We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING place!!!”
Review of Coral Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coral Sands Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING place!!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was breath taking!!!! I did lots of research on Harbour Island and compared all the resorts and this one really speaks for itself. The view from our room was spectacular and the staff was SUPER friendly. We were even greeted with a champagne toast which was such a classy touch! I would HIGHLY recommend staying here especially since it's one of the few hotels on the island that sits on the beach. We're already planning a return trip in the next 2 years and can't WAIT to stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Grover71914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    98
    39
    32
    23
See reviews for
88
194
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was my first time to the Carribean, so my review might be a little biased - but I really loved this hotel!

We arrived a little early, but got complimentary champagne waiting for the room. We were staying in a junior suit, as there was 3 of us, and got upgraded to one with ocean view. Bed and sofa were both comfortable, the room was very spacious, as was the bathroom ( with really nice l'Occitane products).

The food was fresh & tasty, both in the main restaurant and beach bar. The complimentary breakfast was tasty, although I prefer eggs for breakfast - so I ordered them seperately. Service was excellent.

Now I am coming to the main point: the beach. Beautiful!!! It's hard to describe with words, just see any of the pictures! With enough umbrellas and sunbeds for everyone, free SUP/snorkeling/beach toys...

Room Tip: We had a suite and it was amazing so I recommend that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AgnesR12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I eloped to the Bahamas to get married and we chose the Coral Sands Resort. We contacted Silma at Coral Sands and everything was taken care of from the band to the wedding venue (on the beach). It could not have been more stress free and fun. We stayed in the Sunset Room which had beach access and an amazing view of the ocean.The resort itself was in the middle of Pink Sand Beach and in our opinion had the best views. We would like to thank Silma and Pam for making our elopement come true, Chris for capturing this memory forever, and all of the staff at Coral Sands for truly making our stay an unforgetable experience. Would definitely recommend visiting Coral Sands to anyone. We will definitely be going back soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a glorious time here. 4 Blocks from the ferry and downtown, a gorgeous mahogany laden hotel with all the amenities you need. From the moment we arrived and were given complimentary pink champagne, to when we had to stay a little longer to meet the 3:30pm fast ferry back to Nassau, this place was perfect. Comfortable beds, great wifi/, great beach chairs/ umbrellas.

We would definitely go back.

If you are selecting a hotel and it is either Pink Sands or Coral Sands, pick Coral Sands. Better rooms, better restaurants, better service.

Room Tip: The rooms off the main building are noisier and smaller than the rooms for some of the out buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I went to the Coral Sands for a bachelorette trip and we had the beach house and two other rooms. The beach house was gorgeous, spacious, and had a great outdoor as well as and open indoor shower. The beds were super comfortable and it was just down a few flights of stairs for the beach. The food was extremely good and everything was very fresh, even the ice coffees were amazing! I had such an enjoyable experience here and I am sure we will be back to Harbour Island soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We got married at Coral Sands in May - and were so flattered that our well-travelled guests were describing it as literally 'the best wedding they had ever been to'.
I chose Coral Sands site unseen, having had a number of glowing recommendations of Harbour Island. I had reached out to 15 hotels across Bahamas and Caribbean and literally only 2 responded (for 100 potential guests). Silma who is both one of the owners and the events coordinator was so punctual and on her game - it was not a tough decision choosing her and the hotel. The hotel, officiant, band, & DJ were all secured in 2-3 conversations - and we didn't have to worry about any further details until a few months before- so easy.
We did a site visit in January & it was like a family reunion: the General Manager Pam, Silma & her husband Tom, Phil in reservations, and Lois in decor/events - in fact all the staff were just great- we had a blast & couldn't wait to get back.
ROOMS: For the Jan trip we stayed in Sand Dollar which was a fabulous cottage set slightly back from the main front, decked out in furnishings selected by fashion icon Barabara Hulaniki. We did see all room categories so we could report back to guests - the house rooms are the most simple rooms if budget is an issue, but you cannot go wrong with the ocean view junior/master suites, and if you can stretch to the cottages, you will not be disappointed. We stayed in Sea Oats for the wedding, and Sun Rise following the wedding - they are all beautiful and similar to each other in decor (Sea Oats has 2 bedrooms). Loved the walk-in wardrobes - was very handy for the wedding outfits! Sea Oats, also has great entertaining space and it's stunning. All the girls were able to come & get ready in this pristine cottage w/ views of the glittering ocean. I literally felt like a princess - which, for your wedding, is the way it should be.
STAFF: I cannot say enough about the kindness we received on property from everyone. They were all thrilled for our wedding. Service on the island generally can be a little slow, but by island standards it is decent. People coming here expecting NY will be disappointed, but if you are on island time it is all fine. And the warm reception more than compensates. There were even some of the hotel staff partying with us in our wedding junkanoo band which just made it more special. Everyone was involved.
FOOD: This was the outlying surprise. We knew Chef Ludo and Ken were good (lunch particularly is tremendous!) - but to get guests saying that this is the 'best food they had ever had at a wedding' and seeing them eating 4-5 plates each of incredible crab claws, shrimp, sushi, and THEN following it up with a spectacular wedding brunch (including the spicy Sunday fish broil) - unbelievable.
DECOR: Lois worked a dream, with frankly minimal input from me. The beach set up for the wedding ceremony was tasteful and not cheesy. Beautiful lanterns and minimal flowers - you don't need to go overboard when the backdrop of the beach is so beautiful anyway. And the table settings for the rehearsal dinner/wedding and brunch were all stylish & perfect. They made it look like we had spent a lot more money than we did.
We were not the couple seeking a dream wedding. We wanted something that fit us - we love to travel, we love the beach, and love to be with friends & family. We also like nice things, and wanted to pick somewhere that would not disappoint - and this event on every level, far exceeded our expectations.
The shortcomings of getting married in Harbour Island, are that it is an island - you will likely have to fly in your photographers (and any video guys/hair stylists etc - we didn't do this), it's an indirect flight from everywhere, and if you want to import particular items (wine, flowers etc) it will become expensive. But, because it is tougher to get to, the island has remained a relative secret. It's not busy, you have the beach almost to yourself- stunning pink sand. Food on the island is extraordinary (The Landing, Acquapazza, Sip Sip, Rockhouse, Queen Conch - in that order!).
Most importantly, if you are going to be upset if every detail is not executed to the minute, this is not the place for you (or any island for that matter). BUT, any of the details that didn't run smooth just added to our experience of a wonderful memorable few days that simply couldn't have been improved. We & all of our 90 guests had the most spectacular time.
I am very happy if readers want to msg me here on Tripadvisor if you have questions about considering a wedding at Coral Sands or on the island.
We cannot wait to go back and see our Harbour Island family.

Room Tip: My favorite rooms are the cottages - if budget allows. Else the Ocean View Master Suites and junio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amysak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton beach, fl
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Such a great place to stay with quite possibly the nicest staff on the island. Amenities are very nice, clean rooms, beautiful beach and delicious food. Great place to relax and chill out! The beach is just gorgeous. Knowledgeable & friendly staff are the best!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Meghan0784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.1 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#6 of 9 in Harbour Island
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
282 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunmore Town
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Hotel

Property: Coral Sands Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Sands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Sands
Coral Sands Harbor Island
Coral Sands Hotel Harbour Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing