We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beach holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing beach holiday!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The staff was friendly, the beach and location was amazing. The bungalow was clean and right on the beach, and since we went in low season we had the beach to our self a couple of days. We went in middle of June and had sun every day for almost a week, only a bit rain in the night.
As you can read in the other reviews the food is not very good. With that I mean the fish was very dry and over cooked every time, the steak was ordered medium rare but came out well done and dry. The breakfast was alright, the lunch was also okay they had an amazing lobster salad that everyone should try. The problem is that the food is quite expensive compared to the main land, I do not mind paying extra as long is the food is good, but not when its below average. I would recommend the resort to friends and family because it is a nice place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gun0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brook C, Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Gun0,

It was great to meet you and your husband and I enjoyed chatting with you about your travels all over the world!

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay; we agree that we have a special place here.

I am concerned about your comments regarding the food. I remember personally quality checking some of your meals and your response was that the food was good. We endeavor to make sure our guests enjoy their stay and dining is a large part of this. If indeed you were not enjoying a meal, we would have gladly had it remade.

We receive a lot of great feedback regarding the quality of food. In fact, 12 of the last 13 reviews say the food is either “very good” or “excellent” with many commenting on their favorite items. One of our guests from Riner, Virginia says, “…we found the food to be very good, with a nice mix of western and Bahamian cuisine.” Another guest from Illinois says, “We were never bored with the fare. Anything you could possibly want for breakfast including omelets, eggs benedict etc. Three huge courses for dinner. You can have shrimp cocktail, followed by lobster tail every night if that's how you roll. All I'll say is, ‘Don't pass up the apple fritters! They're to die for.’” As part of our continuous improvement process we have been testing a few new menu items on our daily feature sheet and we will soon launch these on our dinner menu. In addition, we have recently updated our dessert menu.

All the best to you both, and we hope you will consider us for your next beach vacation.

Ewa Castelsky
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    106
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
195
333
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We hadn't been to the out Islands since about 14 years ago when we visited Cat Island. I have no idea why people go to Nassau/Paradise Island when the Out Islands are SO MUCH more spectacular. I've traveled to probably 20-25 Caribbean Islands over the years, but NO WHERE has nicer water/sand than the Out Islands of the Bahamas. Even the Maldives (okay, maybe there - I've never been) could not have water as crystal clear. That shallow, translucent water is only found in the shallow island shelf of the Bahamas. The blue is so clear at times it can hurt your eyes. We love other places too like Peter Island and Guana Island in the BVI but they are much more expensive. Dollar for dollar, I'd be hard pressed to find a better deal. We just got back from 6 days on the Island and it was spectacular. Our friends had the bungalow adjacent to our villa so I can comment on both. We had a fantastic trip with two couples/kids.
What makes Santa Maria amazing?
1 - the beach (4 miles of the most calm, crystal clear water you could picture)
2 - the sand - white and SOFT - hard to find such perfect sand
3 - great weather - 80-85 in June - it rained at night, but clear most of the days
4 -- helpful staff who went out of their way (thanks Shenique and Starlinda -hope i got that right) - bar tenders were great, and bar has a great view
5 - the villas are awesome. I never thought I'd enjoy doing laundry, but we did a load EVERY DAY which was great. It's super convenient and they supply detergent, bounce, etc... which is very helpful. Internet is great. Kitchen has EVERYTHING - blender, dishes, pots, silverware - stocked. Very clean, 2 bathrooms, a master and extra bedroom, TV/VCR, air conditioning, great views, screened porch.... all the comforts of home and then some. We recommend villa 26 which had an awesome view. I will say if you are stuck between a bungalow and a villa, just keep in mind the villas are MUCH nicer. The bungalows are very rustic, in need of a makeover, darker, and have few amenities (which may be fine for some who want a basic facility). Comparing the two, I was glad we had a villa for our two kids and us. Our friends spent every night on our porch overlooking the water (see pics). They thought of everything - they will even buy groceries for you.
6-- Bert is AMAZING for bone fishing and tours. My husband and son LOVED the half day they went fishing (bone fishing) with Bert and we did a half day Sandy Cay tour which was amazing. Bert ROCKS.
Cons? Just small nitpicks
1 - food is very good for the Out islands for sure but not as gourmet as say Anguilla for any number of Caribbean islands (if you eat a lot, get a meal plan, if not, just do a la carte)
2 - not much to see on the island and taxis are expensive - we spent $300 to see Dean's blue hole (which you should see), the capital and the caves (unless you love bats, I might skip these) - but I'm glad we did it
3 - bungalows need renovation
4 - electricity had some issues and we lost our water the last day before our return home due to a thunderstorm (no water at all, no shower before our flight home)
5 - no easy way to GET here - I don't like flying and that Southern Air Charter from Nassau was the oldest, most decrepit plane I have ever flown on - it had ASHTRAYS. The out Islands need some REAL plane service with newer planes or high speed ferries or they will never gain the prominence they deserve.
6- mosquitoes - be sure to spray with OFF - I got bitten quite a bit between no see ums and mosquitoes. They do provide bug spray and if you want to sit on the porch, it's worth doing a quick RAID spray (which we did with the RAID they provided).

In summary, it's hard to beat a gorgeous place like this - between the free bikes (fun to ride into town), kayaks (which we took out a lot), paddleboards (not sure why they charge $10/hr for these), there is quite a lot to do. The small bay next to the hotel is amazing to walk to and kayak to as during high tide you can paddle in and at low tide, there are sand bars you can walk out quite a ways on. Sandy Cay (where Pirates of the Caribbean was filmed) is worth a half day boat trip. Thanks Cape Santa Maria for a great vacation!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VTwelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brook C, General Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear VTwelltravelled,

Thank you for the kind and informative review. Your "Insanity" workouts are an inspiration to us all.

With regards to your comments about the small plane, Southern Air has recently refurbished their 19 seater planes and we are awaiting the arrival of a second airline. If you prefer flying on a larger plane, you may book a seat on Bahamasair to Deadman's Cay Airport and you will fly on a 50 passenger plane. Deadman's Cay is a 75 minute drive to Cape Santa Maria and the taxi fare will be $110 for 2 people.

I sincerely apologize for the situation with the water. Due to the thunderstorm, we did lose power and operation of our water pump for a short period of time; however this was resolved by 7am that morning.

We hope to see you next year!

All the best,
Brook Castelsky
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, PA
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The second we got in the taxi to go back home - I was already planning a trip back in my head! It all started with the friendly taxi ride from Smithy's who was waiting for us at the airport. The hotel had contacted us a few weeks prior inquiring about our arrival time. On the way to the cape he stopped at a local gas station/liquor store so we could get some additional wine and such. We were greeted upon check in and shown to our rooms - I was just so excited to see the beach, I don't think I remembered a word the lady at the reception desk said :) But once I saw the beach - I couldn't believe that I was there, it is something out of clip art, post cards, wall paper etc... Once we arrived in the bungalow it was large, cool and minimal (which was fine, since we really didn't spend much time in the room). There was a 2 queen beds, mini fridge and a safe - I loved the fact that it had louvered windows but the room still kept cool, if you are a light sleeper just be warned that the birds outside will be your super early alarm clocks!! We found the bed and the sheets to be really comfy. The screened in front patio was enormous and we enjoyed sunset drinks there. For the price that we paid for the room - you would pay 2 to 3 times that amount for proximity to the beach anywhere in the states. We knew going in that the room wouldn't have any frills. I felt that the restaurant was very good - we did not opt for the meal plan since we are not big eaters and decided to split all of our meals - breakfast, lunch and dinner. I recommend getting anything off of the special menu - I felt the food we ordered off of there was a bit better than off the regular menu! We had a mushroom bisque one night that was sooo amazing! The bar was a lot of fun and we had a lot of good conversations with the employees, they were able to give us some insight as to where else to explore on the island. I recommend if you are there and Andy is working at the bar to order a Sky Juice! You will not be disappointed. I didn't feel the prices were expensive at all - they were right in line if you were to go to NYC or Vegas. They did have some happy hour specials - just watch out for the goombay smash, it will catch up to you!! We did the Sandy Cay tour - which I definitely recommend - when we go to the island it was literally like you were in a different world! I love animals so I had fun feeding the iguanas which are always looking for a piece of bread!! You spend 3 hours on the island and have the ability to roam around at your free will - they set us up for lunch on a sand bar and people can not even believe it when I show them the pictures! We also rented a car and drove down to Dean's Blue Hole - again people can not believe the pictures that I show them! Make sure to stop at Max's on your way down or back - get a rum punch, kalik and the conch salad! During our stay we also rented a catamaran, paddle board and kayak, but my favorite part was just relaxing on the beach. I can not wait for our next visit back - we hope to bring some of our friends and family with us - so they can see first hand the beauty of this place. Oh and don't forget to say hi to the resort cat Killa - such a sweetheart!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbunny4568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Let's just say that there is nothing that could ever be changed to this beach to make it more perfect, it is perfect. The hotel however not matter how well positioned cannot hide it's need for a general overall. The rooms for the price were in dire need of a make over. The bathrooms were old and stale, threadbare towels, louvered windows, and the pipes running through the clothing cupboard were leaking. The size of the rooms and the lanai were exceptional and the beds were comfortable and while not the best linens certainly clean and not worn. The staff are helpful but not always appearing to be happy. There is a sullenness that is palatable, or is it shyness? - not everyone but a few. We were given a late check out at no added cost and the bike ride to the Columbus Monument was a thrill. There is NOTHING else to do except read and sleep, swim and kayak so be prepared. The restaurant and bar once again has an arrogance for its position on the Cape and the view but the quality of the food and the price one is charged for it makes no sense. Once again either be really good or be reasonable in price. You are stuck there with no other resources - no alternatives. I am sure the condos next door is a good choice so you can cook for yourself - however with no markets or fresh food to be found for miles good luck with that. This is one of those dream spots to completely relax and see water and beach that you cannot imagine really exists. For the price I feel an overhaul of the bathrooms and rooms is necessary to call this Most Excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed the same but further away from the main house would seem better. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The staff are lovely and friendly and the beach and location could not be better. The rooms look like they were last re done in the 80s is the only problem. I could live with it if the prices were low but they are not! We appreciated the complimentary kayaks and bikes and again the staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was pretty good in the restaurant and again attentive service but high prices. The beach was stunning the water crystal clear so all in its a great place and we would return!

Room Tip: It is pretty quiet everywhere !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhmontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Łódź, Lodz, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Pros:
1/ It is paradise location, indeed
2/ very nice and helpful staff, excellent customer experience
3/ memorable activities at the hotel

Cons:
1/ I can’t remember any what means there were no cons

Me, my wife and our doughter love this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZbigXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My wife and I were guests in Bungalow Ii at the beginning of the month. We hit the perfect weather, co-guests, lack of bugs, name it. The pictures on the web site are true. The resort is on one of the "world's" best beaches let alone the Caribbean. The staff went out of their way to make guests feel comfortable. My wife took advantage of the scuba diving and I became a "Jack Reacher" fan. I don't understand why we haven't vacationed in the Bahamas sooner?

Room Tip: Be as close to or as far from the Main House as you wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
44.4 mi away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
6.4 mi away
Stella Maris Resort Club
Stella Maris Resort Club
#2 of 5 in Long Island
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harbor Breeze Villas
Harbor Breeze Villas
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
19 reviews
45.5 mi away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
118 reviews
37.4 mi away
Greenwich Creek Lodge
Greenwich Creek Lodge
#1 of 4 in Long Island
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas

Property: Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
Address: Galliot Cay, Long Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Untouched... Undiscovered... Barefoot elegance in a Caribbean paradise. Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is unlike any place you have ever experienced. Mile after mile of silky-fine sandy beach melts into the warm turquoise water. With twenty bungalows and a handful of villas steps from the most beautiful beach in the Bahamas, an escape to Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Long Island
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort And Villas
Cape Santa Maria Beach Hotel
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas Long Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing