We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vibe”
Review of Runaway Hill Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harbour Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Runaway Hill Club
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Staying at Runaway you feel as if you're at a small private club with a great relaxed - island- atmosphere! The staff makes you feel truly at home, always with a smile on their face. We stayed for ten days and loved every minute! During our stay we visited most of the other Island's restaurants, but always came back to Runaway for the best meals. Runaway's 'locally grown' chef Krishna always prepared an excellent meal with a great island flavor. We truly loved our stay and Jennifer, the manager, made us feel like family. We could not of asked for anything more!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Geb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Several generations of our family have been coming to the Runaway Hill for decades. We've stayed in rooms, separate cabins, the 'Infinity House', and combinations of all and continue to be delighted. Exquisite rooms, food, service, views, beaches, location...cannot say enough! The new chef's fish and seafood creations true pleasures, the pink sands and ocean tides inviting beyond the palms...staff and guests a veritable community of friendly, harmonious folk. We are hooked, and will continue to return!

Room Tip: Runaway is a small resort but has a great variety of offerings. The Infinity House is fantastic for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizbeth101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have stayed at the Runaway Hill off and on for about 20 years. It is the place to stay on Harbour Island for a wonderful vacation on the best beach in the world. The food is superb (especially the local fish) and the service a delight. It is a small, intimate hotel where you awaken to the sound of the waves on a flawless pink sand beach. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Choose the Infinity house if you are a large group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlp721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Please note that I am only reviewing the restaurant. My family and I were very excited for a beautiful Christmas dinner and I've never been more disappointed in a restaurant. The food did not match the price tag by any stretch- over salted soup and then bland rice with less than flavorful fish. Not sure, but it seemed like the appetizers were out of a box and not freshly prepared. We were never served at the same time, having to sit and wait twice for over 5 minutes for one person at the table to receive their food after everyone else was served. Lesson learned.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Waldentravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Messierjen, Manager at Runaway Hill Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Runaway Hill Inn regrets that you were dissatisfied with your meal. And we acknowledge that timing became a problem the evening you dined. The town power failed and our generator did not automatically kick in and by the time everything was rebooted, the kitchen was backed up.

Obviously we strive for customer satisfaction and try to be our best every day. This day however, we know we could have done better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and I chose Runaway Hill Club for our anniversary, We can not imagine a more beautiful, tranquil place to have spent our vacation. Everything including our villa, the beach and the dining were perfect. We took the time to look at every room and can honestly say we would have been happy with any of them. The beds are exceptionally comfortable and the linens are exquisite. The pink sand beach is the most beautiful and private we have ever seen. The chef Krishna Higgs is an exceptional talent who made every meal an experience to remember. A big thank you to Jen and all your wonderful staff who made us feel like family. We can't wait to get back! Marg & Don

Room Tip: The Villas are very private and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at Runaway this past spring. From waking up to the water crashing on the pink sandy beaches to the most delicious fresh catches prepared daily by Chef Luc, our time at the Runaway Hill Club was unforgettable. I would highly recommend anyone coming to Harbour Island stay there. The staff is super friendly, views are spectacular, and the rooms are accommodating. Hoping to one day be back in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Went in early June 2013 & same time last year. Private, relaxing and low key with excellent accomodations and everything right there. Beaches outstanding and clean and simply at bottom of steps. Pool on way to beach. Restaurant and bar right above pool and beach.If you want to relax and not venture out this is the spot. Rest of Island small, easy to access. We have found our beach so will be returning often.

Room Tip: Villas are the largest & newest, however main house right by everything and interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zorrro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#3 of 9 in Harbour Island
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#5 of 9 in Harbour Island
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
290 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runaway Hill Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runaway Hill Club

Address: 27031 Box EL | Dunmore Town, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range: £136 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front 11 room Inn and four bedroom beach house located on the pink sand beach of Harbour Island. Beachside pool and restaurant nestled on 13 tropical acres. A variety of rooms including a one bedroom owners cottage makes this the perfect location for intimate weddings, birthday celebrations or family reunions. Our Chef, Krishna Higgs, has a wonderful menu which features daily local fresh fish options. The Four Bedroom Infinity House has sliding glass doors in each bedroom and endless deck. Newly renovated it offers everything you could wish for in a rental home and offers all the amenities of a hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Runaway Hill Club Hotel Harbour Island
Runaway Hill Club Harbour Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing