We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel provides backdrop for trip of a lifetime!”
Review of The Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Bathsheba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel provides backdrop for trip of a lifetime!”
Reviewed 22 January 2011

The Atlantis Hotel provided a perfect backdrop for our recent trip to Barbados. The location on the East Coast is breathtaking with a perfect harbour and the sound of the surf always in the background. A recent "renovation" here means that the hotel was actually completely rebuilt from the ground up. Our fantastic ocean front room was gorgeous and spacious. Dining on the terrace or in the open and bright dining room was always excellent, good food and great service.

We spent a lot of time both pool side or running on the 5 km of beach stretching to the north. Having spent time on both the East and West Coast of Barbados in three different properties, Atlantis provided us with our favourite tranquil retreat where the staff provided attention to every detail and respected our privacy.

So impressed with the Atlantis we decided to get married there!

When we return to Barbados the Atlantis will be on the top of list!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoaGoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    49
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
168
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

This was our first visit to Barbados so we didn't know what to expect from the island. However, we quickly discovered that we had made absolutely the right choice with the Atlantis. If you like your beaches deserted; waves in your turquoise sea; a breeze constantly in your hair and well-nigh perfect peace then the East Coast is for you and the Atlantis is the ideal place from which to appreciate it all. We had one of the sea-facing rooms which was spacious, tastefully furnished and kept extremely clean. The pool was invariably quiet, with great views of the crashing waves beyond. While we were staying, our fellow guests were mainly couples of all ages, one or two with children of toddler age or below. We ate in the restaurant on about half our nights there; the food was good, and our only quibble would be that the service wasn't always on top of things - there was never any shortage of staff, but there didn't appear to be an overall 'controlling hand' ensuring that efforts were properly directed.

If you want to see the island properly you really do need a car. Getting a bit lost is part of the experience and you're almost always in sight of one coast of the other, so you just have to follow your nose and you'll get there sooner or later. We made a few forays to the glamorous West Coast and enjoyed a lovely lunch at the Atlantis' sister establishment. We had look around the Little Good Harbour Hotel which is very prettily presented and across the road from a lovely little quiet beach. However, I'd say our hearts are lost to the East Coast...

Staff were delightful - welcoming, courteous and went out of their way to ensure we had a good holiday. The owners have clearly made a significant investment in the Atlantis and we hope that they reap the benefits in the years to come.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBunny18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2011

I loved staying at the Atlantis, loved waking up in the morning and going for a walk along an endless beach, loved to hear the roar of the surf at night.

The food is terrific, the hotel is charming, the rooms spacious, and the staff lovely. My son was spoiled by everyone. We had a terrific time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aneastcoastfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2010

My husband and I are travel agents in San Antonio, Texas with Peace, Love & Travel Services. We loved everything about the Atlantis. The staff were very accommodating and genuinely friendly. We felt so relaxed having our meals outside on the deck overlooking the ocean! Everything was delicious! Our room was very comfortable with modern amenities. We recommend that you get a car or hire a driver (which is very ecomomical). We were very impressed with the beauty of the island and her people!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peaceloveandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

To get away from it all, there is nowhere like The Atlantis Hotel at Bathsheba. Perfect for a honeymoon, or other romantic vacation where you and your partner want to just enjoy each other. Bathsheba is the coast where local Bajans (I'm one, though I've lived in Boston for over 40 years) have always gone to chill out: reading, drinking rum punches or wine, swimming in the pool, and going for walks along the beaches and cliffs. Isolated and relaxed, with great service and spectacular scenery. Large waves breaking against a craggy shore. The staff is friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant is excellent, and the Sunday Brunch is worth driving to this end of the island for.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepMidwicket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We stayed at The Atlantis for 3 days at the end of November, rounding off our two and a half week stay on Barbados. We visited Bathsheba last year when the hotel wasn't quite finished and decided that it would be a great location to spend a few days, and we were SO right!
We stayed in the Three Boys guest room, which has both a view straight onto the ocean and a side view towards Bathsheba. The bedroom was extremely well-appointed, and provided us with a relaxing place to put our feet up, looking out to sea.
We experienced the Saturday barbeque as well as the Sunday lunch, and couldn't fault the food (only that there was too much of it!).
The staff are very good, from Diane in the office to the restaurant staff (Kathy and Adrian often looked after us and they were were very pleasant and friendly). X
The hotel has many local patrons (several were staying while we were there), which I think is a great recommendation for anyone thinking of staying there.
The Atlantis will not be for everyone - if you want the buzz/glitz of the west coast, this is not for you. If you want to experience more of what the true Barbados is like, don't hestitate - book up now!
Andrew and Patricia must be very proud of the hotel they have created - I only wish I could visit more often!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreddieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2010

On the second day of a 14 night holiday in Barbados my husband and I went for lunch at the Atlantis. We found the hotel easily - it is in a beautiful and secluded spot on the east coast of Barbados, right by the sea. We were given a warm and enthusiastic welcome. We had a delicious ( and good value) lunch on the outside terrace looking out over the breathtaking view with the sound of the turquoise atlantic breakers as a backdrop. We liked it so much that we decided to return and stay for 2 nights - one night in each of our 2 weeks holiday. We were encouraged to check in early on each day of arrival and we then checked out about 5pm on the following day. A complimentary rum punch was offered on each occasion!
The hotel has been renovated in an understated and chic eastern seaboard style and has achieved a wonderful sense of light, character and spaciousness. There are wooden floors, french doors opening out to the sea, white shuttered windows and old local photos line the fresh white walls. We stayed in a large double bedroom overlooking the sea which, again, had opening french windows plus a huge bed and crisp white linen. There were spacious and separate dressing and washing areas. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, relaxing and peaceful ( apart from the sound of the sea which was a soothing constant) .
The staff were friendly and attentive throughout. The buffet lunches on Wednesdays and Sundays were great.
This is a destination for those seeking upmarket individuality and character rather than a more bland and lively experience on Barbados' glitzy west coast.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cls55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathsheba
9.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
8.5 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
8.6 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
10.8 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#24 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantis Hotel

Property: The Atlantis Hotel
Address: Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba BB21054, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bathsheba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Atlantis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views to die for, located on the rugged east coast of Barbados - ideal for those who wish to get away from it all - a good book - good company - small and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Bathsheba
The Atlantis Hotel Barbados/Bathsheba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing