We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still in love with Rock House...”
Review of Rock House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rock House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Still in love with Rock House...”
Reviewed 22 June 2008

This was our second year to visit Rock House. We spent eight days in this fabulous inn and we, again, were not disappointed. If you want five star service with great accommodations and great food, this is the place to stay. I am one who always prefers to stay in a hotel directly on the beach, but I can tell you, without reservation, you will not miss a thing. The Rock House, located on the harbor side, is just minutes by foot and seconds by golf cart to the beach where Rock House has umbrellas, chairs, towels and a cooler with bottled water set up. On the bayside, views of the harbor from the hotel are fabulous and at dinnertime, can't be beat. You will be part of the hustle and bustle of the island, but feel like you are in your own private paradise. You will have the best of both worlds staying in this location.

There are three rooms as part of the main house with the remaining rooms in a separate building in the back. We have stayed in both (Pineapple and Citrus) and I can tell you, either area is perfect. The rooms in the back building include your own private cabana for reading or hanging out in the evening (with a glass of wine, of course!).

If you want to experience five star service, go to Rock House. You will not find better service anywhere. From Fluffy to Tremee (Sweet Potato!) to the rest of the staff, including those who were recent additions, the attention to the guests and the property are unmatched.

The food - yummy. You will read in other reviews how fabulous the food is at dinner and it's all true (by the way, don't miss lunch either!). Be sure to come early and have a cocktail at the bar by the pool. What a beautiful romantic setting as you watch the sunset over the harbor, and it's a great place to meet and visit with other guests.

And lastly, we can't say enough about the owners, Don and Wallace, who make Rock House the special place that it is. Rock House is their little piece of heaven on Harbour Island and you are their most welcomed guests.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank SBinflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    5
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
179
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

My wife and I spent a quiet extended weekend away on Harbour Island and had the opportunity to sample various restaurants on the Island. The Rock House was by far and away the top restaurant on the Island, and in fact, probably in all of the Bahamas.

The execution in every aspect makes dinner at the Rock House a memorable experience. First, Don and Wallace are top notch hosts attending to every detail. The entire staff goes out of their way to make sure you have a great time - from the fantastic bartender, to the wait staff, the Chefs (all three of them) and even the support staff; everyone of them take care in what they do - and it shows all with genuine smiles. The menu has something for everyone, and no one should miss the nightly specials.

We enjoyed dinner so much on the first night, we decided to go back again the next evening to see if the experience would be the same - and it was. The consistency from night to night is unmatched. On the first evening, the fresh fish special was terrific; prepared with Caribbean spices with a delightful presentation. The next night was the pasta and Tuna special, again, just as good as the first night.

Taking in the Bahamian sunsets on both nights, while enjoying perfectly prepared meals, is how a vacation is supposed to be spent. The Rock House understands this and delivers!

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
Thank MKAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

Just returned from a week-long honeymoon stay at this wonderful hotel. Absolutely perfect setting on the harborside of the island, well-appointed guest room, attentive staff and fantastic food (breakfast, lunch and dinner).

We were blessed with perfect weather -- days split between the island's famous pink-sand beach (with sand a soft as flour) and the hotel's gem-like pool.

Can't say enough good things about the Rock House (and Harbour Island, for that matter). Definitely a home run of a honeymoon! We will undoubtedly return.

  • Liked — Location, guest room, staff and food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Splendidsplinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2008

We would like to thank TripAdvisor for the lead to this hotel. We have no complaints regarding our stay, but there are a couple of things people may wish to know prior to booking.
There are only two rooms that have an ocean view and if you envision a tranquille sunset or a quiet morning view of the inner harbor, you may wish to reconsider.
We had to book two different rooms due to availability for the time we desired. We spent three nights with a harbor view and the balance of the week in a suite. Both rooms were great.
The inner harbor is a busy place and hums from dawn to dusk. It is about 2 city blocks from the hotel.
The main means of transportation is a golf cart and they all are tuned to sound like my neighbors lawnmower. There is a main road directly below both ocean view rooms.
We enjoyed the quietude of the suite but missed the view.
With regards to the Rock House restaurant, we dined there twice. It was the most expensive we found but not the best food that we enjoyed. We would recommend passing on the entrees and ordering several plates of the lobster and rock crab spring rolls which were to die for.
I ate grouper for both lunch and dinner at several locations, but the best by far was the sandwich at Sip Sips. The Dunmore Beach Club and Valentines were favourite restaurants as well.
With regards to Eleuthera, Fort Lauderdale has the most daily flights for access. Getting to Harbor Island sounds hard, but is very easy and convenient.
Thank all the staff at Rock House!

  • Liked — Very central
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BillVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2008

I am SO OBSESSED with the ROCK HOUSE, so amazing! I even booked it to rent out the whole place for my 35th birthday party. Nantucket-meets-bahamas chic at this beautiful resort. Love that you drive golf carts wherever you go - no cars and the rock house has some of the best food ive ever had (which is hard - the caribbean usually lacks in the caribbean period). The owners couldnt be nicer. Perfect for a chic 5 day getaway from New York. Ive found my little slice of heaven on earth and plan on returning many many more times!

  • Liked — I loved how casual yet chic it was and the food was incredible as were the staff
  • Disliked — --
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank brendanla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montauk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2008

This was our fourth yearly visit to this surprise oasis in the midst of the relative hub bub of Harbour Island. The Rock House has only nine rooms, each different from the other. It has a lovely pool and its' own beach a short golf cart ride away. The restaurant at the Rock House is the best on the island wth views over the busy harbor area of the island. The attention to detail present at this establishment is unparalled anywhere in the Bahamas. Simply put, we love staying here.

  • Liked — the attention to detail
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tundergarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
210 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2008

My husband and I just got back from 4 nights at Rock House. Rock House and Harbour Island both exceeded our expectations.

Rock House is such a cute little hotel with very nice cosy rooms. The reserved sun loungers and umbrellas at the beach are awesome. There's enough for everyone, so you can sleep in or go shopping or whatever you want and then go to the beach whenever and not worry about having to fight for a sun lounger.

We had dinner one night at the hotel. The food, service and ambiance were all very good.

Harbour Island itself is such a nice little island. It's been compared to St. Barts and, having been to St. Barts and love St. Barts, I was skeptical. But yes, it is alot like St. Barts, just quieter.

There are only a few restaurants on the island, but they're all very good.

The beach is huge and never crowded. The sand is soooo soft and it really is pink.

I can't fnd a thing negative to say about Rock House or Harbour Island. We loved our stay!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.2 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#3 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#6 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tingum Village Hotel
Tingum Village Hotel
#1 of 4 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House

Property: Rock House
Address: Corner of Hill and Bay Street, EL-27234, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rock House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock House is a luxury 10 room boutique hotel on Harbour Island, Bahamas. Our fine dining restaurant has one of the best sunset views of the bay. Personal service and unmatched attention to every detail.Rock House has been a vibrant and colourful feature of the Harbour Island landscape since the early 1940's. Originally a private home, then a Bed and Breakfast and for many years a rental property, Rock House today has evolved to become the standard for elegance, island sophistication and superior service. Fodor's Choice, Condé Nast, Travel & Leisure and Tripadvisor award winner.In July 2002, Rock House caught the interest of the well-known South Florida builder J. Wallace Tutt III. Tutt and business partner Don Purdy, who had already created the successful Hotel Impala in South Beach and worked on commissions for Cher and the late Gianni Versace, had a vision of transforming the property into a luxury boutique hotel. The bar and dining experience at Rock House warrant special and distinct mention offering fine dining under the stars on the pool patio, at our select Chef's Table or on the Terrace overlooking the bay - you can be assured of the perfect cocktail, a superb wine list and delectable menu choices, all served by an attentive yet unobtrusive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Rock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock House Hotel Harbour Island
Rock Hotel Harbor Island
Rock House Harbour Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing