We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another serene vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grotto Bay Bahamas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Long Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grotto Bay Bahamas
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“another serene vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Jean & Kris, thank you for another serene vacation.
What could be better than dry (for Bahamas) 80is. You are on the deck; the water splashes 10 yards away; 6 pack is by; a spy novel in your hands; I supplement Billie Holiday quite tune on my iTune. Don’t miss the green ray from the sunset on the top deck.
There are miles of hiking of deserted beaches like from the Planets of the Apes. Go lazy canoeing throw the keys (complements of Kris) or snorkeling (complementary of the same) .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiraspol0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Kris and Jean are gracious and generous hosts...always available to offer advice, directions or a lovely chat. In addition to the spectacular beachfront, the property grounds are beautiful and provide hours of eye candy from the sway of the hammock. Such a rare treat to have so much privacy and quiet. The island offers as much or as little adventure as you are looking for. Plenty of goodies on site (kayaks, paddle boards, bat cave) to keep you entertained, though our car rental was well worth the expense. A really beautiful getaway and we are so thankful to our lovely hosts.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austinegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

What an incredible getaway for this winter-wearing couple! In fact, given the blissfully-even climate, this would be an incredible vacation any time of the year. Grotto Bay is right on its own beach, well-supplied with kayaks, paddle-boards and all the swimming and snorkling gear you could need. In fact, both owners Kris and Jean are dive masters, so if scuba is your thing, this is your place. (Can't wait to get certified and do some wall-diving in their secret sites off-shore.) Kris and Jean are great people as well as attentive hosts, and we feel we've made real friends. Jean arranged for our rental car, made reservations for us and was a great source of information on all the restaurants and beachs--though to tell lthe truth our room next to the outdoor kitchen and the shady deck was the perfect spot to just hang out and take it all in. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for the room next to the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_and_Barbara754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Wow, wow,wow. We loved it. Lovely room, nice kitchen next to the rooms outside under the roof. A great extra to just having a room. Microwave in the room as well though and fridge with a bigger fridge outside in the kitchen too. Also a safe in the room and wifi. Shops nearby and petrol station too. The property is very private. The beach is really just for the 2 rooms so even when full probaly only 4 or 5 of you max. Its a small beach with lovely sand, plenty of chairs and a lovely big straw and wood type shade umbrella with built-in wooden table around the middle of it. I spent time just sat there with the great view and a cocktail ( self made in the kitchen )
The water is great, there is a small pebble line at the base of the beach as you walk into the water but that is no problem to get past. There is some snorkelling around some rocks immediately as you get in the water which was fantastic for training my 7 year old daughter to snorkel with confidence. The deck area around the 2 rooms is one of the nicest deck areas I have ever seen and it is in the shade so it is perfect for relaxing if you do not want to be in the beach sun ( 10 metres from beach only ) The area around the deck to the drive and to the beach is very nicely planted. There is a cave about 30 metres away which is really exciting, I only went a third of the way in as the bats where active although harmless ( what a wimp I am ). I guess it is a hundred metres or so deep or maybe much more?
The owners Jean and Kris where the perfect hosts. They checked on us in the morning and the pm to see if we wanted anything, they put together a great info pack in the rooms with restaurant, beach info, all tel numbers you may want. Great info and directions for all things.
If you take the time to speak to them you will find out that they are so nice, completely customer dedicated and so interesting. They have such great stories if you are interested. We spent the last 3 days of December and the 1st and 2nd of January there. New years eve next door in a fantastic restaurant called Island breeze ( approx 400 metres away ) and then on the beach before midnight to see a few fireworks. It is a dream place and myself, my wife and daughter came away from our holiday including staying at a total of 4 hotels in the Bahamas wishing we could buy this place and go there all time. The beaches on this island are a dream by the way.
Such a shame that as we live in Vienna we need 2 days to get there with inter island connections included.
Thank you Kris and Jean. We hope to come back.

PS: most people who come to this island want peace and quiet so in the next room, your only possible neighbours will probaly never bother you. We met a really nice Australian couple there and they where smashing. Hope you enjoyed your funnymoon, nice to meet you.

Room Tip: only 2 rooms, both the same, one next to the kitchen has evening sun on its deck area, one on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnJackson_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at Grotto Bay for 8 days during Thanksgiving break 2013. My husband and I have children ages 3, 8 and 16, so it's pretty difficult to accommodate everyone's desires. Grotto Bay was amazing! Jean was extremely attentive to our needs, despite not being there during our stay. She arranged the rental car and provided lots of advice on the available activities. We were lucky enough to have visited 2 weeks before the busy season and had the entire place to ourselves. Our three year old was out at sunrise to dig in the sand nearly right outside our door while the other kids woke at a more reasonable hour. We used the fun outdoor kitchen to make a full breakfast before heading out for the day's activity. Our older kids were very happy about the good wifi service so they could text friends, etc. We had tons of fun exploring Long Island by car or kayak, visiting the offshore islands, the famous blue hole and beautiful beaches. From many past experiences visiting other islands of the Bahamas, we expected the restaurants to be sub par. On Long Island, we were happy to find Chez Pierre, one of our favorite spots. We also enjoyed lunch or dinner at Stella Maris, Santa Maria Resort and the Flying Fish Marina. We always look for more secluded yet affordable vacation spots, so this fit our needs perfectly while still offering better than expected amenities. The local people were also very friendly, which we did not necessarily experience on other Bahaminan islands - probably because they are not besieged by tourists as on other islands. Overall, we loved our vacation and would highly recommend to other travelers looking for a quiet, off the beaten path vacation!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatherineATillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We recently returned from a week at Grotto Bay and it exceeded our expectations in every way - great accommodations, ideal location for exploring, private beach and recreation right at your front door, and everything you need nearby.

Grotto Bay itself is about 100 yards off the main “highway” in Salt Pond – it’s convenient to two grocery stores, liquor store, gas station, etc. (all less than a mile away), and yet the lodging is on a quiet and peaceful waterfront that feels remote and private. The accommodations are clean, comfortable, and well maintained. My wife has a tendency to be a "bed snob" but we both found the bed to be extremely comfortable, and the air conditioning was a real plus since we were there in summer. The full outdoor kitchen had everything we could possibly need (toaster, blender, burners, pots and pans, full-sized fridge, even an espresso maker!) so it was perfect for self-catering. The nearby grocery stores are small but fully stocked with everything from pasta, meat, vegetables and dairy products to sunblock and shampoo. Prices were comparable to what you would find in a large metropolitan area in the U.S., (like Seattle or Boston) with the exception of beer, which was about double what we normally pay, but it's good!

The beach out front is great for swimming, snorkeling, and enjoying a drink under the palapa. The owners provide high quality stand-up paddle boards (2), sit-on-top kayaks (2 single, one double), and high quality snorkeling gear. When you consider what it costs to rent this gear most places this was a big bonus for us. We also explored the length of the island by car and found the location to be perfectly situated in the middle of the island so everything is a reasonable drive.

This was our first trip to the Bahamas and my main goal was to find some self-guided/do-it-yourself bonefishing. We booked a day with a local fishing guide on our own before heading down to the Bahamas, but the owners can arrange one for you too. After this we fished on our own and found great flats within an easy five minute kayak paddle from Grotto Bay. There's another accessible flat a five minute drive away (the owners have our notes and maps) and we saw enough fish on these two nearby spots to keep us busy. There are many other accessible flats on the island too, but we ran out of time to fish them all.

We felt very safe exploring the island, parking on dead end roads, hanging out on isolated beaches, etc. We ran into a number of locals in our travels, and they were always welcoming - even suggesting better/different fishing spots, telling us about the island (or their family history), or in two cases, trying to sell us land! If you've read anything about the "dangers" in Nassau, please realize that Long Island is a different (and far better) place than Nassau.

I can’t say enough about how welcoming and helpful the owners of Grotto Bay are. They arranged our rental car in advance (and found us a great deal), and were always willing to answer questions and/or provide directions to various beaches, restaurants, and attractions on the island. When we arrived, they had cheese and crackers (and other snacks) waiting for us in the room, and they even posted a personalized note in the kitchen every morning letting us know about the day’s tides, store hours, and events on the island. Any time we needed anything (cooler, fish for dinner, flashlights to explore the cave), they were extremely accommodating.

We spent a week there and it wasn’t nearly enough time to explore this beautiful and friendly island. Our only regret is that there was so much to do on Long Island that we didn’t spend enough time kicking back and enjoying the beach/hammock/cave and water sports right at Grotto Bay. Frankly, you could spend a week right on the grounds of Grotto Bay and have a wonderful time. We are already planning our next trip, and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed at Grotto Bay for almost a week and had an amazing time exploring the island. Jean and Kris are very helpful and gave us great advice on places to explore and things to do, and even provided us with snorkeling gear and kayaks to explore with. The rooms are very nice and clean and look out right over the water, we woke up every morning and walked down the front steps and had breakfast and coffee on the beach. Cooked food on the grill or in the outdoor kitchen and watched the sunset in the afternoon. There is so much to do and see on this island. If you're looking to get away from the resorts and tourist attractions and really relax this is the place to go. Some of the places that we really enjoyed: Deans Blue Hole, Gordon's Beach, Seaside Village, Bonnacord Beach... Kris and Jean also set us up with a local fisherman/tour guide named Locksley who brought us to some great beaches and fishing spots, it was a lot of fun and we would highly recommend it. We would definitely come back to Grotto Bay again, couldn't ask for a better vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camp079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
0.0 mi away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
0.0 mi away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stella Maris Resort Club
Stella Maris Resort Club
#3 of 5 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor Breeze Villas
Harbor Breeze Villas
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotto Bay Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Bahamas

Property: Grotto Bay Bahamas
Address: Salt Pond, Long Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grotto Bay Bahamas is a private beach front rental property on Long Island, Bahamas. Each room includes a bathroom with a shower, a vanity with sink, coffeemaker, microwave, mini-fridge, TV, DVD player, DVD and book library, and queen sized bed. The beach is private and includes activities such as kayaking, fishing, volleyball, horseshoes, snorkeling, swimming, sailing, and windsurfing. There is also a natural cave for exploring. Island tours, fishing trips, and even scuba diving can be arranged! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Bahamas Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing