We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charlie's Jungle House
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very relaxing.”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Jungle House is way off the beaten path. Right on the beach in a very small village. There is a small grocery and a restaurant within walking distance. There is a local taxi to take you to other restaurants or attractions in the area. If possible, it would be best to have your own transportation. The cabins are very nice and the owner, Charlie, very friendly and helpful. The beach is perfect for watching sunsets. We went to the national Park and did a zip line and a white water rafting. Charlie helped arrange all of them. They were all first class. Every morning we would get up and have coffee and watch the monkeys move thru the property.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozark78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    15
    3
    0
    8
See reviews for
15
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We just enjoyed our last week in Costa Rica at jungle
House in playa mataplo . This place was truly paradise not yet on the beaten track we had perfect waves to ourselves and only a few locals . The sunsets are magical. We stayed with Charlie at jungle house not only are his rooms amazing they are 20 meters or so from the waves also frequented by monkeys and sloths right outside our door ! Whatever you budget Charlie will have something for you ! Nothing is too much effort for Charlie he even gave us a ride to the bus stop at 530 am ! We will be back next year for sure and hope to stay again at jungle lodge

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toyah_tomkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We visited Jungle House a few years ago, and I have wanted to go back ever since. Charlie, the owner, will make you feel welcome and right at home. Jungle House has an amazing location, right across a small dirt road from the most beautiful beach and waves. Saw monkeys and sloths in the trees outside outside our "room." Actually, our room was more like a little house, with a kitchen, living area, deck, and huge bedroom up a set of winding stairs. The view from the back deck was of fields and mountains. And no walls to block your view! Only net to keep out the insects. Ziplining, hiking, surfing all available nearby. This place is not only a great vacation spot but also a place that will warm your heart and heal your soul.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieinaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2009

The Jungle House was amazing! It was clean and comfortable with outstanding views! To describe my experience in a few words, I would say...friendly and welcoming, great atmosphere, awesome service, delicious food by personal chef, and epic surf! Who can ask for more?!? You'll have to check it out for your self!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcssurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Matapalo
15.1 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
10.2 mi away
Natuga EcoLodge-Villas and Natural Reserve
0.0 mi away
Rafiki Beach Camp
Rafiki Beach Camp
#1 of 5 in Playa Matapalo
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Guava Lodge
Guava Lodge
#2 of 5 in Playa Matapalo
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Aba Matapalo
Casa Aba Matapalo
#3 of 4 in Playa Matapalo
31 reviews
8.6 mi away
Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlie's Jungle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlie's Jungle House

Property: Charlie's Jungle House
Address: Playa Matapalo 66351, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Matapalo
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Playa Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites offer kitchenettes, AC in bedrooms, hot water, satellite television, wifi, complimentary beach towels, as well as our exclusive hammock park situated next to the ocean. Here you will relax in specially placed hammocks, beach loungers and tables as our staff tend to your every whim. Food and beverage service is available beach side during the day. Uniquely situated between 2 National Parks (Manuel Antonio to the north, Uvita Whale Marine to the south) we know you will enjoy discovering all of the adventures our pristine special destination has to offer. Allow our knowledgeable staff to assist you in developing your perfect Costa Rica vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Charlie's Jungle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlie's Jungle House Costa Rica/Playa Matapalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing