We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a winner!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dos Palmas Beach Cabinas
Lone Butte, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's a winner!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

On a road trip through Costa Rica I needed a place to stay, preferably away from 'touristy' places.
Playa Matapalo on the map looked like it could fit the bill, and finding the nice sign 'Dos Palmas Beach Cabinas' confirmed that I was onto something! Driving onto the property I knew right away that it was all I had hoped to find!
Located right on a gorgeous, unspoiled beach, yet very private and quiet; wildlife everywhere; spacious, cheerful rooms with a fridge; terrific hosts; it's the perfect place to experience real Costa Rica! Rachel and Adam can keep you busy exploring the beautiful area for days, my stay was definitely too short.
Listen to them regarding the 'bugs' though! Mosquitoes don't bother me too much, but there are some other really nasty beasties on the beach, and you don't feel them bite!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birgit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were lucky to see white-faced capuchin monkeys roaming around the property the 2 days we stayed there and a sloth resting in a tree nearby.
Rachel and Adam are very welcoming. We shared dinner, good food and talk, with them.
Rooms are clean, they include a fridge.
The road is bumpy to get there but then you are in a calm isolated place, nothing commercial around.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Dos Palmas and had a great time. Rachel and Adam are wonderful hosts and are very familiar with the area. Morning sunrises and evening sunsets are a very dramatic backdrop to this beautiful beach. Adam has engineered a bug mister that allows guests to sit outside and enjoy the view from the veranda without those pesky biting bugs....Loved that!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 65KReimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is really great place if you are looking for something outside of the same old hotels you stay in wherever you may be. Due to the remote nature of Dos Palmas you can really relax and focus on the beauty around you. If you are an experienced surfer, you have a very nice break in the back yard...all to yourself.

Room Tip: Both are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great place for a getaway. The accommodations are perfect for the setting; you can fall asleep to the waves crashing onto the beach and wake up to the monkeys in the trees. You basically have a private beach directly in front of the cabinas. Good hosts and good times; highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great little place with 2 rooms right on the beach. Great patio for relaxing!! Gives you an authentic Costa Rica feel which is awesome! Lot's to see right in your backyard, monkeys, iguanas, the beach!! Local hangouts near by as well. Couple who runs it can give you a lot of great advice on places to see and things to do in and around the area. Pura Vida!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank amlatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a great place to stay to get the feel of a small, local Costa Rican town - right on the beach! The accommodations are just what you need and the beach is virtually private - and not to mention, it's your backyard! It has a stunning view of the water and the waves are great for surfing. The couple that runs it is very welcoming and eager to help make your trip one to remember. They're knowledgeable of the area and activities (Matapalo as well as the surrounding towns) and can certainly point you in the right direction. Had a great time and look forward to returning.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 36elizabethd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Matapalo
15.5 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
19.0 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
596 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
567 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
551 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Palmas Beach Cabinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Palmas Beach Cabinas

Property: Dos Palmas Beach Cabinas
Address: 506 Playa Matapalo, Playa Matapalo 220000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Matapalo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Playa Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This house is right on the beach! Very affordable, clean with great hosts who are knowledgable about the area and things to do! We offer dinners upon reservation. Matapalo beach is one of the most beautiful in Costa Rica and one of the most uncrowded. Monkeys all around! If you want peace and privacy for your beach vacation, this is the place. The bedrooms have king beds, and we have extra mattresses if you have more than 2 persons that want to share a room. Very large bedrooms with own private bath and shower. There are a couple of small restaurants in the area. The bus comes about 2 km from the house and is a very short $5 cab ride from where the bus lets off. There is a small grocery in Matapalo and you are only 34 km from Manuel Antonio, the most popular destination in Costa Rica! Then 14 km to the South you have Dominical, a quaint surfing town with many restaurants and nightlife. Great surfing, lots of wildlife. Breakfast consist of fresh fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dos Palmas Beach Cabinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Palmas Beach Cabinas Costa Rica/Playa Matapalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing