We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pink Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pink Sands Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I travelled here for a quick weekend getaway. you'd be hard pressed to find a more stunning beach on the island. This quaint town is perfect for the couple that just wants to get away and relax. The food was actually quite good - I was pleasantly surprised. The accommodations were, again, stunning. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

Make sure you rent a golf cart in advance, if possible!

Room Tip: Stay in Dixie Creek - it's right by the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    55
    34
    32
    22
See reviews for
75
139
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I booked Pink Sands for a Caribbeam vacation based on Magazine reviews and the Pink Sands web site. It did not measure up to the pictures or the reviews. It was not bad, just tired, little space to move around and the "just steps to the beach was a joke". I rented the Ocean fron one bedroom cottage. The service was spotty, the turn down service was after 9pm when we were already back at the room, the menu in the Blue Bar was the same everynight, and the beach access was more trouble than it was worth. The beach itself is a pretty color but frankly it looked like a good day on the panhandle beaches in Florida. I have traveled extensively in the Caribbean and the value just was not there. I will search out other properties in the Bahamas for future visits.

Room Tip: Do not stay in any Garden view cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Provobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We have travelled many of the Bahama islands and the pristine Pink Sands Resort on Harbour Island is a hands - down favorite. The cottages are beautiful, comfortable, and relaxing. We stayed in an ocean view room that had a short path directly to the gorgeous pink sand beach. Loved the robes and evening turn down service (with cookies!) in the rooms. It was extremely refreshing to open the doors in the mornings and enjoy the breeze and beautiful ocean view. The staff is welcoming, friendly, and ready to accommodate. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and refreshing :-) Happy Hour at the Blue Bar. Dinner at the Blue Bar was amazing and the only restaurant on the island serving dinner with an ocean view. There are kayaks, boogie boards, snorkel gear, etc. for guests to use on the beach, but we chose to just walk and relax on the beach. The sand is literally pink -absolutely one of the most beautiful in the world.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dehensel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

My sister and I travelled to the Bahamas and had the opportunity of staying at Pink Sands Resort. I had done my research and checked the resort's website. I knew it from that moment that I wanted to stay at Pink Sands. We had an amazing time. I must say that from the moment we arrived we were greeted by Mark (General Manager) as well as their amazing friendly staff. We would like to thank everyone who made our stay a memorable one. A special thanks to the chef "Ed" who made us delicious meal the night before we left. He went out of his way to making us feel like we were at home. To the staff, Adolphus (thank you for teaching me to drive a golf car), Maefield, Toya, Suzanne, Peter, Jonathan.. Thank you.. We will never forget all of you and look forward to going back to the Pink Sands again in the near future.
I would definetely highly recommend this resort to everyone. If you want to feel like you're at home and want to have an amazing experience where you feel welcomed and the food is delicious... My sister and I can't wait to go back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

By far the most private and unique property on Harbour Island. Our ocean front villa was steps away from the beach, with a private deck-- perfect for sleeping under the stars. I hesitate to spill the secret but this is the place to bring in the new year- sensational party. But off-season is our favorite time, when the ocean is warm and it feels like the pink sands belong to us. The whole charm of this place is the rustic boho chic vibe, which is what we want whenever we come to this island. The staff is really representative of local culture, which is to say, they are relaxed, colloquial, and welcome you as though you were a guest in a home. We return year after year and have built local roots. It's not just a hotel, it's a vacation home-- with a super private chef. Best avocado gazpacho. In the summers, you can eat at the Blue Bar-- directly on the beach. Does not get better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayeffe, La
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I just read the most recent review, and was surprised at their unfortunate experience. We booked an Ocean View Suite and did not fine it dirty or broken down in any way. We were located directly on the beach by way of a short path. The beach is awesome! They don't seem to have a lot of beach equipment, but the service from the Blue Bar was cheerful and welcome. Our patio area was nice, and our room was spacious, with a clean and well-equiped bathroom. I do agree that the prices are high for the accommodations that you receive. We ate at the restaurant twice and enjoyed our meal both times. The service in the bar and patio restaurant was friendly and attentive. Our notable disappointment was that we were not informed before our stay that they were hosting a wedding over the weekend, and had closed the restaurant and bar to their other guests. We enjoyed a meal out at the Rock House that night, and did not suffer. We also ate at the Dunmore and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. All of the restaurant prices on the island are generally comparable. I think they are kept this way deliberately to control competition! This is our second trip to Harbour Island, and we would also investigate other properties; however you can't beat this beach location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southernbelle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

My first time in the bahamas... and part of my trip, it was ruined by staying in this hotel.
5 stars hotel?????? what about ...maybe 3 stars and paying for 5 !


Quick description of the hotel room:

-furniture : old and broken
-sofa, chairs : stained and nasty! we never sat in them!!! I did not even put my laggage on top!
-bathroom was the most disappointing: rust between tiles, flooded bathtub and sinks, toilet leaking water on the floor, some of the towels were dirty and discolored. They didn't refresh bath products. ..bring your own q-tips...they dont give them to you. There was a sewer smell too.

One morning we turned on the sink and nothing came out! Another time it was brown rust.

The bed sheets had holes. I was scared to check the mattress.

Turn-down service was inconsistent and poor.

This resort has big big big potential, but right now they should close it and renovate a-z. I would not save anything!

Food in the restaurant is good, thanks to the great chef.

The famous Blue Bar, looks like it has to be finished decorated. It is just blue with a couple of chairs table and dead flowers on it.

The beach is awesome. But the lounge chairs are mismatched.

Overall, the atmosphere is very sad. Even the main bar, while staffed with a very nice bartender, was sad and empty!

We went for spring break , thought it would have been packed with people.

I wish we would have stayed nearby at the Dunmore.... Awesome hotel, unfortunately it was fully booked when we were planning our trip.

If they lower the price to 200-300/night it might be appropriate. But they can't charge 700-800 without a renovation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Camilla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.3 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#3 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.9 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tingum Village Hotel
Tingum Village Hotel
#1 of 4 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Sands Resort

Property: Pink Sands Resort
Address: Chapel St, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pink Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pink Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Sands Hotel Harbour Island
Pink Sands Resort Harbour Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing