We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stella Maris Resort Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stella Maris is a perfect place to relax on the BEAUTIFUL island of Long Island in the Bahamas, NOT NEW YORK! The workers at Stella Maris were so friendly. They really made you feel like family. We would eat at Stella Maris' restaurant(open to the public) every morning and night. Every morning the entire trip I got French Toast. It is VERY HIGHLY recommended! The taste was perfect! Their meals at dinner were great, too. They can make a mean conch. :P They made conch soup, which was great! The also fried it once and put it with dipping sauces. I couldn't get enough of it!
Stella Maris offers attractions for everyone. You can go fishing, snorkeling(highly recommended), SCUBA diving at various locations including Dean's Blue Hole(the largest blue hole in the world), Columbus Monument, and Cape Santa Maria. Stella Maris even has its own natural rock pools! They're really great if you get the chance! The Columbus Monument was located at an absolutely BEAUTIFUL location. You'll definitely want to bring a camera! It's surrounded by beautiful pristine beaches and the ocean water you can only find in the Bahamas! However, the road to the monument when we were there was very, VERY rocky. The monument is also at the top of a steep hill, so wear sneakers. Cape Santa Maria is a must-see! The waters are crystal clear and the calmest you'll ever find. The sand is absolutely perfectly soft, too!
We stayed in The Rainbow House, which was a villa located in the resort. It had 3 bedrooms(two of which had very beautiful bathrooms), a pool, and it's own gazebo. The Rainbow House was pricey, so beware of that when you're booking.
The island of Long Island is an out island, so you will have to take a smaller plane from Nassau to get there. It's totally worth it though! If you get the chance, Stella Maris will welcome you to the resort just as they welcomed us!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luv2Travel2_19438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Your praise for the staff, dining, and activities at Stella Maris Resort are much appreciated. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and promise to have a good supply of conch for your next visit!
Long Island, Bahamas abounds in natural beauty. We are most fortunate to have the opportunity to share her amazing beaches, landmarks, and underwater splendor with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Stella Maris Resort Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2011

If you simultaneously like privacy and coziness with other guests, this is the place to visit. There are charter flights to Stella Maris from Nassau, but most of the guests when we were there were recreational pilots.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the ocean. If not, it's an easy walk to get there. Stella Maris Inter...
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Long Island is generally undeveloped and quiet. The resort is therefore self contained and was almost empty when we were there so didn't have as good an "atmosphere" as it would no doubt have had at a busier time. The resort has all the stuff you need but the main problem is that many of them are not on site. They run daily transport to the marina, for example, to go fishing or snorkelling. The local beach is on the Atlantic side so is not really suitable for swimming so a beach day also involves a journey.
The resort facilities themselves are superb. Very good quality room with free WiFi. Bad points are: No kettle in room so we had to make tea in the coffee machine, no milk in the room for either coffee or tea, the menu was good quality but a bit hit-and-miss as to what was actually available - in our case the breakfast buffet (which is normally excellent) wasn't available most days and sometimes we were offered only a choice of two main courses for dinner. The bed sheets were too small for the bed so kept riding up and disturbing our sleep.
Aside from theses comments the all-inclusive deal is really good and takes away all the silly hassle about taxes and tips etc.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stephen005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Our stay at the Stella Maris Rainbow House exceeded our expectations! We got married on the island and the experience with the staff in preparation for our wedding was superb. All the little details and extras that were just taken care of for us made our day one we will never forget. Our honeymoon was filled with excursions that were arranged for us and every day the resort club was happy to take us to sailing, beaches, snorkeling, boating, kayaking, a full day private island tour, etc. There were bikes available to us for the entire stay at no charge and we logged miles on them discovering caves, plantation ruins, the Columus Monument, Love Beaches, rock pools, etc.. We had read many reviews about the food prior to picking this as our wedding and honeymoon destination site and the reviews were right on the money, the food was FABULOUS with specials everyday and so many options to chose from. Just delicious meal after delicious meal...........fine dining at its best!! Our accomodations were magnificent and clean with views that were breathtaking. In short, we feel in love with the island and the people and will be returning for sure!! Thank you, Jill Smith and all your staff, for making our fairy tale wedding a day that was just that, a fairy tale!! Thank you for all the little extras around our room over the week & the wedding gifts! Our honeymoon was as enjoyable as we could have ever hoped for, thanks for listening to my stories at the end of each day of our adventures on your island!! Kudos to a job well done!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Annette_Koppenhaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

We are all so touched by your review and so very pleased that Long Island and Stella Maris fulfilled your destination wedding dreams. It was truly our pleasure to have you with us. We are honored to have been witness to your devotion to one another. It is not every day that two people are genuinely so in love with each other and so happy to be in each other’s company. We hope to be welcoming you back again soon, maybe a first anniversary visit! Long Island will always have a special place in her heart for you both.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Stella Maris is a 40 year old resort on Long Island in the Bahamas which is a hidden jewel among Caribbean resorts. While the rooms are not new, they are clean and up to date with coffee makers and refrigerators. The meals exceeded our expectations in variety, quality, and taste. The service was marvelous, and all the staff made a effort to learn our names and go out of their way to provide for our needs and interest. Our primary reason for travel was scuba diving, and we were not disappointed. The dive master, Robert Cokley, has more than 25 years experience, and he placed great emphasis on our safety. Under water he made many efforts to show the hidden fish, lobsters, and other sea life he knew was hidden in the reefs. We dove several patch reefs, Deans Blue Hole and a day trip to the wall on Conception Island. Robert had the experience to judge each diver's ability and let them dive at their own pace. After all day diving, we were not up for a big night life, but the staff provided a cookout and rum punch party. After being spoiled with gourmet food and great diving, it was difficult leaving this beautiful island. Stella Maris is definitely on our list for a return dive destination.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diverbill60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

The diving and snorkeling here is exceptional, we are truly blessed with a great variety of underwater life and “gin clear” waters, and you visited some of the very best at Conception Island and Dean’s Blue Hole. Thank you from Robert, our dive master, for your compliments on his interaction with our divers. He wants you to know that there is still plenty here for you to explore! We would be delighted to have you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

This is a great place to relax. If you are expecting casinos and nightclubs, then this is not the island for you. However, to relax, snorkel, scuba, fish, etc this is a great place. The hotel is pretty isolated. There isn't really anywhere that you can easily walk to. The closest store would be a pretty long bike ride and up a long hill to get back to the resort.

The airport is nearby and the hotel picked us up complimentary, though they called a cab for our return. The beach right at the resort is great to relax on and has hammocks and chairs available. However, the water is VERY rocky, and although you can wade around a bit with shoes on, you would be ill advised to try to venture off the rocks for a swim. There is also a tidal pool where sea water fills and drains from a section of carved out rock. very cool. There are also regular swimming pools scattered around the property.

The hotel posts each day's activities on a bulletin board in advance so guests who are interested in a variety of things including trips to more swim at friendly beaches can sign up.

The owners and staff went our of their way to accommodate us. We told them that we would like to try the cave tour and possibly do some snorkeling. They added this for the next day and combined it with some other guests who had similar interests so that we can share a bus ride to the other end of the island. A couple days later we discussed doing some shopping with some of the other guests that we met and again the staff made it happen, by arranging one of their employees to bus us around to various shops. They even gave us a bonus with a trip to the plantation and included some rum punch and snacks for no charge!

We stayed in the hotel section of the property. They also have cottages/bungalows. There are no locks on the rooms here and the hotel will store your valuables in a paper envelope which tape shut and sign across. Drinking water if you need it comes out of a fountain near the check in desk. There is free wireless internet available near the front desk

There are bars around the property where you can order burgers, sandwiches, and such. Again the staff were very pleasant and friendly. The real gem is the main hotel restaurant. We had pretty low expectations for a resort that is so remote. However, we were amazed each night as the dinner menu had good variety and the tastes were amazing. Coming from Atlanta where only the best restaurants can survive, we could not believe how delicious and well prepared the food was here at Stella Maris! Their chef is really something special!!

Stella Maris Resort offers relaxation, a willingness to do whatever possible to meets your needs, an excellent restaurant, and locals who are very friendly to tourists.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank freff_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and have passed along your compliments to Bruno, our Chef and to the rest of our staff. Thank you. Long Island is truly a wonderful getaway and we are delighted to hear that we were able to help you in your snorkeling and cave explorations. The local shopping is fun isn’t it!? The Adderley’s Plantation is another peek at the interesting history of Long Island – next visit you’ll have to visit the Long Island Museum, or the Columbus monument, or see if you can get someone to share stories of pirates and salvagers at our Cave Party. Thank you for taking the time to review us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We have recently celebrated my in-laws 70th birthdays on Long Island Bahamas. We spent the last two days at Stella Maris. The total experience from reservation to checkout was not only flawless, but filled with comforting examples of kindness almost unique to the hotel business. And we are not yet returning guests! Stella Maris is the brainchild of a german industrialist who wanted to build and sell villas. The resort is marvellously beautifully located on the atlantic side with huge waves, cosy beaches, a large rock pool, lovely walkways, a poolside bar and saltwater pool with a view an our villa was-surprise-also located with a wonderful seaview and walls that could be opened totally to enjoy the breeze fully. The two families that run the hotel do all the different things themselves, from greeting guests to serving dinner! They still have time to commission personalized rock art for my in-laws birthday and a huge cake for dinner!!! And every little thing in the grounds is also there for a purpose. It is really extraordinarily well planned. Free shuttles to beaches and sights. Free bicycles. WONDERFUL staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. And affordable rates on top of that. Who could possibly have anything against that?

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhodesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2011

Thank you for visiting Stella Maris on your Long Island holiday. We were delighted to participate in your family celebration. We look forwards to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
38.1 mi away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
6.4 mi away
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.2 mi away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#2 of 23 in Andros
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor Breeze Villas
Harbor Breeze Villas
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Resort Club

Address: 123 Ocean View Drive | Stella Maris, Long Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
Price Range: £155 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Maris Resort Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella Maris Resort Club,is off the beaten path. On a tranquil island, where nature abounds, where the ocean and beaches are at their best, with an unhurried pace of life and with islanders, much known for their old-fashioned hospitality and friendliness.We are an intimate out island style resort, offering a wide range of tropical accommodations, from panoramic ocean view rooms to appealing four bedroom water front villas. Food is great, as is casual evening fun. Many activities are free of charge. We can even fly you here from your international Bahamas airport hub. It's a place for anyone who seeks to get away from every-day's stress, who loves nature, who loves being at and in the water. From singles to couples, from families to small groups. And there is no better place for a romantic island wedding, barefoot or elegant, or for celebrating your anniversary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Stella Maris Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Resort Club Hotel Long Island
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Resort Club Long Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing