We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Honeymoon”
Review of Rock House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rock House
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I decided that Harbour Island was the perfect destination for our honeymoon, and boy were we right! We booked our room at The Rock House based on all of the wonderful reviews here, and we could not have been more pleased. We stayed in the Nautilus Room, which was wonderful. One of the neatest touches of the hotel is the attention to detail they take in making sure you really don't have to worry about anything. Every room has its own cooler that you can take to the beach with you, along with beach bags with towels, water, and snorkel gear. There are more than enough chaise lounges and cabanas around the pool and there was never a crowd. We truly felt like the only people in the hotel at times and loved that. We had dinner there twice during the week and it was outstanding. Do not miss an opportunity to try their Goombay Smash...trust me, we sampled most offerings on the island and the Rock House's is the BEST! We really can't wait to return to see Flo, Don, Rock, Kato, and all of the wonderful folks here!

Room Tip: We chose the Nautilus Room and it was perfect. It was suggested to us as it is on the Garden Side aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cather84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eli K, General Manager at Rock House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Thank you for celebrating your Honeymoon with us at Rock House. We are delighted you truly enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to your next visit. Not to worry we will have some Frozen Goombay Smash drinks ready for you to enjoy.

Thank you,

From all of us at Rock House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

While we were holidaying in Florida, we were treated by our son to a visit to Rock House in the Bahamas. As a regular visitor to Harbour Island, he said a stay at Rock House was essential. We were not disappointed, our room was exceedingly comfortable and the housekeeping was excellent. It is a boutique hotel that gives a five star service to all the guests. The owner, Don and his staff contrive to ensure that nothing is to much trouble. Our short visit was rounded off by the most memorable dinner served on the verandah overlooking the bay. A wonderful finale to a memorable trip to a jewel of an island..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsaldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eli K, General Manager at Rock House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Rock House! We are happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves and took the time to share your experience. We hope you visit us again as well.

Thank you,

From all of us at Rock House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I fell in love with Harbour Island. What a lovely place. We had a wonderful stay at the Rock House. The staff was all very nice, sweet and professional. Our suite was very nicely appointed and in perfect condition. I feel the hotel is very well located in the center of town, so close to the harbor and the marina and where a lot of the most interesting restaurants are located. The beach is a 7 minutes walk or 4 minutes golf cart ride (everybody rents one). The food was very good at the Rock House and the restaurant is rated very high on the Island. We also had a very nice dinner at the Dunmore, the landing and Valentine's; I don't forget Queen Conch and Sip Sip were we had nice lunch. So foodies will be happy on the Island where everything is so close. I highly recommend the Rock House and will be back hopefully in a near future. My last comment will be for the pink sand beach; actually no comment as it is speechless beautiful and I am posting a picture of it and I swear it was not photoshopped.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talamenthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eli K, General Manager at Rock House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Rock House and your "Lovely" review. We look forward to your next visit hopefully sometime soon.

Thank you,

From all of us at Rock House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this divine little gem of a hotel! The most special part being the people who take care of you there. What a wonderful group of folks who completely understand why you are there. To forget about where you came from and enjoy! The atmosphere is relaxed and super friendly. You need something? They will organize it. The food is beyond yummy! Eat here even if you don't stay here! Other small hotels could take lessons from Don, Eric and all the staff on how to do it right! We will be back. Count on it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We just spent five fabulous days at Rock House at the end of March 2012 and have to share that the entire Rock House experience exceeded our expectations. Outstanding, customer service-oriented staff that treated us like royalty. Don and Eric have thought of just about everything one would need for a relaxing, romantic carribean escape including an air conditioned & well-equiped gym facility, day at the beach care-package, and a continental breakfast worth getting up early to enjoy. We were thrilled to find out that Rock House restaurant is the best on the island. Arugala salads, grilled octopus and keylime pie were all to "die for". Can't wait to return for another visit!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beachhouseowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

If you are looking for the experience of a tastefully designed, incredibly well managed small hotel that truly makes you feel like you are a special guest, this is your place. Don and the staff understand that attention to detail in all things is what makes any experience top notch. The food is the best on the island, the rooms (especially Commodore) are lovely and the views to the harbour and sunset - perfect. Located in the heart of town its an easy walk to most things, or ask for a golf cart rental. The beach is short jaunt away with dedicated chairs and umbrellas and happily located right under Sip Sip, one of the island's best lunch hot spots. Harbour Island exudes laid back charm and the Rock House understand and channels that vibe perfectly.
Having one day down with a bug the staff treated me like family with many kind gestures.
It rightly belongs on all the "Best" list which it frequently appears. Many thanks!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmersky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric F, Owner at Rock House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for the positive review. Your feedback is shared with our employees. We all appreciate every-time our guest recognize our work. It was great meeting you and we will be seeing you very soon.
Don Purdy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Rock House for a week last March for our honeymoon (sorry for the late review). We cannot say enough about Eric, Don and the entire team at the Rock House. From the moment we arrived, we felt like we were "home". The team really makes you feel part of the family. We stayed in the Pineapple room and it was amazingly beautiful. We enjoyed having our coffee/breakfast out on the balcony and looking out at the water. It was so peaceful and relaxing.

Our entire dining experience at the Rock House (dinner on our first night and our last night) was amazing. After dinner, we enjoyed hitting the town, whether going for a walk on the beach, or going to Gusty's for a drink.

So many things to do. We loved driving around the island in our golf cart and sightseeing and then coming back and taking a dip in the pool or just chilling in a cabana.

Truly magical place!!! Thank you to the entire Rock House team for making our honeymoon so special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JandCMcBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric F, General Manager at Rock House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Jason and Claudine,

Thank you for your review. Its nice to hear that year later you still have wonderful memories from your vacation/honeymoon. I am glad to hear your Honeymoon was perfect.

Looking forward to see you back at the Rock.

Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.2 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 9 in Harbour Island
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#4 of 9 in Harbour Island
367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
91.6 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.4 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
309 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House

Address: Corner of Hill and Bay Street, EL-27234, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range: £233 - £604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rock House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock House is a luxury 10 room boutique hotel on Harbour Island, Bahamas. Our fine dining restaurant has one of the best sunset views of the bay. Personal service and unmatched attention to every detail.Rock House has been a vibrant and colourful feature of the Harbour Island landscape since the early 1940's. Originally a private home, then a Bed and Breakfast and for many years a rental property, Rock House today has evolved to become the standard for elegance, island sophistication and superior service. Fodor's Choice, Condé Nast, Travel & Leisure and Tripadvisor award winner.In July 2002, Rock House caught the interest of the well-known South Florida builder J. Wallace Tutt III. Tutt and business partner Don Purdy, who had already created the successful Hotel Impala in South Beach and worked on commissions for Cher and the late Gianni Versace, had a vision of transforming the property into a luxury boutique hotel. The bar and dining experience at Rock House warrant special and distinct mention offering fine dining under the stars on the pool patio, at our select Chef's Table or on the Terrace overlooking the bay - you can be assured of the perfect cocktail, a superb wine list and delectable menu choices, all served by an attentive yet unobtrusive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock House Hotel Harbour Island
Rock Hotel Harbor Island
Rock House Harbour Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing