We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Escape, especially for Pilots”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stella Maris Resort Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Escape, especially for Pilots”
Reviewed 10 January 2007

My wife and I enjoyed another wonderful trip to Stella Maris. The resort has a wide range of accomodations, so you can pick what level you would like, from regular rooms, to suites, to houses with private pools. Nothing fancy, and no TVs or phones. This is an out island place. If you are looking for wild night life, go somewhere else.

The island is somewhat difficult to get to, but the airport is less than 1/2 mile from the resort. For pilots, it is an easy flight from Florida, and the airport has recently been upgraded. For non-pilots, the resort has their own charter flights at very reasonable rates from Nassau. There is a pilot discount for those that fly in themselves.

Food prices are reasonable, and we usually choose to eat at the resort restaurant, as the prices are pretty much the same everywhere, but the service and attention at the resort is hard to beat. They also have a great variety of specials, as well as a regular menu. Food is expensive in the Bahamas, but we find we get by for about $50-60/each per day.

There is a great range of activities, and you just need to tell the gracious hosts what you are interested in, and they will make it happen. We absolutely love the hosts and managers, Peter, Joerge, Joel and the entire staff. This has to be one of the friendliest places we have ever vacationed.

If you are looking to escape from it all, and enjoy a stay with new found friends relaxing and enjoying "Island Time", this is one fo the finest places we know.

  • Liked — Wide range of accomodation
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    46
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
66
98
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Main LIne, Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2006

For conventional travelers this is such an offbeat place that it is hard to summarize it here. Let me try: An eclectic mix of guests finds themselves hosted by a team of highly-dedicated German families who have been on a fairly secluded Bahamian island for 40 years. The hosts, living on a property that is more like an estate than a resort, serve consistently excellent food and shepherd the guests all over the island--to idlyllic white sand beaches, on their private boat to coral reefs to snorkel, to their own natural cave that looks like a restaurant in "The Flintstones" (they served us a barbecue dinner they cooked there).

As an example of how they master multi-tasking at Stella Maris, the same person who flew us on one of the resort's private planes from Nassau to Long Island, Bahamas, was our waiter the next night at dinner!

Note that Stella Maris is not at all pretentious. In fact, it is not really luxurious. Our room was ordinary, and in order to get drinkable water, we had to take a water pitcher to the fountain and turn on the nearby faucet ourselves! There are parts of the resort that could use a make-over, starting with the air-hockey table that probably dates back to the Ford Administration.

What's really interesting is that although the Bahamas is flat, Stella Maris sits at the top of its highest hill (230 feet above sea level) and has view from there of both Long Island coasts (the calm Caribbean and rugged Atlantic).

In short, what Stella Maris lacks in fanciness it more than makes up for in effort, warmth, and uniqueness. If you like a bit of adventure on your trips, this place is for you. If you need it to be glitzy and glittering, it is not.

  • Liked — How hard everyone at Stella Maris works for their guests.
  • Disliked — Room was too cramped and very ordinary.
  • Tips/Secrets — Spend a much time possible exploring the island and its waters.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank RichinBala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2006

My wife and two teenage boys just returned from Stella Maris Resort. This was our
third visit to this unique beautiful relaxing resort.

We stayed at the Rainbow House which is a three bedroom three bath house with an exquisite pool-right overlooking the Ocean. The house is quite contemporary (except for wall air conditioning units) The views from our perch were spectacular.

Warning! Stella Maris is the type of place you go to get away from it all-to relax and ejoy your mate and/or family. There are no phones, no TVS (actually there is one near the bar which I avoided like the plague), no Blackberry's, and no gambling.

In short, no stress whatsoever. I was never so relaxed (or suntanned) as I returned to work the following week after this vacation.

The management and resort is completely unpretentious. This is as far from the South Beach scene that you can get.

There is time for snorkeling, scuba diving, small sailboat sailing, relaxed beaching-Cape Santa Maria is a glorious pristine beach- and if your so inclined (like I am) simply reading by the ocean as the waves crash against the rocks. In between these activities you will also find you have the time to talk and catch up with your loved ones.

Most of the guests are low key-very friendly people (often European) who have been to the resort in the past. They, like the resort, are completely unpretentious.

Your hosts are energetic Joerg and wry Peter. They are sixtyish Germans and run this very out island resort with an efficient and cheerful manner.

Their effort to make our stay comfortable was seen on a daily basis. They bend over backwords to make your stay an intimate and memorable one.

For example, my eighteen year old step-son made the surprise announcement on our second day to Joerg (eitherJoerg or Peter make the rounds every night at dinner to say hello, answer any questions you may have about the next days activities or assist you with a special request) that he wanted to go scuba diving.

Without missing a beat, Joerg said he would be scuba diving the next morning. He immediately made all the necessary arrangements. He was indeed diving the next morning. By the end of the week the boy was a certified Open Water Diver.

In sum, this is a great place to get away from it all, relax, enjoy water sports and your family.

I hope we can make the trip back soon.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MIDWESTROOTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLEARWATER FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2006

The Staff at the Stella Maris was outstanding, our accommodations and the resort were beautiful.A very pleasant rejuvnation. Everything about the trip was top notch. The diving was just awesome, from walls, to sharks, to blue holes, to wrecks, something for every one (Thanks Mario you' and the scuba staff are the best) From them having a taxi at the airport, to Peter packing us breakfast to go at 6:00am they day we left. The food was very good, the conch chowder, and the German apple pancakes were to die for. All the fish was as fresh as could be. Elizabeth took care of the arrangements here stateside, and the rest just flowed from there. All that being said we had a great time.
The memories and the new friends we have acquired will last a very long time.

Helpful?
6 Thank TONYPQUEST29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 March 2006

I spent a week at the Stella Maris in May, looking for R&R in a beautiful, peaceful setting.

The Good:
The island is really away from it all and has beautiful beaches and friendly locals. While there's no good swimming beach on site, the hotel offers trips to great beaches (Santa Maria) and other activities throughout the day. Snorkeling at Columbus Harbour and Columbus Monument was quite nice. Although the beach at Columbus Harbour was littered with trash, the snorkeling just outside of the harbour (a bit of of swim/walk) was worth it. I also met a few people who went to the Blue Hole in the southern part of the island, which they said was pretty amazing to snorkel over.

The Bad:
Mosquitoes: Everywhere, just about all the time. Granted it was the beginning of the wet season but the tenacity and ferociousness of the Long Island mosquito will always be in my memories. You literally had to drench yourself in OFF to keep them at bay. One woman I met was bitten in the eyelid, one of the few places she did not apply repellent. Needless to say her eye was swollen to the size of a golf ball. I came back from my vacation with at least 50-60 bites and this was while using OFF rather religiously. If you don't want to be bitten, stay indoors.

The Strange:
The hosts: Peter was friendly and helpful. However, the other host never spoke or made eye contact with me, even when he made his rounds in the restaurant, stopping by each table, including mine. I don't know what that was all about. I speak perfect English. I'm friendly, polite, and not at all intimidating.

Another incident that deserves mentioning was when a group of us went out on the hotel's complimentary boat cruise. We were also scheduled to go to Shark Reef and do a shark feeding dive. This had been highly recommended to me by my host, Peter. Strangely enough, it turned out the captain and divemaster could not find the site. We ended up circling around for over an hour before the weather turned bad and we had to head back. Then to top it all off, the captain or divemaster (not sure who was at the helm) grounded the boat on a shallow sand/reef bar. We were stuck for about an hour before a smaller boat drove by and helped us out by taking us to shore.

To sum it all up: Long Island is a beautiful destination. Stella Maris is an adequate resort. Beware of the mosquitos in the wet/shoulder seasons.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
38.2 mi away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
6.4 mi away
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 mi away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#4 of 23 in Andros
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor Breeze Villas
Harbor Breeze Villas
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Resort Club

Property: Stella Maris Resort Club
Address: 123 Ocean View Drive | Stella Maris, Long Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Maris Resort Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella Maris Resort Club,is off the beaten path. On a tranquil island, where nature abounds, where the ocean and beaches are at their best, with an unhurried pace of life and with islanders, much known for their old-fashioned hospitality and friendliness.We are an intimate out island style resort, offering a wide range of tropical accommodations, from panoramic ocean view rooms to appealing four bedroom water front villas. Food is great, as is casual evening fun. Many activities are free of charge. We can even fly you here from your international Bahamas airport hub. It's a place for anyone who seeks to get away from every-day's stress, who loves nature, who loves being at and in the water. From singles to couples, from families to small groups. And there is no better place for a romantic island wedding, barefoot or elegant, or for celebrating your anniversary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Stella Maris Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Resort Club Hotel Long Island
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Resort Club Long Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing