We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical paradise 55 minutes away from Miami”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tingum Village Hotel
Miramar, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tropical paradise 55 minutes away from Miami”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

What I look for in a island hotel , friendly staff ,lots of vegetation. , nice clean rooms and 5 minutes from most amazing beach anywhere on this earth ,great conch fritters , burgers and my favorite , grouper fingers with fries , Iam in heaven

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edilio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    21
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Takoma Park, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Tingum Village for 3 nights on a recent visit to Harbor Island, and Nassau. The Tingum Village is a GEM, and the price is right! Juanita and all of the staff were very accommodating during our stay. Our room was comfortable and clean and it had a small kitchen area that we didn’t use. If we needed anything i.e. beach towels, directions, recommendations the staff was quite responsive. We ate breakfast there 2 mornings and my favorite was the traditional Bahamian stewed fish with grits and jonny cakes with bits of coconut. My boyfriend had the famous burger which he said was very good. The beach near the hotel was just GORGEOUS and where we spent most of our days, and after dinner we were on our patio outside of our room. This hotel is a great place to disconnect from technology and reconnect with humans. Harbor Island is such a beautiful place, we are planning to make another quick trip there next spring, and we plan to stay at Tingum Village again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachcomber9920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My boyfriend and I went to the island to spend quality time.

The honeymoon suite was dirty. Pots and pans were nasty - they had food stuck in them!
The door was a security concern. We forgot our key inside and was able to open it with a knife!

Had "stew fish/chicken souse" and had to throw it away. We went to Star Fish Restaurant for better food and it was a relief!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arianna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanitaP877, Owner at Tingum Village Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Aritcat 1708 I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your food or your stay here at Tingum Village Hotel. We are a family owned and operated business for over 40 years. It is our policy to fully refund any guest who did not have a good stay or enjoy our food. Our staff over looked or did not clean your room properly. For that we certainly convey our deepest regrets. We have an established policy to fully addressing all concerns voiced by our guests once it has brought to our attention. All responses posted on Trip Advisor are considered durning our upgrade process and we have placed emphases on our service and food quality Again I am truly sorry for any inconveniences. Please feel free to call/write to be compensated for your stay.

Tingum Village Hotel, Mgt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, FL
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

...this is a no frills hotel that is a perfectly fine budget place to stay on this very expensive island. Everyone was more or less stressed out when I checked in, as preparations were being made for a big 4th of July party. Ask for the room with the stone wall... I shared a common wall with that room and it looked very cool. Ma Ruby is ever present, and a joy to talk to! The cheeseburger is really quite good. It was hot, so I was thankful for a working room a/c. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindissima56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed here in April 2012 because we arrived a day earlier at Harbour Island and didn't want to pay $450/night at our prebooked hotel at Coral Sands. We stayed at one of the rooms on the 2nd floor with its own tub in the room, which we didn't use. As soon as we came in, we were greeted with a stinky smell from the room but we thought it was just because the room hasn't been aired out and besides the smell, the room and bathroom were clean so we took it. Turns out the stinky smell was from the refrigerator (there was a small kitchen in the room) because the fridge is unplugged if no one is staying in the room. We plugged in the fridge and the smell was gone the next day although we were already leaving by then. It was no big deal.

The room had a small terrace with 2 chairs and a table overlooking the backyard and the neighbor's backyard. It was very quaint, pretty and homey. The downside of being so close to the neighbor are the roosters that did their cock-a-doodle shout out nonstop the next morning from 7 am until about 10:00 am. From 7 to 9, my husband and I slept with our ipods on. THAT was annoying. We have stayed at Caribbean hotels before where we hear the roosters but I think because the roosters this time had a perch to sit on, which was at the same level as our 2nd floor room, the noise was deafening. I am a very deep sleeper and slept through a fire alarm once in undergrad but this was something else.

We didn't use the kitchen but it seemed pretty clean. It would be a good option to have if you don't want to spend a lot of money on meals, which can add up at Harbour Island.

The bed was a little on the hard side but the worst part was how small it was. It's an American full size so my husband ended up rolling over to my arm/shoulder every few times during the night. The floors were relatively clean. Housekeeping is what you expect from a 2-3 star hotel.

The bathrooms were relatively clean, with broken faucets and water stains on the shower, which were an eyesore, but if you can ignore those, the bathroom works just fine. The shower takes a while to get a good water pressure and water temperature up but again, not so bad.

We did not eat at the hotel but the conch fritters are among the best we have tasted. We hung out with Ma Ruby, owner of the hotel who must be about 70 years old, and that was fun. She was awarded a medal by Queen Elizabeth (I think for tourism) and there are pictures by the bar of this occasion. She spoke about her children and how accomplished most of them are. It was like listening to a rambling of your grandmother. We especially loved the check in lady, Jill, for her enthusiasm when she checked us in. Note that if you pay in cash, you avoid the 5% surcharge.

The village is located on the main street, within walking distance to the nightclubs and restaurants so that was good. Do rent a golf cart during your stay, however, as it will give you the freedom to go out at night and explore the rest of the island. Walking around the island at night, no matter how close you are to the clubs/bars, isn't as much fun as driving a golf cart home. Rent is $40-60 per day, depending on size of the carts.

There is no swimming pool or fitness center in this village.

Room Tip: 2nd floor if you want a view. 1st floor if you want a big terrace with seats to sip coffee on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lilypad78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saronno
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We went there following a local suggestion, but very unsatisfactory. The menu already with little variety did not have half of the food indicated. The rest was all forzen. Asked the cook and he said he had no raccomandation (and he was right), becasue everithing had the same taste. May be once was a good restaurant, but now forget it. Price also very high. At least if it was cheap...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelclaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I stayed here in September as part of a group activity (we took over all the rooms and then some). My understanding is that they had just reopened after Hurricane Irene had come through but you could hardly notice. If you're looking for a super fancy, 5 star, this isn't the place for you -- but if you want to support a local, family run business; meet fantastic people and truly feel like you have a home away from home, this is the place the place to go. My room was just adorable, full whirlpool tub, comfortable bed, small kitchenette and sofa area, plus a fantastic huge porch, with lattice work all around. Juanita is incredibly friendly, welcoming and a huge sports fan. Be sure to look around the lobby/bar area at all the amazing photos and listen to the stories. This is the kind of place people come back to year after year and Juanita and her family are the reason. You can rent golf carts there (and when your group is so big that all the golf cars are rented, Juanita tracks down the other companies that rent golf carts, even though they are on vacation! and gets more golfcarts for you!). You can walk from the back of the resort about 2-3 blocks distance and be on the beautiful beach (it's a big jungle like to get there, so get good directions!) or take the golf cart over to one of the public access areas and walk down. The words beautiful, amazing, awesome don't begin to describe the beach, words simply won't do it justice.

Go to Harbour Island, go to Tingum Village, and just relax and have a fantastic, amazing time.

Room Tip: I loved my room, Cat Island. It's like having your own little hideaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlr1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harbour Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#4 of 9 in Harbour Island
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#6 of 9 in Harbour Island
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunmore Town
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tingum Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tingum Village Hotel

Property: Tingum Village Hotel
Address: Colebrook St. | P.O. Box 61, Harbour Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tingum Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on four acres of lush garden and steps away from the Pink Sandy Beaches of historic Dunmore Town Harbour Island, Bahamas, is an hidden village that can only be best described as a 'Tropical Paradise" called Tingum Village Hotel. A family owed operated Bare foot elegance offers a one, two or three bed room bungalow. Owned and operated by the Percentie Family lead by legendary Ruby Hanna Percentie, MBE. "Ma Ruby" greets you with her welcoming smile and says "Welcome Home". Tingum Village Hotel offers and open honor bar as your second home. Perfect for the traveler looking for a long term rentals, reading/writing in our swinging hammocks. Backpackers or families who are looking for an authentic Island experience. A Honey monomer's hide out. Ma Ruby's Restaurant has signature Jimmy Buffet " Cheeseburger in Paradise" and serves organic vegetarian and native dishes daily. Your catch of the day can be prepared at for your liking at sunset. Operated by Juanita Ma Ruby's daughter and friendly staff has listened to customers concerns and request and have captured the true essence of an authentic Bahamian experience and renovated in 2013. Tingum Village Hotel is located 50 miles from Florida and 15 minutes away from the capital Nassau, Bahamas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tingum Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tingum Village Hotel Harbour Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing