We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stella Maris”

Moonshine Bar and Grill
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Long Island
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Caribbean
Description: Wander down to the Ocean Pool at Stella Maris Resort and you'll find something new. The Moonshine Bar and Grill opened just before the end of the year, 2007. You can enjoy your favorite tropical beverage or a light meal with a pool view to the west and the Atlantic Ocean to the east. Stroll down the board walk to a pretty beach cove, cool off in the 'Ocean Lagoon', and rest in the shade of thatch beach cabanas. Hope to see you here soon!
Restaurant details
Description: Wander down to the Ocean Pool at Stella Maris Resort and you'll find something new. The Moonshine Bar and Grill opened just before the end of the year, 2007. You can enjoy your favorite tropical beverage or a light meal with a pool view to the west and the Atlantic Ocean to the east. Stroll down the board walk to a pretty beach cove, cool off in the 'Ocean Lagoon', and rest in the shade of thatch beach cabanas. Hope to see you here soon!
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stella Maris”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Moonshine Bar and Grill was a great place to enjoy a Kalik and a warm sandwich each day!
Even the owner waited on us!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank industrialtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, Kent
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Food is a bit pricey, but the facilities make it 5*”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Stella Maris resort is a little bit of civilisation on Long Island. We initially visited the resort to use their gym (the only one on the island, although not in the best of shape - pardon the pun). The bar has an amazing view of the ocean, and their beach is stunning.

Firstly the food is quite pricey compared to other places on the island. If I would have received the food I did here anywhere else in the world, I would have been quite happy, but on Long Island I would say I had other places which I preferred. I've tried to word that as best I could not to make it sound like it wasn't any good, it was just that there was better & cheaper food elsewhere. If you check Tripadvisor's restaurants on Long Island you'll see that none of the restaurants are bad. I don't think you can afford to be, in such a small place.

The thing that made us go back several times and eat was that you got to use facilities that you wouldn't get elsewhere - gym, swimming pool, hammocks, bathrooms, pool/table football.

Wi-fi is only available to hotel guests, even if you are paying for food or drinks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stormcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We love Stella Maris! We love Sue at the Moonshine Bar and Grill! Such a beautiful resort...beautiful people...wonderful food and drinks! It is a must to visit if you are on Long Island.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monett, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and drinks. Great view!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Sue at the Moonshine bar is vibrant and fun. You can eat while you listen to the pounding surf and the wind rustling the palm trees.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brady H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little bar on the beach!”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Awesome drinks and excellent staff! Pretty view of the ocean and sits right on the beach. Take a dip in the ocean wading pool and have a rum punch afterwards!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shedarave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moonshine Bar and Grill also viewed

Long Island, Out Islands
Deadman's Cay, Long Island
 
Long Island, Out Islands
 

Been to Moonshine Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing