We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best stay in costa rica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Nubes Natural Energy Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Two weeks ago, we had a holiday in costa rica. After we had rent a car in San Jose, we went up to our first hotel, Las Nubes in Matapalo. Las Nubes is an full selfsupporting energy resort. The owner Filip, from Belgium, has built this resort two years ago. The "cabanas" are very private and very luxiourious.
Especially the way to LAs Nubes is an adventure on its own. But once upon the top of the mountain, the setting is spectacular. One side you have a magnificent view over the pacific ocean, on the other side you see the moutains.
The owner serves a fantastic breakfast, and on your request he also serves dinner.
Las Nubes, the best place i visited, the last couple of years. Highly recommended to everyone who seeks for rest, and peace, and a wonderful setting.

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same, but if possible choose the one with the seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joost M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

Once arrived at Las Nubes, you think you are dreaming... you immediately feel part of all that beautiful nature around you, you look around, you are in perfect harmony. It is a very special place that gives you a feeling of peacefulness, of self-confidence, of beauty... words can not really describe this. That is the reason why it is worth seeing this by yourself, with your own eyes. And also share it with others, as much as possible.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

A unique place with a unique kind of energy. Staying there means travelling between clouds, sun and an impressive nature to end up into your own heart. Completely filled with joy I recommend this from the bottom of my heart!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Never have been on a place like this! Such an authentic place, that invites you to be just who you are and to live an authentic life!!! I'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Just touched home base again and I directly booked my holiday for 2013. I spend 2 weeks at Las Nubes: the first week with clients, the second week with family. Living in Las Nubes moved me to tears. Every word you read on the website is true...and beyond. AMAZING and devine.
Don't hesitate. If it feels good by watching the pictures, book it!

Room Tip: Every room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inge1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

A stunning place on earth with unbelievable views, phantastic walk to the waterfalls, charming owner and chef (a real culinary treat), horse riding on the beach, refreshing personal coaching sessions. This hotel is beyond your imagination and ideal to get re-energised!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

For the people that are looking for a hide place, admire nature, incredible views, excellent food and service and beautiful facilities, everything in a subtained way with earth, THIS IS THE PLACE!. Cannot leave this comment without mentioning that the people that work in Las Nubes are in total harmony with nature and unique. Friendship, sharing and feeling at home is something you will definitely experience at Las Nubes.
We will come back there for sure. ; )

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Federicocruzch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Matapalo
15.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
18.6 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
629 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,029 reviews
9.6 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
2.2 mi away
Guava Lodge
Guava Lodge
#2 of 5 in Playa Matapalo
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Nubes Natural Energy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Nubes Natural Energy Resort

Address: 6 km al Norte de Escuela San Andres, Playa Matapalo 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Matapalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Matapalo
Price Range: £182 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Nubes Natural Energy Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Nubes is a biotech resort design to relax, detoxify and retreat in an eco-friendly and pure environment. A sacred place of happiness and live energy, far from everything but closer to its goal: building a better life through consciousness, sustainability and friendliness. Our aim is to offer a unique, small scale and exclusive experience to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Las Nubes Natural Energy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Nubes Natural Energy Resort Costa Rica/Playa Matapalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing