We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful small guesthouse on stunning coast”
Review of Sea-U Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea-U Guest House
Ranked #1 of 3 Bathsheba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful small guesthouse on stunning coast”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish it had been for longer! Our studio room in the cottage was furnished to a very high standard and we could see and hear the waves on the shore below. Breakfast was very good and we also ate here in the small restaurant one night. Honesty bar available. The Atlantis Hotel is a 5 minute walk down the hill if you want to eat out - also very good. If you don't have a hire car, local buses to Bridgetown and Speightstown run every hour or so from a bus stop 5 mins up the hill. Also within walking distance are the Andromeda Botanical Gardens. Excellent value for money and makes a pleasant change from the wall-to-wall resorts on the southwest coast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catherine q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    94
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
238
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sea U Guesthouse on our honeymoon. We knew we wanted to spend the trip surfing and away from touristy areas, so Sea U really fit the bill!
The grounds are beautiful , and overlook Tent Bay... We had a room in the building below the main house and it was perfect : decently sized for the both of us with a comfortable bed with mosquito net, which was useful! Our room was equipped with AC, but we didn't use it once as the ocean breeze coupled with the ceiling fan cooled the room nicely in the evening. The balcony was the best part of the room and we were lucky enough to have it to ourselves as we visited the Guest House in the off-season and the room beside ours was vacant.

The staff might have been the best part. Everyone was extremely friendly, helpful, and accommodating. We LOVED Sea Cat, the groundskeeper - maintenance - all around helpful guy. Sometimes when you travel you meet really great / memorable people and he is definitely one of them...My husband and I looked forward to our daily conversations with him. He was also a helpful surf guide having been one of the first local surfers on the Island back in the day .

Location couldn't have been better for us ... The surf breaks Parlors and Soup Bowls were just a 10 second drive away (we definitely could have just walked down the hill to Parlors - haha) and we really loved the slow pace of this part of the Island. Some really beautiful beaches are just a short drive away and it's more than likely that you'll have those beaches to yourself. But, if you're craving more things to do then it's easy to get to other parts of the Island provided you have a car. We went to the West Coast and South Coast many times to surf and eat and it never took us more than 40 minutes to get anywhere.

Not many restaurants / shops in Bathsheba area, but there's a great little lunch spot ( I think it was called Sand Bar) just a 10 minute drive from the Guesthouse... There's also a great little local spot in Martin's Bay just south of the Guest house. Round House , which is right by Soup Bowls , also has good food.

The only disappointment in our entire stay at Sea U was the breakfast..... Don't get me wrong, it is nice to have breakfast included with the stay and the dining area is lovely, but I would have expected more. It was nice to have the option of eggs cooked to order, but there really wasn't much else that was appealing: fruit, some days a meat option ( I'm a vegetarian, but I think there was sausage available and bacon as well), bread for toast, and some banana bread that was not home-made. ... The fruit never seemed very fresh and was cut into very small pieces.. The poor quality of breakfast ultimately informed our decision not to have dinner at the Guest House.

BUT this in no way would prevent us from returning, as we will definitely stay at the Guest House the next time we come to Barbados!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanierin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UschiW, Owner at Sea-U Guest House, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,
It is always a pleasure to know that our guest have a wonderful time whenever they visit. Your wonderful comments will be passed onto the staff especially the infamous Seacat.
We try our best to make our guest comfortable, it would have been helpful if you had told us at breakfast if there was anything else you missed because you are a vegetarian. It would not have been a problem.

The banana bread and coconut bread we serve here is made and baked right here in our kitchen. The recipe below is what our cook uses you can try it for yourself.

BANANA BREAD

1 egg
1 cup brown sugar
2 TB butter or margarine
Bajan spice or cinnamon powder
2 cups flour
2 T baking powder
water
5 or 6 crushed bananas
3 TB Bajan mixed essence or
1 T vanilla extract

Mix all ingredients and make a dough,
then fill into a square baking pan
and bake for 1 hour at 180 Celsius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved staying here, tranquil part of the island, away from all the major tourist areas. We took various walks to beach and surrounding hilltops. We booked the mini apartment on the first floor for 3 days after our sailing trip.. Considering the hurricane left the island with no electricity the staff were really prepared and were absolutely fabulous, nothing was an issue for them.. On our last night they served our dinner in our private balcony!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvee306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a perfect stay at Sea U , the place is peaceful, beautiful, nature, comfortable.
Rooms are cosy, well decorated, spaceful, with a little kitchen, and beautiful bathroom.
And people from the hotel adorable, the view on the little bay down the hill is great,
you feel alone in the world and they have a selfservice bar so you are independant with all commodities available

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecile I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We've had a lovely stay at the Sea-U Guest house and particularly enjoyed our mornings and evenings on the veranda, reading a good book and sipping fresh coconut juice! The staff was always very helpful, rooms are clean and Bathseba beach is just a short walk away. Needless to say that the wild monkeys were the highlight at breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanymara86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

my wife and I stayed here for 1 night after our beach wedding vows renewal at Hilton head.
I wanted somewhere romantic and sea-u fitted in nicely.
we arrived late after our dinner at champers on the other side of the island. we were meet and shown to the room buy a lady who must have seen the effort put in by the staff to make the bed as romantic as possible for us (see photo).
it was very peaceful whilst we were there breakfast was excellent with a variety with eggs cooked to order.
the room was nice and clean and quite spacious staff went out of there way to look after us.
you will not go far wrong if you are looking for somewhere away from the normal tourist spots on the island.
thank you all at sea-u for making the night special for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nashnashChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UschiW, Owner at Sea-U Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you appreciate the effort made by the staff to make your special night extra special, your acknowledgement goes a long way. We certainly look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We just stayed at Sea-U Guest House for the second time, and we were so impressed with the little things that have been done to improve the visit. Glass windows have been installed behind the wooden shutters, keeping the mosquitos out. These same windows have the smart eye, which tells the air conditioning unit (in the cottages) when to turn on/off in order to conserve energy. Breakfast items have been added to the daily menu, and all were fantastic.

My husband and I love staying at Sea-U, and will continue to call it home every time we visit Barbados. Please keep in mind that you should rent a car, as most restaurants and bars in the area close early... or never open at all!

The staff and the property are simply perfect. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: If you need to have air conditioning while visiting the tropics, this guest house offers it in the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UschiW, Owner at Sea-U Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
It was a pleasure having you stayed with us again, we are always happy to welcome you back to the Sea-U family.

We are glad you noticed and appreciated our effort towards improvements made to our rooms, our customer satisfaction is what we strive for .

Thank you for complimenting our staff for the work they put in to making your stay here memorable, Your wonderful comments assure us we are doing the right thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathsheba
10.6 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
307 reviews
8.9 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,050 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
763 reviews
10.7 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
614 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea-U Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea-U Guest House

Property: Sea-U Guest House
Address: Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba BB21054, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bathsheba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea-U Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic and affordable bed & breakfast at the lush east coast. Sea-U is tucked within a lush tropical garden along the seaside slopes of the village of Bathsheba on the east coast of Barbados, the most natural side of the island. Here you can enjoy unspoiled beaches, breathtaking views and mingle with locals. Uschi Wetzels, owner and manager and fell in love with Bathsheba and its friendly people, while working on a Barbados travel guide for a German editor. With hammocks strung between coconut palms, the Atlantic Ocean waves breaking against massive limestone boulders. Sea-U is a place for those who are looking for a decidedly significant change of pace from a busy life. The main house and the cottage are built in a traditional island style out of wood with large patios. The 10 rooms and apartments are decorated with mahogany furniture, louver window treatments, rattan chairs, locally handcrafted clay lamps and batik art. Sea-U's welcoming staff provides knowledgeable information. The atmosphere is relaxed, and guests quickly become friends. Green Globe certified, close to Andromeda Botanical Gardens and world class surfing at Soup Bowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea-U Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea-u Guest House Hotel Bathsheba
Sea-U Guest House Barbados/Bathsheba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing