We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stella Maris Resort Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The resort and island far exceeded our expectations. I had read that the staff at Stella Maris make you feel like an old friend or part of the family, and my wife and I certainly found this to be true. The food and drink was unbelievable, and the setting could not be better. We opted for the "all-inclusive" and were not disappointed. You can relax on the beach or do any number of activities - all of which are included with your stay. We left our wallets at the front desk and never needed them all week - everything was taken care of. The island is so sparsely populated that you never feel cramped, and there is virtually no crime. I would highly recommend this resort for your next trip - Long Island's best resort for the cost.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wes_smith01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2010

We would go back in a heartbeat- we loved the gorgeous setting/ landscaping, extremely clean accomodations, delicious food, helpful staff (they went way above and beyond.) We thought it was a good value because so many activities were included in the rate. Our nine year old son loved it and was never bored even without a t.v. in the cottage-(he did bring his ds and portable dvd player.) He had a blast at the pool and playing foos ball every night after dinner, they also have a pool table and an outdoor ping pong table. Everything was extremely laid back which we loved. The beach immediately in front of the resort is rocky (but still really dramatic and beautiful) but the resort will take you to a variety of calm sandy beaches for snorkeling/swimming and will even pack a lunch for you. We did rent a car for 3 days just to explore the island on our own. We have been to several of the Bahama Out Islands and the USVI's and we feel that this is our favorite island /resort so far. I had 2 mosquito bites and maybe 10 sand flea bites the whole time I was there- son and husband had about the same number so bugs were not really a problem for us. Used Repel Lemon Eucalyptus when we thought about it but sometimes we forgot, which is probably when we go bitten. Fabulous trip!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We came back from Stella Maris about a month ago, the food was excellent as well as the service, we took our two kids (under age 5) so we needed a somewhat kid friendly environment, the beaches were wonderful. Really so many beaches to explore we did not get to them all. Our kids had a great time on many of the daily beach trips and boat trip as well, nothing was an added cost which is hard to find, we biked a lot, enjoyed the rum punch party with band one night. The only negative thing I can say is our son got eaten alive with either sand fleas or "no see ums" we could never figure that out, would not recommend for elderly travelers - not for those looking for a lot of nightlife, ie, no TVs or phones in your room.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

If you are looking for 4 Star accommodations, you won't find it at Stella Maris Resort Club, but you WILL find 4 Star customer service! The hotel, cottages and villas neatly situated alongside a gorgeous view of the Atlantic offer the wandering traveler several options for clean, cozy accommodations. With the option of a meal plan and all-inclusive packages, there is no shortage of things to see and do OR not. If relaxation is in the picture, you will find it here. If you enjoy water sports such as bonefishing, diving, snorkeling, kayaking, etc., you will find it here. For the history buff, there are opportunities to take walks or ride bicycles to nearby ruins full of history. For the nature lover, there are bird sanctuaries, blue holes and foot trails marked all along the island. The Staff at Stella Maris will make your visit a pleasant one. This was our first visit to Long Island and although a big fan of the Outer Islands, I felt at home on this tropical oasis the first day. Highly recommended for those of you who need downtime and relaxation. We opted for the meal plan and WERE NOT disappointed at all. The food was plentiful, tasty and attractively presented. A very romantic Valentine's Day meal delighted us both. Please give Stella Maris a try . You won't be disappointed. Kudos to Karen, Jill, Joel and all the staff for making our stay a very happy memory.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlabamaAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Stayed for a week with 2 year old son. My husband fly fishes and was out with Docky several days - one of his best experiences with a guide yet. Stella Maris was very accommodating of our requests to visit different beaches and helped recommend the best ones for us based on what was there and what a parent could handle solo with a 2 year old (while husband fished). Food was fabulous and all personnel were extremely friendly. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisyari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

My partner and I were looking for relaxation, snorkeling, private beaches, good food and internet access. We found all that and more at Stella Maris, where owner/operators and staff truly treat you as one of the family. There are many complimentary activities you can sign up for; including snorkeling trips, kayaking, sailng, bicycling and beachcombing. Stella packs lunch, ice water, towels and provides free transportation. They will even stop by the market or liquor store at your request. A large satellite TV and wireless internet are available in the common area. Food was wonderful and meal plans are available. If you like crowds and nightlife, Long Island isn't for you, but if you want to feel at home in a tropical paradise, Stella Maris is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kbrown2166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

If you have never been to Long Island Bahamas, just go, book it and go, you won't regret it.
Although there are two main resorts on the island Stella Maris is the only one I could recommend as the Cape seemed a little bit stuffy to us.
At Stella you are made to feel like part of the family instead of 'just a guest'
The place, and the island, are incredible. When we stayed absolutely nothing was too much trouble for George or Peter, infact the entire staff are brilliant.
We've already booked our next holiday.
The only problem I have is that on Trip Advisor you can only rate something up to 5
(with 5 being best) I reckon Stella Maris deserves a 10.

Can't say enough good things about this place and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Smithy6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starofthesea, Sales & Marketing at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2009

Long Island is aluring. I love the contrast of the sweeping beaches and carved shore lines. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will be back to discover even more.
Sunny regards from Peter, Joerg, and the rest of the Stella Maris crew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
38.2 mi away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
41 reviews
191.4 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
127.2 mi away
Squires Estate
Squires Estate
#8 of 13 in Eleuthera
54 reviews
6.4 mi away
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
39.3 mi away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Resort Club

Address: 123 Ocean View Drive | Stella Maris, Long Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
Price Range: £152 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Maris Resort Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella Maris Resort Club,is off the beaten path. On a tranquil island, where nature abounds, where the ocean and beaches are at their best, with an unhurried pace of life and with islanders, much known for their old-fashioned hospitality and friendliness.We are an intimate out island style resort, offering a wide range of tropical accommodations, from panoramic ocean view rooms to appealing four bedroom water front villas. Food is great, as is casual evening fun. Many activities are free of charge. We can even fly you here from your international Bahamas airport hub. It's a place for anyone who seeks to get away from every-day's stress, who loves nature, who loves being at and in the water. From singles to couples, from families to small groups. And there is no better place for a romantic island wedding, barefoot or elegant, or for celebrating your anniversary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stella Maris Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Resort Club Hotel Long Island
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Resort Club Long Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing