We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene, beautiful beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A little off the beaten path, and worth it. We rented half a bungalow, which had two bedrooms and a screened-in patio. The second bedroom connects through the first bedroom, costs extra, and the bath is shared. All bungalows and villas are right on the absolutely gorgeous white pristine beach that arcs around Cape Santa Maria, named by Christoforo Columbo in 1492, reportedly his third port of call in the New World. The bungalows are simple and very clean...perfect for a casual beach retreat. Very quiet when we were there. Not a party place. At night the stars are bright and the only sounds are the waves lapping the shore. There's a main building with desk, shop, bar and restaurant. We purchased the modified meal plan and had breakfast and dinner every day at the resort. Meals were very good, and the staff was always eager to assist. Sunday morning I got the idea to go to one of the many churches on Long Island, and decided to walk to a 7:00 am service. I misjudged the distance, and at almost 7 I was still walking down a dirt road. I decided to give it up, when a van from the resort pulled up and offered me a ride to church. A worker going up to the resort had seen me hiking, and they sent out the rescue van! What lovely people. I peeked into the villas on the property...more upscale, larger rooms, full kitchens, and full service extras available. Loved the nightly cocktail hour with special island drinks and conch fritters. Thank you to the managers, Neal and Wanda, for all your courtesies.

Must warn, however....this is not an easy commute. The flights to & from Nassau on JetBlue were great, but Nassau customs is slow, and both our connecting flights with Southern Air had serious problems. Leave LOTS of time between flights. If you can find a way to get there and NOT take Southern Air, do it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkellyNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

If you are looking for a party, this place is not for you, but if you are dreaming of a pristine powdery white sand beach with turquoise warm water for as far as you can see, delicious food, sweet welcoming staff and a rest, go there now. It is really beautiful, you can walk for miles in either direction and never meet another soul.

Also, the conch fritters at happy hour everyday also added greatly to the trip! They have a happy hour from 5-6 pm with drink specials and those amazing fritters. The waitress knew how much we loved them and would bring us extra.

We also rented a car one day to go see Dean's Blue Hole and the Hamilton Caves with Leonard, and that was no hassle. The "towns" on Long Island are about 5-6 buildings each, just long stretches of road with beautiful unspoiled land and sea everywhere. I think all the folks on the island hope it stays this way, and with a place like Cape Santa Maria, you don't need a whole lot more in terms of resorts.

The rooms are pretty standard for the Caribbean, kinda old-school in a nice way, all wicker and tile. This is not a "boutique" hotel with fancy shampoo, but it is nice and clean and has everything you need. The biggest plus is the wonderful staff, so eager to make your stay a good one. The managers Neal and Wanda say hi all the time and genuinely want to know how things are going and how they can make it better.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, which they all are really, but ask for a bungalow farther away from the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I wanted a beach getaway with private to semi private beach. But the prices for that were outrageous everywhere else we looked. I luckily found some old yahoo answers page where a travel agent gave this place as an answer. This place for price and what you get is an amazing value. You get a "bungalow" right on the beach with hot water, air conditionoing, screened porch with fan, and comfortable bed. There is so much beach and so few people you never feel on top of people at all. You honestly get the private beach experience, you don't have to socialize with anyone if you don't want. However one thing that is not an amazing value is the restaurant prices, car rental, or gift shop. But all this worth it for the beach.

Keep in mind is that you need to take another flight from Nassau to Long Island. The last flight to the island leaves Nassau at 2pm. We missed our connecting flight on the first day. Next time I would not get a flight that lands in Nassau around 12pm since that is when the airport is the most crowded. We got held up in the customs line for at least an hour and a half.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was our first trip to Cape Santa Maria but probably not our last. The beach is incredible, white talcum powder like sand, spectacular crystal clear water. We had incredible meals without a single disappointment. This is definitely a place to come and just relax. There isn't a lot of activity and really no nightlife but if you want to recharge your batteries this is the place for it. The beach is sand for several hundred yards out into the water. Do not expect to see coral reefs or brightly colored fish unless you travel off site, but we really enjoyed our stay and will go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was my seventh trip to the Cape. Each one gets better. My family and I were there for 2 week: through Christmas and New Years. Perfect place to enjoy family, warm weather, beautiful beaches and great food. The staff is attentive, the facility is well cared for, and they added a new day trip to Snady Cay. This is a mall sandy island a boat ride away where they fillme some the the Pirates of the Carabien movie. Excellent stay once again. I wish I was stil there!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Another delightful stay at Cape Santa Maria. This resort is the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate. This is not the place to go for a busy vacation with lots of nightlife. There are great activities if you want (fishing, snorkeling, day trips) or you can just read on one of the loveliest beaches in the world. The resort staff is friendly and incredibly helpful. The food is well prepared with a wide enough variety that you won't get bored if you are there for a week... And the cocktails are lovely. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ubt1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

we just returned from a week at cape santa maria the beach is beautiful and the staff is warm and friendly our bungalow was right on the beach with a wonderful view
it is a must to let McKellon take care of you in the bar we could not ask for better service and everyday at lunch the girls were warm when i came to get drinks and place my lunch order
we waited to rent a car and the girl at the front desk was very helpful getting us one
the staff was always smiling and also spoke no matter if they were cutting the yard or cleaning the rooms it is well worth the trip

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
44.4 mi away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
41 reviews
0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Stella Maris Resort Club
Stella Maris Resort Club
#2 of 5 in Long Island
242 reviews
0 mi away
Harbor Breeze Villas
Harbor Breeze Villas
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
21 reviews
45.5 mi away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas

Address: Galliot Cay, Long Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
Price Range: £206 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Untouched... Undiscovered... Barefoot elegance in a Caribbean paradise. Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is unlike any place you have ever experienced. Mile after mile of silky-fine sandy beach melts into the warm turquoise water. With twenty bungalows and a handful of villas steps from the most beautiful beach in the Bahamas, an escape to Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Long Island
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort And Villas
Cape Santa Maria Beach Hotel
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas Long Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing