We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Lumina Point Resort & Spa(Stocking Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
St Francis Resort(Stocking Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Club Peace & Plenty(George Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Island Time Villas(George Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Exuma Palms Hotel(Great Exuma)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveller rating
564
113
18
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
564
113
18
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeal planbeautiful beachreef fishingscreened in porchsouthern airconch bardean's blue holerented a carsandy caystella marisconch fritterscolumbus monumentbug spraypaddle boardsbreakfast and dinnerhobie catprivate plane
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 706 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We visited Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort on the last day of our vacation in Long Island, and I'm sad we didn't discover it sooner. The beach was amazing, the food was delicious and the resort is clean, quiet and secluded. We spent the day enjoying the sunshine and water, had one of the best meals on Long Island at the restuarant (try the Lobster Salad and the Ahi Tuna - so good!) and then took advantage of the resort's happy hour and took in the last sunset of our trip.

Although we didn't have the opportunity to stay here, the day we spent at Cape Santa Maria was wonderful, and I would recommend at least stopping here for a meal, drinks or the beach during your trip to Long Island.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookCSM, General Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Dear Melissa1213,

Greetings from Paradise! Thank you so much for your kind review. I am happy to hear that you discovered the Cape and enjoyed a golden Cape sunset. Did you see the green flash? Thank you very much for commenting on a couple of our salads. We look forward to seeing you once again.

All the best,

Brook Castelsky
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We just got back from a week at Cape Santa Maria and are already planning our trip back! What a delightful spot. From the idyllic location to the attentive staff, this lovely resort is a wonderful place to relax and get away from it all. You can choose to do nothing (sit on the beach and read while sipping a delicious cocktail) or to be active (fish, snorkel, kayak). The staff is very helpful. The bungalows are very comfortable and the screened in porches are perfect for sipping morning coffee. The beach is long and white and soft. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ubt1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookCSM, General Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear ubt1234,

Greetings from Paradise!

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a glowing review. We are happy to hear of your stay at Cape Santa Maria and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Brook Castelsky
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We spent 11 great days at CSM in February. The weather was perfect, the beach is gorgeous, the water is an astounding turquoise. CSM is a group of 10 "bungalows," which are small buildings with two one-bedroom rooms. They are pretty basic but roomy and each one comes with a wonderful screened-in porch. (We had no bug problems.) Some units have a side room with two twin beds, which would be great for couples with small kids. There is another, more upscale option, which CSM calls "villas." There are five of these buildings and each had four, 2-bedroom units. These are luxuious compared to the bungalows. Regardless where you stay everyone walks the same beach (did I mention it is gorgeous!) and eats meals in the same place. The food is good, with plenty of choices, and the service is super friendly. Most everything happens in this main building -- the restaurant, bar and the front desk as well as a TV room and a tiny "fitness center." The women who staff the front desk are exceptional. I forgot something I needed and they helped me get it delivered from Nassau. A very nice couple, Brook & Ewa, are the managers with their deputy, Neil. They make running a resort look easy. Plenty of water sports -- a Hobbie, paddleboards, kayaks, and CSM has boats for chartered fishing and snorkeling excursions. Bert runs these and if there is a happier person on this earth I'll be surprised. Bert's on-land counterpart is Omar -- a jack of all trades there (both rented a car from him and got a massage from him!) To sum up, if you are looking for a beautiful, friendly place to relax CSM is for you.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BarbKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookCSM, General Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Dear BarbKnowles,

Thank you for the kind review. 11 days is a perfect length of stay to experience Cape Santa Maria and all of Long Island and it seems you took full advantage. I was happy to hear that our ladies on the front desk were able to assist in having that item delievered to Long Island for you. Thank you for the warm comments regarding the friendliness of our staff food quality.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Brook Castelsky
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We spent 3 nights/4 days at Cape Santa Maria during the last week of January and it was a totally positive experience.

Wow #1 - The Beach.
We have traveled all over the world and this is the prettiest beach we have ever seen. A couple of miles of sparkling white/pink sand, beautiful clear turquoise water and palm trees make for a combination you never get tired of looking at. Great sunsets. Because CSM lies on the Caribbean side of Long Island, it is sheltered from the trade winds that are usually blowing so it is great for sailing or using the kayaks provided by the resort. The water off the beach is like swimming in a giant salt water pool...smooth clean sand on the bottom with no debris. Be advised that adults may have to walk out a ways to get depth for real swimming but is perfect for children.

Wow # 2 - The Rooms
We stayed in one of the beachfront bungalows and it was PERFECT. A lovely taste of the Bahamas with pastel colours, pickled pine ceilings and ceiling fans in every room. No TV, phone or internet [ internet in lobby].Exceptionaly clean and nicely decorated. Bedroom with 2 queen beds [ only a few cottages have Kings], nice sheets, towels etc.. Bathroom with sink and vanity, toilet and tub/shower in adjoining room.Bathroom is not "spa quality" but more than adequate and very clean. If you want more than this, book one of the villas with designer kitchens, soaking tubs, TV, internet etc.. Our favorite feature was a huge screened porch which functioned as an outdoor living room facing the ocean and connected to the bedroom by 2 sets of double louvered doors. Four rattan chairs with comfy cushions, coffee table with overhead light and ceiling fan.....no plastic chairs here! We drank the water straight from the tap and it tasted great and no GI problems either.

The Rest
The food was not up to "wow" standard but it was fine. The breakfasts were really good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had an in-room massage offered through the hotel and it was one of the best we have ever had and have had many. Ask for Fifi and Cipriana . We rented a car and drove most of the island to get a feel for the area. Very friendly. Almost every car you meet will wave at you, including the Police! Stopped for lunch at Max's Conch Bar..a little tiki hut by the side of the road...and he made fresh conch salad while we watched. We flew from Exuma to Long Island with Marty Fox/Island Wings and would high recommend his service.Very professional 1/2 hour flight in 6 seat plane.Long Island is quiet, neat and tidy and if you are looking for a true island get-away Cape Santa Maria is the perfect place to do it.

Room Tip: All rooms face ocean and have screened porches. 1-4 are at the farther end of the beach and more private.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bluenose Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookCSM, General Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Dear Bluenose Two,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a kind and detailed review. Flying through Georgetown, Exuma is a great option that many people take advantage of. American Airlines offers connecting flights through Miami and United Airlines offers flights connecting through Ft. Lauderdale into Georgetown. In addition, there is a new direct flight from Toronto on both Saturday and Sunday with Air Canada! Once landing in Exuma, collecting your luggage and clearing Customs is a quick process. Your charter operator will be standing-by, ready for your scenic 15 min flight to Stella Maris Airport, just minutes from Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort. We highly recommend Island Wings as Mr. Fox operates a very professional service.

Thank you once again for the glowing review and we look forward to seeing you once again.

Brook Castelsky
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We did our research before we arrived so we already knew many of the places we wanted to explore on our own (not as a tour) and the staff worked with us to make it happen. Depending on your energy and fitness level there are many options. We chose to take advantage of the free use of bikes and spent several days exploring/ snorkeling/ shelling and collecting sea glass on our own. We also teamed up with another couple staying at CSM and shared a day renting a car and traveling to the blue hole and eating at Max's among our stops.

The BEACH-as advertised it breath taking and well cared for...we saw them rake it free of seaweed each morning at dawn. Never a piece of trash in sight.

The FOOD- we stayed a week and loved every meal! We picked the breakfast /dinner option and were stuffed by the large portions. Most dinners were more then I could eat in one sitting and they were willing to wrap up my leftovers and reheat them for me the next day for lunch. I did this most days and still gained 3 pounds! While the food was delicious by the end of the week I would have welcomed a few more options.

PICNIC LUNCH-We did take advantage of the picnic lunch one day when we planned a long bike adventure and it was perfect. Two sandwiches /two drinks/two large slices of banana bread/ fruit and a chocolate bar. They packed it in a cooler (with napkins and ice) and it fit perfectly in the front of the basket on the bike. The entire lunch was less then $20 and well worth it!

The BAR and Food STAFF- were outgoing and extremely accommodating while still professional once we encouraged conversation. We felt like we were leaving friends by the end of the week. Especially Maxine and Neil.

The DESK STAFF- very polite, I think they don't want to seem intrusive...but we found them to be very warm and friendly once we initiated conversation. They greeted us with smiles each morning and asked what they could do to help us with our many excursions.

The SNORKELING -there is not a lot to see right off the beach...just beautiful sand and a few shells. But if you go to the south end of the beach ( a very long walk or 10 minute bike ride or 20 minute paddle by kayak) the underwater sea life is plentiful and free. We saw beautiful purple sea fans and bright colored fish just feet from the shore where the sand ends and Rocky Point .

We did a few CSM sponsored day trips but equally enjoyed exploring on our own with the direction and advise from people who live local or repeat vacationers.

Room Tip: # 14 or 15 bungalow both have full glass front sliders that allow you a beautiful view of the water 24/7. #14 has a king size bed. The screened in porch was perfect and allowed us to leave the glass doors to our bedroom open to hear the ocean all night and never worry about bugs. If you do get this bungalow you need to make sure to be dressed when the lights are on and the curtains open or you will give fellow vacationers who happen to walk past your room quite an eyeful!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookCSM, General Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Dear Beth B,

Greetings from Paradise!

Thank you for the detailed and glowing review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was great to meet you and your husband in January and wonderful to see you both being so active and adventurous. We hope to see you next year with your kids!

All the best!

Brook and Ewa Castelsky
Resort Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews