We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AV Gas and tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AV Gas and tranquility”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

On the way to Haiti Stella Maris makes a great aviation fuel stop. Decided to spend the night on the way back the island looked so beautiful on the way down. So glad I did will make Cape Santa Maria it's own destination in the future. The cottage was wonderful, the beach picture perfect...coming from someone who grew up in Hawaii-Oahu. Really enjoyed the restaurant, and more importantly the staff and couple that manage the resort were present and personally involved in making sure you had everything to make you comfortable. It's one of those places that's hard to believe exists.

Room Tip: Beach front cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PappyBoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookCSM, General Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear PappyBoynton,

Greetings from Paradise! Thank you for the kind review. We are glad you had a chance to stop at Cape Santa Maria on your way to Haiti. Cape Santa Maria is a fun destination for pilots. In fact, over 35% of our guests fly their own plane to Stella Maris Air port, only minutes from Cape Santa Maria. As you say, Stella Maris has AV gas and it is a Port of Entry. We look forward to seeing you once again. Perhaps you should join one of our fly-in groups in early November!

Brook Castelsky,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    102
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
187
321
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

If you want to completely unwind, no question, go directly to Cape Santa Maria. The beach can not be beat, the new villas are spectacular and best of all, there are no crowds. It is a great place for families, or couples, or for that matter, even on your own. We have been going to the Cape for 10 years now, and each time we go, we always say, we have to come back sooner next time!!

Room Tip: They are all directly on the beach, but the new villas are worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lllllll99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookCSM, General Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear IIIIIII99,

Greetings from Paradise! Thank you for the great review. We agree, the villas are worth it. They are well laid out, private and execellent for a couple or family. I personaly love the view from the villas on the second floor, however many guests prefer to be on the lower level where they can walk straight to the beach. We look forward to seeing you for an eleventh year, and yes, come back sooner!

All the best,
Brook Castelsky
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Beautiful, relaxing. Words can hardly express what a wonderful time we had. Our family, which includes 3, 17-24 year old daughters, had an incredible experience. This was our first trip but will not be our last. The service was beyond compare, and the noticeable lack of people made it our own island paradise. wow!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookCSM, General Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Anna L,

Thank you for the kind review. I especially appreciate your comments regarding the service as this is a huge compliment to our wonderful staff. Take care and we hope to see you next year.

Brook Castelsky
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We were at Cape Santa Maria the first week of December. If you are lookign for relaxation and tranquility in a beautiful setting, this is it. Sit in a cabana on their perfect beach and gaze at the turquoise water, or explore the neighborhood in one of their kayaks. Not good for them, but during our visit there were only 18 guests in the entire resort, so we had the place to ourselves.

The only warning is that the location is a little isolated, so you'll probably spend most or all of your time at the resort. We were there 3 days, which was perfect. A week would be too long for someone who needs activity and things to see.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This was our 6th visit in 8 years to CSM and I really feel we love it a little more every time. From the minute we land on the island everything is just peaceful and we know we'll have a great time.

The front desk staff (hi everyone!) is fantastic and very helpful not only in setting up excursions or other activities but being a great resource for any information you may need.

Brook & Ewa are fabulous managers - it's always a pleasure to catch up with them!

The restaurant - while a limited selection in meals, has huge portions and the food is always wonderful. We recommend the meal plan to help control costs but if you have a smaller appetite then go a la carte. Our personal favorite is the grouper fingers! And if you happen to see Maxine in the restaurant, please give her a giant hug from us. She knew our girls drink orders, how they liked their salads - she was such a huge part of what made our trip so fabulous.

Accommodations - we are a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 children ages 6 & 8) and we always stay in the bungalows. This works really well for us because after all, we are on the beach most of the day and the covered porch works well when we want to get out of the heat or in the event of a brief rain shower. The bungalows are roomy but not huge and comfortable with plenty of toiletries.

The beach - ah the beach! Definitely the most amazing we've ever seen and consistent with everyone else's reviews. Perfect powder white sand and turquoise water which is almost always calm and clear. We love walking over to the cove and exploring what sea life we find (usually we see at least 1-2 stingrays).

It's always sad leaving because it is everything our family needs when we get away - we reconnect with each other, we relax and we have a great time. It's so wonderfully secluded that it forces you to relax - something we definitely need.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotgirlNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We are currently planning our third trip back to Cape Santa Maria, because it simply cannot be beat! We are beach people, and have taken many beach trips over the years. Normally, our policy is, "why go back someplace again when there are so many new places to see?" But our first trip to Cape Santa Maria sealed the deal- there is no better place in the world, and no better resort to stay at while you enjoy it! The staff are all so friendly, the accommodations are wonderful, and the food is delicious. There are great activities to do if you can get tear yourself away from the beach-- the resort has snorkeling opportunities, or deep sea fishing, or tours of local islands. The beach is the most pristine one I have ever seen, equalled only by the perfect blue of the ocean. And the best part is that there aren't a million people there enjoying the beach with you. You can actually appreciate this perfect place in peace. It truly is a flawless paradise that you get ever opportunity to enjoy. I can't wait to go back again-- our next stay at Cape Santa Maria can't come soon enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond British Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

In May 2012 we spent 5 nights in one of the duplex cottages, securing the exact unit that we had wanted (based on looking at the property layout). Each side of the duplex cottages has its own covered, screened porch, with ceiling fan, roomy table, and comfortable chairs: a cool retreat during the day and a very pleasant place to wind down in the evening. The structure of the duplexes prevents any sound transfer through the adjoining wall and the duplexes are well-spaced one from the other. Louvred windows and a quiet ceiling fan allow a flow of fresh, cooling air throughout. The stone tile floors add to indoor comfort. The long curve of beach is only a few strides from the door of each unit; the sand is startlingly white and as fine as chalk! The ocean is truly Caribbean blue; the water deepens gradually from the shoreline. A boardwalk just above the beach spans the property from the farthest villa at one end to the most distant duplex at the other. Many platforms of cabana-shaded pairs of beach recliners are strategically placed along the top of the sand. The office, bar and restaurant are found at the hub of the property. If you want to do virtually nothing, Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is the perfect destination: only free kayaks on site and assorted off-site excursions to choose from--or not, depending upon how much nothing you want to do. When we were vacationing here, the overall environment was incredibly peaceful. No doubt during traditional vacation times of year, the vibe is up-tempo. With careful choice of dates, you can be surrounded by fellow vacationers or not, as preferred. This resort is obviously well-known in Western Europe, from where the majority of the guests had come when we were there, including several honeymooning couples. A board in the office lists excursions under which you can add your name in the hope that other guests will do the same and thereby ensure that the trip takes place and also reduces the individual cost. Exploring part of the island on a half-day guided drive by a knowledgeable island resident was our first excursion. Some guests already familiar with the island might rent a car to drive to their favourite destinations. Omar picked us up right after breakfast and drove us past and to many points of interest, including Dean's Blue Hole--a must-see, being the deepest one in the world. At lunch time, having pre-ordered from the resort, we stopped at a particular roadside cafe/bar that was serving typical Caribbean dishes, which were generous and delicious! Long Island was looking very dry in mid-May because apparently expected rains had not been as reliable as usual, but this did not alter our enjoyment of the drive. Another day we boarded the resort boat and headed 'way out to sea to a distant cay to meet the unique indigenous iguanas. The ones that greeted us weren't shy, but weren't aggressive, either. They obviously had been expecting treats, which we had failed to bring along, so they reverted to their usual routine of scuffling for the best places to warm themselves in the sun. The skipper gave us lots of time to roam the sandy beaches ringing the island. The oceanfront bar at the resort is a popular place to end a day. Watch out for the subtle but powerful presence of over-proof rum in the punches! Conch fritter appies are just the thing to whet appetites for dinner. Meals are served on the second storey of the central building, where open shutters allow breezes freedom to circulate among lazy ceiling fans, keeping everyone comfortable on even the hottest day, but never chilled, such as air conditioning would do. Meals are available a la carte or by various plans. Prices reflect the cost of delivering food to Long Island, which is in the south Bahamas, and the fact that the island is no longer growing much of its own food, as land owners formerly did, encouraged by the rich, well-watered soil that enabled them to raise sheep and grow a large variety of fruit and vegetables. This information (from the taxi driver who brought us to the resort from the airport) certainly explained why there was no daily fresh sheet nor a Red Seal chef in the kitchen, as one of us had been anticipating. The menu was straightforward and honest, the items being as described. None of the meals disappointed, and there was enough variety to cover our five days without much need for repetition--except for those we liked best! Tending to sleep in when on vacation, we had chosen the breakfast and dinner plan, which filled us at each meal with no room to spare. We recommend that people who are not big eaters opt for eating a la carte at each meal (as one of us will do next time), an economical route for smaller appetites or digestive issues. The staff in the office, in the restaurant,and on the grounds are from the various villages on Long Island. They are friendly, efficient, and always helpful. This was our first visit to Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort, where for many years we had longed to spend time. It was worth the wait, and we know that we'll return. Living on the west coast of Canada, we will fly via either Calgary or Toronto directly to Nassau to save a lot of time and avoid U.S. Customs hassle. This advice came from Ewa, who with her husband, Brook, were managing the resort when we were there and are also Canadian west coasters. We thought we would save money by flying out of Seattle, but with overnight accommodation and a couple of meals, we didn't save enough to warrant the excessive layover times in Seattle, Atlanta and Nassau and the Customs lineup each way. Lastly, some months later we were talking to a man who has retired to a certain popular, three-letter Bahamian island where there are several resorts. He enthusiastically endorsed a couple of these, claiming that they were top-rated. The minute we got to a computer, we looked them over and despite the hype, were not seduced by either one; certainly, the design of our duplex half appeared to be much better than any similar offerings elsewhere. As far as we are concerned, nowhere in the Bahamas can replace Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort as a destination for us!

Room Tip: We would avoid the duplex unit to the immediate left of the central building (facing the property fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catwhowalksbyherself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookCSM, General Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear Catwhowalksbyherself,

Greetings from Paradise! Thank you very much for the detailed and glowing review. It is because reviews such as this, the 2012 Tripadvisor Traveller's Choice Awards rated Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort #1 in the Bahamas and #5 in all the Caribbean.

In addition to our kayaks, we also have bicycles, two Hobie Cats, plenty of beach toys for the kids, snorkel gear, fishing rods and we are anticipating the arrival of our new paddle boards! I can't think of a better place to to use a paddle board. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the food and beverage, and I agree that we have wonderful and hospitable staff. We look forward to seeing you next year. If you have not already, please search our webpage to sign up for our new Loyalty Club.

Cheers,
Brook Castelsky
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
44.4 mi away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
6.4 mi away
Stella Maris Resort Club
Stella Maris Resort Club
#2 of 5 in Long Island
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.5 mi away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor Breeze Villas
Harbor Breeze Villas
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#4 of 23 in Andros
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas

Property: Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
Address: Galliot Cay, Long Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Untouched... Undiscovered... Barefoot elegance in a Caribbean paradise. Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is unlike any place you have ever experienced. Mile after mile of silky-fine sandy beach melts into the warm turquoise water. With twenty bungalows and a handful of villas steps from the most beautiful beach in the Bahamas, an escape to Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Long Island
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort And Villas
Cape Santa Maria Beach Hotel
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas Long Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing