent. All in all a great place!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Hi Greg,
Thank you for the great review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Steven at St. Andrews Holiday Apartments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveTrave...
2 reviews
“Harbourside, quirky, felt like home.”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We loved staying in this original, interesting and quirky old house.
It was great to have both the wood burner and the open fire, two bathrooms and a really well equipped kitchen. It felt like we were staying in a friends house rather than a soulless holiday rental. There was lots of space to relax and it was full of beautiful bits and pieces that gave it a personal touch. The owner has taken care to leave spare toiletries, plenty of toilet roll, lots of towels and flannels and to welcome us with fresh tulips, chocolate for Easter and even a bottle of prossecco!
There were five of us and we used the bed settee in the lounge which was very comfortable as were the other beds.
The views over the harbour were great from every floor and we had some lovely walks along the Fife coastal path. We would recommend this house if you like to feel well cared for and enjoy an eclectic mix of interiors that makes you feel as if you are sharing someones home!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Hi Angela,
Thank you for the excellent, detailed review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Steven at St. Andrews Holiday Apartments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtherMrsW...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quirky harbour-front house in peaceful fishing village”
Reviewed 21 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This lovely little house is right on the harbour in the old fishing village of St Monans. Full of charm and quirky touches it is the perfect place for a summer getaway or a winter bolt hole. I went there on my own to get away from the rat-race, but it would work equally well for a family with kids. Very cosy and very quiet. There are great walks along the Fife coastal path in either direction visiting all the various villages along the way. The owner, Helen, was most friendly and helpful leaving me oranges and Christmas chocolates for when I arrived. Recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2016
Hi Mary,
Thank you for the great review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Steven at St. Andrews Holiday Apartments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinlis...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing get away location”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I spent a long weekend at the Old Post Office with my Mum who was up visiting recently. We arrived on the Friday afternoon and found the cottage clean and pre-warmed. The cottage has the feel of a much loved family home and has a very welcoming lived in feeling. The kitchen is equipped with almost every appliance you could possibly want and is meticulously clean. There are basic supplies available to you when you arrive such as tea and coffee, washing up liquid and most importantly.... toilet rolls! The house is decorated with an eclectic mix of furniture and nik-naks which reflect the coastal location. The area offers plenty of eating and drinking options, beautiful coastal walks and is within easy striking distance of many interesting places to visit although you do not have to travel far to appreciate the stunning scenery as the view from the upstairs sitting room and main bedroom offer the most amazing views over the harbour. You do not need television, when there is always something interesting to watch out of the window. We very reluctantly left on Monday morning having spent a fantastic few days in St Monans. I think my Mum had already moved into the cottage in her head before we left.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the upstairs sitting room window over the harbour.
Liked least: Leaving at the end of our stay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
Hi Lise,
Thank you for the great review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Steven at St. Andrews Holiday Apartments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Nov 2016
Hi Les,
Thank you for the review. Helen, the owner of the property takes great pride in the house and myself and her are disappointed to find that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the house, as you will see from previous reviews, this is the first time that this has become an issue. We will take on board your comments about the clutter in the house and have a look at this, we do however feel, that most of this adds to the charm of the property and is in keeping with the houses unique charm. I apologise for the television not working and hope this did not spoil your enjoyment of the house. I am glad you enjoyed the layout and location of the house and the fantastic views over the harbour.
Kind regards
Steven at St. Andrews Holiday Apartments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jack S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect escape”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Perfect little getaway spot! The house is delightful - modern amenities with old world charm. Enjoyed watching old movies by the fire when it rained, and wandering round some of the beaches and coastal villages when a bit drier, ideal place to escape reality for a long weekend. Helen and her daughter Flora were excellent hosts, easy to contact and answered all queries we had, and we felt very welcome immediately on arrival and throughout our stay. Will definitely be going back again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Hi Jack, Thank you for the great review, we are glad you had such a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.
All the best.
Steven at St. Andrews Holiday Apartments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela L
1 review
“Fantastic and cosy house with great views of the sea”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed one week in St. Monans and enjoyed the time very much. The house is individually furnished and we felt like being at home. When we arrived in the evening we were welcomed by Helen who had already lit the fire in the downstairs living room; a bottle of wine, eggs, milk, tea and coffee were also offered which we highly appreciated. Lying in bed and looking at the sea was very relaxing and simply wonderful.
The kitchen is well equipped and we spent quite some time cooking there. Not only because there is only one restaurant in St Monans - apart from an expensive one - but because of the excellent fresh and smoked fish at the fishmongers. Our daily needs were covered by two local stores.
We will certainly stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spending the evenings reading in front of the open fireplace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2015
Hi Angela,
Thank you the great review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Steven at St. Andrews Holiday Apartments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing