We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
182
52
11
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
52
11
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rainbow house moonshine bar stella maris resort rum punch fish cape santa maria scuba diving the atlantic ocean blue hole beach bar hotel rooms are main building private pool other islands low tide natural beauty bring bug spray
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We would go back in a heartbeat- we loved the gorgeous setting/ landscaping, extremely clean accomodations, delicious food, helpful staff (they went way above and beyond.) We thought it was a good value because so many activities were included in the rate. Our nine year old son loved it and was never bored even without a t.v. in the cottage-(he did bring his ds and portable dvd player.) He had a blast at the pool and playing foos ball every night after dinner, they also have a pool table and an outdoor ping pong table. Everything was extremely laid back which we loved. The beach immediately in front of the resort is rocky (but still really dramatic and beautiful) but the resort will take you to a variety of calm sandy beaches for snorkeling/swimming and will even pack a lunch for you. We did rent a car for 3 days just to explore the island on our own. We have been to several of the Bahama Out Islands and the USVI's and we feel that this is our favorite island /resort so far. I had 2 mosquito bites and maybe 10 sand flea bites the whole time I was there- son and husband had about the same number so bugs were not really a problem for us. Used Repel Lemon Eucalyptus when we thought about it but sometimes we forgot, which is probably when we go bitten. Fabulous trip!

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We came back from Stella Maris about a month ago, the food was excellent as well as the service, we took our two kids (under age 5) so we needed a somewhat kid friendly environment, the beaches were wonderful. Really so many beaches to explore we did not get to them all. Our kids had a great time on many of the daily beach trips and boat trip as well, nothing was an added cost which is hard to find, we biked a lot, enjoyed the rum punch party with band one night. The only negative thing I can say is our son got eaten alive with either sand fleas or "no see ums" we could never figure that out, would not recommend for elderly travelers - not for those looking for a lot of nightlife, ie, no TVs or phones in your room.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

If you are looking for 4 Star accommodations, you won't find it at Stella Maris Resort Club, but you WILL find 4 Star customer service! The hotel, cottages and villas neatly situated alongside a gorgeous view of the Atlantic offer the wandering traveler several options for clean, cozy accommodations. With the option of a meal plan and all-inclusive packages, there is no shortage of things to see and do OR not. If relaxation is in the picture, you will find it here. If you enjoy water sports such as bonefishing, diving, snorkeling, kayaking, etc., you will find it here. For the history buff, there are opportunities to take walks or ride bicycles to nearby ruins full of history. For the nature lover, there are bird sanctuaries, blue holes and foot trails marked all along the island. The Staff at Stella Maris will make your visit a pleasant one. This was our first visit to Long Island and although a big fan of the Outer Islands, I felt at home on this tropical oasis the first day. Highly recommended for those of you who need downtime and relaxation. We opted for the meal plan and WERE NOT disappointed at all. The food was plentiful, tasty and attractively presented. A very romantic Valentine's Day meal delighted us both. Please give Stella Maris a try . You won't be disappointed. Kudos to Karen, Jill, Joel and all the staff for making our stay a very happy memory.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlabamaAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Stayed for a week with 2 year old son. My husband fly fishes and was out with Docky several days - one of his best experiences with a guide yet. Stella Maris was very accommodating of our requests to visit different beaches and helped recommend the best ones for us based on what was there and what a parent could handle solo with a 2 year old (while husband fished). Food was fabulous and all personnel were extremely friendly. Would definitely go back.

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisyari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

My partner and I were looking for relaxation, snorkeling, private beaches, good food and internet access. We found all that and more at Stella Maris, where owner/operators and staff truly treat you as one of the family. There are many complimentary activities you can sign up for; including snorkeling trips, kayaking, sailng, bicycling and beachcombing. Stella packs lunch, ice water, towels and provides free transportation. They will even stop by the market or liquor store at your request. A large satellite TV and wireless internet are available in the common area. Food was wonderful and meal plans are available. If you like crowds and nightlife, Long Island isn't for you, but if you want to feel at home in a tropical paradise, Stella Maris is the place.

Date of stay: June 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kbrown2166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews