We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea-U Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
All Seasons Resort Europa(Sunset Crest)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Sandpiper(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$507
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$462
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Bay All Inclusive(Holetown)(Great Value!)
US$487
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Royal Pavilion(Porters)(Great Value!)
US$727
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$471
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$675
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$484
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Divi Heritage(Saint James Parish)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lantana Resort(Weston)(Great Value!)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandy Lane Hotel(Saint James Parish)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Reef Club(Holetown)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
245
103
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
103
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestshonesty barthe east coastrental carget awaya lovely stayfresh coconut waterhonor systemanimal flower caveair conditioningopen airexplore the islandbotanical gardensceiling fansoup bowlsound of the wavesrum punch
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish it had been for longer! Our studio room in the cottage was furnished to a very high standard and we could see and hear the waves on the shore below. Breakfast was very good and we also ate here in the small restaurant one night. Honesty bar available. The Atlantis Hotel is a 5 minute walk down the hill if you want to eat out - also very good. If you don't have a hire car, local buses to Bridgetown and Speightstown run every hour or so from a bus stop 5 mins up the hill. Also within walking distance are the Andromeda Botanical Gardens. Excellent value for money and makes a pleasant change from the wall-to-wall resorts on the southwest coast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catherine q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sea U Guesthouse on our honeymoon. We knew we wanted to spend the trip surfing and away from touristy areas, so Sea U really fit the bill!
The grounds are beautiful , and overlook Tent Bay... We had a room in the building below the main house and it was perfect : decently sized for the both of us with a comfortable bed with mosquito net, which was useful! Our room was equipped with AC, but we didn't use it once as the ocean breeze coupled with the ceiling fan cooled the room nicely in the evening. The balcony was the best part of the room and we were lucky enough to have it to ourselves as we visited the Guest House in the off-season and the room beside ours was vacant.

The staff might have been the best part. Everyone was extremely friendly, helpful, and accommodating. We LOVED Sea Cat, the groundskeeper - maintenance - all around helpful guy. Sometimes when you travel you meet really great / memorable people and he is definitely one of them...My husband and I looked forward to our daily conversations with him. He was also a helpful surf guide having been one of the first local surfers on the Island back in the day .

Location couldn't have been better for us ... The surf breaks Parlors and Soup Bowls were just a 10 second drive away (we definitely could have just walked down the hill to Parlors - haha) and we really loved the slow pace of this part of the Island. Some really beautiful beaches are just a short drive away and it's more than likely that you'll have those beaches to yourself. But, if you're craving more things to do then it's easy to get to other parts of the Island provided you have a car. We went to the West Coast and South Coast many times to surf and eat and it never took us more than 40 minutes to get anywhere.

Not many restaurants / shops in Bathsheba area, but there's a great little lunch spot ( I think it was called Sand Bar) just a 10 minute drive from the Guesthouse... There's also a great little local spot in Martin's Bay just south of the Guest house. Round House , which is right by Soup Bowls , also has good food.

The only disappointment in our entire stay at Sea U was the breakfast..... Don't get me wrong, it is nice to have breakfast included with the stay and the dining area is lovely, but I would have expected more. It was nice to have the option of eggs cooked to order, but there really wasn't much else that was appealing: fruit, some days a meat option ( I'm a vegetarian, but I think there was sausage available and bacon as well), bread for toast, and some banana bread that was not home-made. ... The fruit never seemed very fresh and was cut into very small pieces.. The poor quality of breakfast ultimately informed our decision not to have dinner at the Guest House.

BUT this in no way would prevent us from returning, as we will definitely stay at the Guest House the next time we come to Barbados!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanierin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UschiW, Owner at Sea-U Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guest,
It is always a pleasure to know that our guest have a wonderful time whenever they visit. Your wonderful comments will be passed onto the staff especially the infamous Seacat.
We try our best to make our guest comfortable, it would have been helpful if you had told us at breakfast if there was anything else you missed because you are a vegetarian. It would not have been a problem.

The banana bread and coconut bread we serve here is made and baked right here in our kitchen. The recipe below is what our cook uses you can try it for yourself.

BANANA BREAD

1 egg
1 cup brown sugar
2 TB butter or margarine
Bajan spice or cinnamon powder
2 cups flour
2 T baking powder
water
5 or 6 crushed bananas
3 TB Bajan mixed essence or
1 T vanilla extract

Mix all ingredients and make a dough,
then fill into a square baking pan
and bake for 1 hour at 180 Celsius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved staying here, tranquil part of the island, away from all the major tourist areas. We took various walks to beach and surrounding hilltops. We booked the mini apartment on the first floor for 3 days after our sailing trip.. Considering the hurricane left the island with no electricity the staff were really prepared and were absolutely fabulous, nothing was an issue for them.. On our last night they served our dinner in our private balcony!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvee306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a perfect stay at Sea U , the place is peaceful, beautiful, nature, comfortable.
Rooms are cosy, well decorated, spaceful, with a little kitchen, and beautiful bathroom.
And people from the hotel adorable, the view on the little bay down the hill is great,
you feel alone in the world and they have a selfservice bar so you are independant with all commodities available

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cecile I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We've had a lovely stay at the Sea-U Guest house and particularly enjoyed our mornings and evenings on the veranda, reading a good book and sipping fresh coconut juice! The staff was always very helpful, rooms are clean and Bathseba beach is just a short walk away. Needless to say that the wild monkeys were the highlight at breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanymara86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews