We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay at Round House”
Review of Round House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Round House Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Bathsheba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We loved everything about our stay at the Round House Inn. We had three excelent meals - lunch, dinner and breakfast, which were all very good. The room (Room 3) was very cosy with a special design and an amazing vew of the bay. We really love this place and will be back if we have a chance.

Room Tip: We loved room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olof L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

we stayed for 5 nights in early Feb; as a start to a month in the Caribbean. We are a retired couple, mid 60s; we have travelled extensively all over the world. This small family- run inn is a treasure.....the way the Caribbean used to be and still is, if you look carefully. We enjoyed feeling like guests of the family who own the inn. We ate dinner there each day and loved the pumpkin soup - 5 nights in a row! All the entrees were excellent. Breakfasts were large and filling and we didn't need lunch.
Walking on the beach and reading on our verandah were our main activities, which suited us very well. Bathsheba is a quiet place and very beautiful. Taking the local bus is easy and convenient; we also used the taxi driver recommended by the owners..... a very nice fellow.
This is a perfect place to relax and use as a base to explore the island.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a wonderful covered verandah with a fantastic view; perfect for reading and drinking gin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank COMEXveterans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have stayed at the Round House several times but not for a few years. Sadly it now seems to be run by people who have little idea of how to run a hotel.
The room was fine but the restaurant had a very limited menu in the evenings and considering Bathsheba is a long way from most restaurants this is disappointing. Breakfast was OK. but the atmosphere there is just a shadow of what it was in past years.
Such a shame, I might stop there for lunch again but definitely will not stay again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jupiter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoundHouseBarbados, Owner at Round House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Round House is a family run business, and has been owned and operated by the same family for the past 20 years. In the few years since your last visit, there have been updates made to the rooms, dining room, grounds and menus under the same ownership.

From all accounts when we showed you to your room you expressed that you were pleasantly surprised by the updates we had done since your last visit. Therefore, it seems your main concerns lay with our new menu. We are sorry that you felt it was limited, as our other returning customers seem to welcome the change. Atmosphere wise – and most especially in the evenings - Bathsheba is a quiet place, just as it has always has been.. but that type of atmosphere suits us just fine :)

We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Barbados.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This was a lunch stop. We were about half way around the island of Barbados. The location is perfect on the wilder west side. No place to swim but a lovely view. The Roundhouse is a perfect had way point. The service was accommodating and friendly. The food was to die for. Absolutely delicious. There are no bad voices here. The tables can be inside where it's shady and cool or outside where the view is better but the sun is very hot. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Not sure about the rooms.Looks nice but did stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deltlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The wife & I travelled from Australia to stay with the fantastic crew @ The Roundhouse Inn, Bathsheba. We were treated like old friends as we celebrated my 50th earth day. EVERYTHING was taken care of (they even had a guy come over to change the oil on our vehicles!!!). the place has been there since early 1800's the rooms are super comfy & stylish with an olde world charm that Ms Small keeps impeccably clean.The bar is comprehensively stocked with professional & friendly service. The food was fantastic, the view breathtaking & the vibe laid-back thanx to D.J Gladdy & his library of Vintage Reggae grooves. An eclectic selection of books can be found in the various nooks & crannies throughout the Inn. all up simply the best place to spend some time in Paradise... We'll be back!!! Thanx to everyone (no more names for fear of forgetting someone)
the grassy knoll behind the Inn is the perfect place to kick back with the proprietor to discuss the days events.
Aloha

Room Tip: room 4 for surfers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soupbowl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My family of 3 just spent a week at the Round House in early Janauary, 2014. This location is as "authentic Barbados" as it gets. The staff is welcoming, accessible and friendly. The trade winds literally blow through the room at night. We especially like that the Round House only has 4 guest rooms. This is not the place for a family that prefers Hilton-style accomodations, flat screen TVs, swimming pools, etc. The Round House is ocean front with plenty of spectacular natural reef pools for the adventurous (mid and low tide) within easy walking distance. The included breakfast for all of our family members was amazing (numerous choices) and generally kept us happy until dinner (loved the salt bread with orange marmalade!) Family time at its finest.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Round House the evenings of the 23rd and 24th of December. Barbados as a whole is pretty quiet on this end of the island because of the holiday, which is just what we wanted. Plenty of space and time for R&R. The east shore is known more for its surf and wind then it is for tourist filled beaches like the west shore. (Can't really wade out and swim on this side because the sandy beach goes into rocky reef. But there are still wading pools nearby and the cave flower attraction, wildlife reserve nearby as well as quite a few others.) While the weather was more tumultuous then the west side, we personally loved the beautiful, intense storms that blew through and watching the surfers while we strolled the beaches picking up a wide variety of shells and sea glass. We loved the home like atmosphere of Round House and the excellent, amicable care provided by Elise and Anna and all of the Round House staff. We were invited to their family christmas dinner which had an impressive spread of food and the familial atmosphere was delightful, especially during the holiday. We are into more laid back atmosphere's and definitely recommend Round House, especially for the holiday season. It was quiet, the views amazing and the people a delight to meet and get to know. We will definitely go back if we find ourselves in Barbados again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathsheba
8.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,120 reviews
7.9 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
290 reviews
10.7 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Atlantis Hotel
The Atlantis Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bathsheba
270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea-U Guest House
Sea-U Guest House
#2 of 3 in Bathsheba
369 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round House Inn

Address: Highway Z, Bathsheba, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bathsheba
Price Range: £90 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Round House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the ruggedly beautiful Bathsheba beach on the untouched East Coast of Barbados, this hidden retreat is a must for those seeking surf and relaxation a little off the beaten path.Located in historic Bathsheba on the rugged east coast of Barbados, Round House has been a popular destination for locals and visitors alike for over 100 years. Built in the early 1800’s, the property offers commanding views of the entire Atlantic coast, a unique scenic environment and an undisturbed stretch of beach studded with natural tidal pools located just a one-minute walk down the sand to "Soup Bowl", one of the world's premier surf spots.Round House houses a historic inn featuring four architecturally-unique rooms with unparalleled views, and a bustling restaurant and bar serving Continental Caribbean cuisine with indoor and outdoor seating and some of the best views on the island. With its unique history, great food, friendly people and mellow vibe, Round House is a locals' favourite year-round and the spot frequent travelers to the island return to again and again to be greeted like old friends... with its unique hilltop perch providing a breathtaking panorama of Bathsheba and its pounding surf, it is also a “must-do” part of every first-time visitor's Barbados experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Round House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round House Inn Barbados/Bathsheba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing