We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atlantis ,worth seeking out.”
Review of The Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Bathsheba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
east sussex uk
Level Contributor
215 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Atlantis ,worth seeking out.”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Our second stay here in a room called "joes river " with a huge lounge and bathroom , we stayed for 4 nights and very quickly we came to feel it was our -albeit temporary - home.
Staff led by Diane are great , Andrew the owner ever present , the views of the fabulous beach
The breakfasts, lunch and dinner are all enjoyable to dine outside is one of lifes pleasures.
The area is simple , not built up, wild like Barbados used to be when we began coming here 35 years ago,we were very sad to leave , even though we were going to stay at the sandy lane.
Absolutely recommended we will return next year , incidentally the cove restaurant just along the beach is a great alternative for lunch.
Wish we were there now .

Room Tip: Joes river if you like a quiet room They donrt have a fitness centre but I couldn't zero it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alanEastSussexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    52
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
171
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We consider Barbados our second home so when we visit, we "stay put" rather than touring around. The hotel atmosphere, including staff, ambiance, and stunning setting make us never want to leave! Wonderful coastline walks right from the door. Fabulous fresh Atlantic breezes and the soothing sounds of the waves create instant relaxation. The rooms are gorgeous, huge and have lovely decor and great bathrooms. We stay, however, in Upper Capernum, which wouldn't suit everyone. It is a bit more rustic, not quite as luxurious but the balcony alone makes up for it. It is truly like living in Barbados but with all the hotel amenities a few steps away. It is also set quite near the pool and at times it feels like a private pool! (well, not on the weekends or in the busy season). The louvered window open directly onto exquisite ocean views...we never turned on the AC!

We are always greeted like long lost friends but that same charming welcome is extended to all guests. It is a personal and very Barbadian experience. If you travel to Barbados and you do not visit the East Coast, you have missed the opportunity of a lifetime to see the "real" Barbados. It is safe, friendly and full of interesting characters, all of whom welcome you and want to get to know you from the "coconut man" to the rum shop patrons, and even the taxi drivers!

The food, by the way, is excellent. Authentic Bajan specialties but with a sophisticated flair. One day on our way back from a walk, we met up with the farmer's truck in the hotel parking lot delivering fresh local produce to the hotel. We love to visit farmers' markets wherever we travel and here was one that came to us. What fun!

Room Tip: All are lovely. Email the hotel if you have specific preferences. They will take the time to help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philippatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago, celebrating our wedding anniversary.

I only have good things to say about this hotel, I wouldn't even call it a hotel. It's a house, and they definately make you feel at home. The rooms are big and comfortable with amazing views. Waking up every morning with the sound of the waves is an experience I'll never forget.

We stayed at the Soup Bowl room, which had all the amenities we could ask. Great bed with comfortable pillows. Amazing ocean fron view, iPod docking, flat screen TV, small fridge.
The room includes a simple but nice continental breakfast. And you can always add eggs, sausages, and other delicious things. We didn't try the restaurant, but it looked good.
You can also use the hotel's washing machine and dryer free of charge, which was great for us, because we continued trip and didn't want to spend money on expensive hotel laundry services.

The staff is great, so attentive and always willing to help and advice. Never intrusive.

The hotel is on the other side of the island from the main towns. This is good because it's more quiet and the trip there takes you through the heart of the island (so beautiful!). The downside is that you have to travel quite a lot everyday. But it's an experience and it allows you to get to know many different spots (like Crane beach, undoubtly the best beach on the island).

Wouldn't doubt about staying here again. In fact, I'm looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Try booking the ocean front rooms, they are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Whilst staying at our house on the West coast of Barbados we decided to have a mini trip.
The hotel facilities were as I expected but the quality of the staff and restaurant food far exceeded all expectations.
It was utterly superb and I could honestly find fault with nothing. The staff's level of charm and attentiveness is unrivalled, especially Adrian, and served to make our stay a true delight.
Thoroughly recommendable.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalkanchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel is located on the East Coast of Barbados and to watch the waves and the sky by night without light pollution is heavenly. Would recommend it to anyone... Staff are delightful and the rooms dreamy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FORESTFLOWER6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed two nights at The Atlantis to begin our two weeks in Barbados. It was fabulous and we will do this again! The rooms are beautifully furnished and the views are breathtaking.
We have been to the Atlantis many times for drinks, meals and the buffet Sunday lunch and have enjoyed all our experiences. Diane and Kathy Ann make you feel very welcome and the welcome rum punch on check in begins your vacation and everything else is a bonus.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay and the Easter Sunday buffet was fabulous with so many choices. Congratulations on the transformation of The Atlantis Hotel, Andrew. We have been coming for many years and everything that has been done is so sympathetic to the original building. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, ocean front lovely if you enjoy the sound of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This was the first time for our family to travel to Barbados. We could not have dreamt of a better location. We stayed in the Upper Cappernum portion of the cottage connected to the hotel. It had privacy for us, beautiful views and relaxing sounds of the ocean day and night. Their breakfast selection was outstanding. Their lunch and dinner menu are equally outstanding. Their pool was perfect for us, where we were able to enjoy views of the ocean, superb food from the Atlantis, and also the monkeys in the trees on occasion. I would highly recommend this hotel for couples, as well as families. We were able to recharge our batteries and reconnect with each other. The east coast is definitely where you want to be if you want all of this. Also, each and every one of the staff were so professional, friendly, helpful, and warm. The hotel really tries to cater to each and everyone on a personal level with regard to every need you may have. If we needed any information, whether it was before we arrived or after, Diane, their amazing manager always made herself available. We felt like family there and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathsheba
9.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,033 reviews
8.5 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
271 reviews
10.4 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
#23 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
340 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,463 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantis Hotel

Property: The Atlantis Hotel
Address: Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba BB21054, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bathsheba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Atlantis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views to die for, located on the rugged east coast of Barbados - ideal for those who wish to get away from it all - a good book - good company - small and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Bathsheba
The Atlantis Hotel Barbados/Bathsheba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing