We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay. Needs some improving.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coral Sands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just okay. Needs some improving.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Coral Sands was completely adequate for our stay. Staff did their job, but service was not exceptional in any way. Room was neat and clean but a bit tired. Bathroom needs some work. A/C was really loud in the room and the hotel didn't do anything to fix it despite a few call to have it repaired. The free breakfast wasn't very good and we often went out to eat. The one lunch we had was terrible. The beach is beautiful and the water is crystal clear. Harbour Island is a really special place but I would check out somewhere else to stay next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey33793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    97
    39
    30
    22
See reviews for
84
185
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed at this property in July of 2014. I had a room in the main building. The photographs are accurate property wide and it is rare that the beauty actually matches the photographs. Here it does. The grounds were immaculate. The service was excellent and the staff was helpful. Harbour Island itself is the ultimate escape from the typical escape. Getting here was a small adventure; you will take a cab from a tiny airport then a short boat ride across the bay, to another taxi to your hotel. It was inexpensive and fun. There are not a ton of the usual tourist-ee activities to engage in, no huge tourist markets, no stalking vendors. It's very quiet. There's WiFi at the hotel and it works reasonable well. It would be better not to bring a laptop. The resort had snorkel gear, wake and paddle boards in good shape and free for use. Golf cart rentals are available as well and useful for at least a few days. The beach was awesome and there's a reef about a hundred yards off the shore for the adventurous. The Island isn't too big and you can explore it in a short amount of time. It was nice to have the freedom to move around from the different establishments (Valentines and Fox Marina bars, the liquor store, various souvenir stores) with the cart and it was not expensive. The restaurant was good, the Trip Advisor rating for it was accurate.

If you want truly want down time, this is a great place. If I come back to Harbour Island I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms outside of the main building are more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with 6 people during new years eve. The hotel's location is perfect but the big house area is super dark and service is really bad specially at the bar and around the pool area. Nobody was ever there to take orders and if you leave the glasses from the beach bar at the pool area chances are you will find them intact the next day. You have to almost bag to have drinks at the bar at night. There is no wifi around the beach restaurant area and pool and again service during breakfast was really slow. We got a good bedroom- spacious but the sofa bed for the kids was really unconfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clagmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna541, Owner at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,

I am so sorry that you had problems with the service at the hotel. We strive to reach out to all our guests and make them feel at home and with all the service they need and should expect.

I apologize if our staff failed to do this. We will try much harder in the future to assure you that it will not happen again.

If you return to Harbour Island,please give us another try.

Regards,
Coral Sands Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at Coral Sands five nights and all we talk about since we got back home is how much we miss the island and that we want to go back again!

When we first got to the hotel after flying in to Eluethra and taking the taxi boat over to Harbour island we felt very welcome and where immediately taken by the extraordinary location of Coral Sands.
Me and my husband stayed in a suite with a terrace facing the ocean while his parents stayed in a lovely beach cottage ("Sea Oats") with stairs from the porch leading straight down to the beach! Amazing!!!

Early every morning I started my day with either a run or walk on this beautiful beach. Great way of starting the day,,, and necessary, since we had both lovely lunches and luxury dinners :)

We really loved to sit down at Toms Bar (at the hotel) for lunch since you never want to let go of the view and the fresh seafood/fish there was amazing!
And the Piña Coladas and Daiquiri's was to die for!

We rented to golf carts so we could easily drive around the little island and it was very convenient.

Over all we spent most of our time at the beach cottage "Sea Oats", the beach and at the fine dining restaurants and we had a great week together with our family. Totally relaxing!

Great tennis court too, which we tried out even though it was a little to hot for tennis that day.

I would say this is the perfect place for a honeymoon vacation too!

We loved it and as mentioned before, we can't wait to get back to Harbour Island and Coral Sands!

Anna Batchelor and the Batchelor family, Miami Beach

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabatchelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My now-husband and I got married at Coral Sands in May. I can't even begin to explain how wonderful this week was for us - much to the thanks of the amazing staff at Coral Sands! We stayed in an Ocean View Deluxe Room (which provide a bedroom, an enormous ocean front terrace, and separate living area), but every room we saw had views of the crystal blue waters and the pink sands beach and even when they were “garden view” you were less than 100 yards from the beach and sands (and really how much time do you spend in your room). The food was some of the best I’ve tasted in my life, and I’ve lived in San Francisco, Los Angeles, Philadelphia and Washington DC (not to mention I’ve been all around the world including London, Paris, etc.). Pamela, the General Manger, is not only fluent in the island, but has a passion in making her guests not only satisfied, but feel like superstars in their own right. Silma, the wedding planner, took care of everything! Instead of worrying about the minutia, we were able to say things like “we were think of a cake with flowers”…“ we were thinking floating candles in vases”…“we were thinking cocktails on the beach”… No matter what our whim, Coral Sands accommodated and it was the even better than our wildest dreams. I can’t stop going on and on about it, because it really was that amazing! I have Aunts and Uncles say that it was the best wedding they’ve ever been to (and they have kids!). But getting back to the staff, I can’t name them all, but we really felt like a prince and princess for our wedding, however, we learned it wasn’t just because of our special day, every guest is a Coral Sands becomes a “family member” waiting to happen. I’m already planning my next trip and imagine it will be a yearly destination for years to come! If you are considering getting married in the Bahamas, please look at Coral Sands. And if you are just looking for the most romantic getaway ever, you should still make a trip, tell Matthew at the Beach Bar we say hello! :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank awilnerheard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our third stay there and we hope for many more. The pleasant staff, the grounds, the expanded beach bar, and the beautiful beach all made for a great 6 day stay! Forgive me if I leave anybody off but Coral Sands employees like Lyndon, Brad, King, Matthew, TeeJay, Kervin, Teresa, Gazel, Julian, and James H not only are the best but true good will ambassadors of Harbour Island!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We loved the Coral Sands! We did a day trip from Nassau (we were staying at The Cove Atlantis) and decided to stay the night even though we didn't have a change of clothes! It was a wonderful experience. The beach is beautiful and perfectly quiet and the sand is an amazing light pink. The food at the restaurant was delicious and very sophisticated. We also had lunch at the Blue Bar next door and had a great time. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Anything with an ocean view is great because you get the wonderful trade winds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cobe822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.4 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Landing
The Landing
#7 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#3 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tingum Village Hotel
Tingum Village Hotel
#1 of 4 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Hotel

Property: Coral Sands Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Sands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Coral Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Sands
Coral Sands Harbor Island
Coral Sands Hotel Harbour Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing