We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stella Maris Resort Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We came back from Stella Maris about a month ago, the food was excellent as well as the service, we took our two kids (under age 5) so we needed a somewhat kid friendly environment, the beaches were wonderful. Really so many beaches to explore we did not get to them all. Our kids had a great time on many of the daily beach trips and boat trip as well, nothing was an added cost which is hard to find, we biked a lot, enjoyed the rum punch party with band one night. The only negative thing I can say is our son got eaten alive with either sand fleas or "no see ums" we could never figure that out, would not recommend for elderly travelers - not for those looking for a lot of nightlife, ie, no TVs or phones in your room.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    44
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
65
98
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

If you are looking for 4 Star accommodations, you won't find it at Stella Maris Resort Club, but you WILL find 4 Star customer service! The hotel, cottages and villas neatly situated alongside a gorgeous view of the Atlantic offer the wandering traveler several options for clean, cozy accommodations. With the option of a meal plan and all-inclusive packages, there is no shortage of things to see and do OR not. If relaxation is in the picture, you will find it here. If you enjoy water sports such as bonefishing, diving, snorkeling, kayaking, etc., you will find it here. For the history buff, there are opportunities to take walks or ride bicycles to nearby ruins full of history. For the nature lover, there are bird sanctuaries, blue holes and foot trails marked all along the island. The Staff at Stella Maris will make your visit a pleasant one. This was our first visit to Long Island and although a big fan of the Outer Islands, I felt at home on this tropical oasis the first day. Highly recommended for those of you who need downtime and relaxation. We opted for the meal plan and WERE NOT disappointed at all. The food was plentiful, tasty and attractively presented. A very romantic Valentine's Day meal delighted us both. Please give Stella Maris a try . You won't be disappointed. Kudos to Karen, Jill, Joel and all the staff for making our stay a very happy memory.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlabamaAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Stayed for a week with 2 year old son. My husband fly fishes and was out with Docky several days - one of his best experiences with a guide yet. Stella Maris was very accommodating of our requests to visit different beaches and helped recommend the best ones for us based on what was there and what a parent could handle solo with a 2 year old (while husband fished). Food was fabulous and all personnel were extremely friendly. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisyari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

My partner and I were looking for relaxation, snorkeling, private beaches, good food and internet access. We found all that and more at Stella Maris, where owner/operators and staff truly treat you as one of the family. There are many complimentary activities you can sign up for; including snorkeling trips, kayaking, sailng, bicycling and beachcombing. Stella packs lunch, ice water, towels and provides free transportation. They will even stop by the market or liquor store at your request. A large satellite TV and wireless internet are available in the common area. Food was wonderful and meal plans are available. If you like crowds and nightlife, Long Island isn't for you, but if you want to feel at home in a tropical paradise, Stella Maris is the place.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kbrown2166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

If you have never been to Long Island Bahamas, just go, book it and go, you won't regret it.
Although there are two main resorts on the island Stella Maris is the only one I could recommend as the Cape seemed a little bit stuffy to us.
At Stella you are made to feel like part of the family instead of 'just a guest'
The place, and the island, are incredible. When we stayed absolutely nothing was too much trouble for George or Peter, infact the entire staff are brilliant.
We've already booked our next holiday.
The only problem I have is that on Trip Advisor you can only rate something up to 5
(with 5 being best) I reckon Stella Maris deserves a 10.

Can't say enough good things about this place and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smithy6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starofthesea, Sales & Marketing at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, 2 July 2009
Long Island is aluring. I love the contrast of the sweeping beaches and carved shore lines. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will be back to discover even more.
Sunny regards from Peter, Joerg, and the rest of the Stella Maris crew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We have been to Stella Maris 19 years in a row for deep sea fishing. We have had a groups ranging from 5-13. We have been back 19 years in a row because of the service all or our expectations are met. You have to remember you are on a far out island at a family run resort. This is not a *Wood or Marriott. Things have change a bit on the island since 1990 but compared to the rest of the Bahamas change is slow and that is why we like. We leave this year for the 20th trip and are inviting wives and family doing it over 4th of July weekend. I am going early with my wife to dive Conception (just an amazing dive and I hope we can get the weather to cooperate so we can get over) and other dives. The staff and and owners are always great.

For those who have given a negative review I am not sure what your expectation were or your experiences, but I can say that in the 24 times I have been (yes I have been outside of our fishing trip) I have never seen anyone treated poorly just people with expectations that cannot be met in the out islands. Last time my wife and I were their it rained I mean rained for 3 days. Good thing they have many types of rum.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liveforwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Have been at Stella Maris twice now and have thoroughly enjoyed both stays. It is a beautiful, calm and relaxing place, with every amenity both for those who like an active vacation and those like myself who desire a quiet time. Excellent restaurant! Good food, good wine and a wonderfully comfortable bar for socializing.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarabow01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starofthesea, Sales & Marketing at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, 2 July 2009
Your kind remarks are much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share them. We look forward to see you again soon.
Best regards from everyone at Stella Maris!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
38.1 mi away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
39.2 mi away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#3 of 23 in Andros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Resort Club

Property: Stella Maris Resort Club
Address: 123 Ocean View Drive | Stella Maris, Long Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Maris Resort Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella Maris Resort Club,is off the beaten path. On a tranquil island, where nature abounds, where the ocean and beaches are at their best, with an unhurried pace of life and with islanders, much known for their old-fashioned hospitality and friendliness.We are an intimate out island style resort, offering a wide range of tropical accommodations, from panoramic ocean view rooms to appealing four bedroom water front villas. Food is great, as is casual evening fun. Many activities are free of charge. We can even fly you here from your international Bahamas airport hub. It's a place for anyone who seeks to get away from every-day's stress, who loves nature, who loves being at and in the water. From singles to couples, from families to small groups. And there is no better place for a romantic island wedding, barefoot or elegant, or for celebrating your anniversary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stella Maris Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Resort Club Hotel Long Island
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Resort Club Long Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing