We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The doors are open but we aren't ready to serve.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Valentines Resort and Marina
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We came for an overnight visit to Harbour Island, and we were surprised that this fine hotel could be so unprepared.
At check in we were told our villa was ready, although we were checking in early and had not expected it to be. They told us it would be just a few minutes for housekeeping to look over the room and then we could go unload our luggage. After 20 minutes, we were still waiting, so we asked about how much more time we could expect to wait. The front desk clerk stated "check in isn't til 3". We asked if we could just check our bags and head out to lunch. Fine
When we returned the bags were in the room. Perfect
Here are a list of problems, the tub didn't drain, clogged with a huge hair ball, the shower had no pressure, the cable tv would not work, the draw in the kitchen was partially installed, the cabinet door over the microwave is de laminating,WiFi was spotty at best,you could stay connected even if you didn't move, mold around the air ducts, dirty fingerprints on the bathroom doors, 2 of the 3 key cards did not work, although this hotel offered a breakfast menu, when we arrived to have breakfast were were told they weren't open.
Very disappointing for an expensive hotel to claim they are a full service resort, but not meet the minimal needs.
I took pictures

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Unreal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Valentines Resort and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for your comments. This past year Valentines has spent over $100,000 in upgrading our reverse osmosis pure water plant to include three new water distribution pumps which now provide redundancy and excellent pressure in every shower. Recent Wi-Fi upgrades include going from 150 to 450 IP addresses and all new fiber optic cable to both guest rooms and marina slips. Wi-Fi reception is now excellent and blazing fast throughout the resort.

Please note in addition to our committed housekeeping staff we have a dedicated deep cleaning team that is assigned exclusively to address issues that do come up in the hotels Villas and Townhomes. Our Villas are on par with the best hotel rooms in the Bahamas. Cable Bahamas provides our TV signal and from time to time Eleuthera and Harbour Island experience island wide outages; we have no control over this issue. Breakfast is not offered August through Decembers and this is stated in our in room guide and on the website.

Please understand that we take every review seriously and our team members try to ensure that guests never leave the hotel unhappy. If you again stay with us please see our GM with your concerns as we want you to enjoy the best possible experience. If you wish to discuss your stay in further detail feel free to contact us directly. Our goal is to exceed your expectations, please give us the opportunity to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I spent two weeks in August at the Valentine's Resort Marina. Most of the restaurants were still open and I enjoyed two days of lobster diving with the owner of the "Queen Conch" restaurant, Richard. The accommodations at Valentines were superb, very well-kept apartments and grounds. Service was excellent. We especially enjoyed golf-carting to Pink Sand Beach, two and a half miles of one of the most spectacular beaches in the world. August was hot and humid, but the pool at Valentines kept us refreshed.

Room Tip: Our condo was perfectly located facing south overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Valentines Resort and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

We are truly delighted to know that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and your lobster diving adventure. We will share your kind words with Richard and the rest of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for three nights in early October 2013. We flew to Northern Eleuthera from Nassau and caught the water taxi to Dunmore town. I think we were possibly the only guests in Valentine's at this time. The island was extremely quiet and most shops and restaurants were closed. We loved it as we had just left a busy visit ti New York City and Washington D C. The staff were very helpful and courteous and willing to assist in any way. Our room was spacious with a wonderful view. We used the little kitchen to make breakfast and had our evening meals in the hotel restaurant. The food was good but the menu a little limited especially for a longer stay than ours.
We loved the pink Sand beach and used the Valentine's beach loungers available on the beach. It was wonderful to observe a school of whales progressing past as we sat on this beautiful beach.
The Valentines pool is really clean and again we had it to ourselves. We enjoyed our pre breakfast swim each morning.
We feel that we had a really authentic experience on this idyllic island and can't wait to go back at a slightly busier time of the year. We will certainly stay at Valentine's again.

Room Tip: A view of the pool and marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgreilly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Valentines Resort and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you and your wife had such a pleasant vacation and enjoyed your room and the local beaches. The restaurants do offer daily specials when the resort is a little busier (as you noted, this is our quiet time of year), so we hope we get to show off even more for you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Nice resort but Harbour Island is 90% closed in off season (August - November 21). If you want quiet relaxation with nobody around, visit at this time and Valentines is the spot. If you want action and expect to hangout at the popular hauts, visit during season when they are open. Valentines is a beautiful property with good food but pricey drinks.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JupiterJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Valentines Resort and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Valentines Resort, even during our ‘quiet’ season. We hope you visit us again and can experience the lively side of Harbour Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our family recently spent three nights at Valentines Resort in Harbour Island. We had a wonderful time from beginning to end. The resort grounds are beautifully kept, our unit offered great accommodations and the staff was very cordial and helpful. In particular, I have to mention Kurt. Kurt is a superstar! I don't know how he does it, but every time we had a question Kurt was there to provide the answer. He wears many hats and goes above and beyond to make the guests feel welcome. My husband wanted to take my son and my daughter's boyfriend fishing and Kurt recommended the perfect captain, arranged for the chef at The Boat House to cook all the fish that they caught, and personally served us the meal which was the BEST we had at Harbour Island. The Valentines Resort is wonderful, but Kurt makes it just amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VCORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Valentines Resort and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and your fishing adventure. We will share your kind words with Kurt and the rest of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had been warned that Valnetine's restaurant and bar had nice views but we should avoid the food. We were getting quite hungry and tired and we stopped at Valentine's and decided to risk it for lunch. The lunch turned out to be pretty good and the service was good as well. The prices were reasonable (meaning a bit high) for Harbour Island. I would try them again - it was not nearly as bad as we had been led to believe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Valentines Resort and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to The Boat House and sharing your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunch experience and we look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were there for a friend's beach destination wedding and rented a one bedroom/studio
"condo" at this dive and harbor resort for a week. The room was comfortable
and clean with a mini-kitchen and a small balcony overlooking the pool with a
partial view of the harbor. The bed was comfortable and housekeeping was good
during our stay. The pool was very pleasant- warm, but nice. This hotel is on the
harbour side of the island, and convenient to shops and restaurants. You will want to
rent a golf cart to get around the island- drive to the beach, etc. The front desk can
arrange this for you, or you can contact Dunmore Rentals, or other companies on the island.
This is definitely worth it!! The bar and the restaurant are good- service and food good.
For the best conch salad and conch chowder go down Bay Street to the Queen Conch shack.
This looks rather unlikely- but it is the BEST! You will have to wait about 20 minutes for the salad... we had the medium spicy, and it was delicious. Best on the island, and the conch chowder is perfect!! We had to get up early for a water taxi and asked for a wake up call
that never came.... so, be sure to bring an alarm clock!!

Room Tip: Second floor units would have a better view of the harbour, but all are quiet, thanks to the heavy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acekingqueenjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Valentines Resort and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Valentines Resort. You shared a lot of great tips for fellow readers too. We apologize about the wake-up call – we will definitely look into that! Thank you for your kind review and we hope you will stay with us on a future trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.5 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 9 in Harbour Island
433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#4 of 9 in Harbour Island
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
55 reviews
91.1 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentines Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentines Resort and Marina

Address: Box One | North Eleuthera, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range: £311 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valentines Resort and Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valentines Resort & Marina is a top luxury resort on Harbour Island, North Eleuthera, Bahamas. On an incomparable setting for boat enthusiasts, yacht owners, and families with flair for ocean life and pink sand! The resort boasts 39 ultra-luxury suites and 50 boat slips in our world class marina. Each suite is equipped with WiFi and cable television, modern kitchen appliances, with large balconies overlooking the pool, gardens and marina. With colorful clapboard-sided walls, white trim and shuttered dormer windows, they provide a unique vacation experience. F&B venues include the Boathouse Restaurant, Rooster Tail Bar and Cocoa Coffee House. Stay fit in our new state of the art fitness center and indulge at our on-site Dermalogica Skin Center and Spa. The Valentines Dive Center is the leading PADI dive resort facility in the area. New beach boardwalk, executive conference room and pool bar opened in early 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Valentines Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentines Resort And Marina Hotel Harbour Island
Valentines Hotel And Marina
Valentines Resort And Marina Harbour Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing