We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene getaway... The nicest hosts”
Review of Grotto Bay Bahamas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Long Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grotto Bay Bahamas
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serene getaway... The nicest hosts”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We just spent a week at Grotto Bay at Kris & Jeanie's. What wonderful hosts! They are in a lovely spot on the lee side of Long Island, a perfect location for exploring the island as Salt Pond is roughly Midway down the Island (it's not called "long Island" for nothing,,,)
The quarters were very comfortable and well done with a view of sunsets through lush plantings. Also out in front are hammocks, chairs, palapas, a horseshoe pit, a fire pit, kayaks and more. We kayaked out to a couple of small cays offshore and saw rays and turtles.
There's plenty to do on the island, but be sure to rent a car. We explored the upper half to Columbus point which is gorgeous with good snorkeling, We also drove south to the road's end at Gordons, a lovely yet somewhat forlorn spot with a long beach.
Plenty of good snorkeling on the Atlantic side when the wind cooperates. Also don't miss a chance to go to Conception island with Stella Maris. Great diving - stunning and pristine. And make sure you stop by Seaside Village for Kenneth's a Kalik, Conch salad and a chat with his Osprey, "Ian " (He was in the process of rescuing 2 more while we were there - to be named Ian II & Ian III).
Above all Jean and Kris are wonderful people and will make your stay really pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahamaskayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Jeannie and Chris where great hosts. They are available when you need them but give you plenty of privacy. The shared kitchen has everything you will need to whip up a meal, Chris has some fish and lobster you can purchase from him.

The new fire pit looks great, we will have to come back and check it out.

Room Tip: Both rooms appear to be equal. The far room (Turtle I think) has a little more privacy since its not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenais3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We could not have asked for a better experience at Grotto Bay! Jean and Kris were amazing hosts and people. The property itself is beyond beautiful and is equipped with everything you need and more! Having access to paddle boards, kayaks, snorkeling gear, and your own private beach was truly unbeatable. If you are looking for an authentic bohemian experience away from the touristy areas this is definitely the spot. The property and the island have a great low-key vibe. Jean and Kris are great about telling you the best places to go and see. They also just recently built an awesome fire pit that is handmade from local stone and serves as a great grill! I know we will now never stay anywhere else and are looking forward to get back as soon as possible!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Jean & Kris, thank you for another serene vacation.
What could be better than dry (for Bahamas) 80is. You are on the deck; the water splashes 10 yards away; 6 pack is by; a spy novel in your hands; I supplement Billie Holiday quite tune on my iTune. Don’t miss the green ray from the sunset on the top deck.
There are miles of hiking of deserted beaches like from the Planets of the Apes. Go lazy canoeing throw the keys (complements of Kris) or snorkeling (complementary of the same) .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiraspol0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Kris and Jean are gracious and generous hosts...always available to offer advice, directions or a lovely chat. In addition to the spectacular beachfront, the property grounds are beautiful and provide hours of eye candy from the sway of the hammock. Such a rare treat to have so much privacy and quiet. The island offers as much or as little adventure as you are looking for. Plenty of goodies on site (kayaks, paddle boards, bat cave) to keep you entertained, though our car rental was well worth the expense. A really beautiful getaway and we are so thankful to our lovely hosts.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austinegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

What an incredible getaway for this winter-wearing couple! In fact, given the blissfully-even climate, this would be an incredible vacation any time of the year. Grotto Bay is right on its own beach, well-supplied with kayaks, paddle-boards and all the swimming and snorkling gear you could need. In fact, both owners Kris and Jean are dive masters, so if scuba is your thing, this is your place. (Can't wait to get certified and do some wall-diving in their secret sites off-shore.) Kris and Jean are great people as well as attentive hosts, and we feel we've made real friends. Jean arranged for our rental car, made reservations for us and was a great source of information on all the restaurants and beachs--though to tell lthe truth our room next to the outdoor kitchen and the shady deck was the perfect spot to just hang out and take it all in. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for the room next to the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_and_Barbara754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Wow, wow,wow. We loved it. Lovely room, nice kitchen next to the rooms outside under the roof. A great extra to just having a room. Microwave in the room as well though and fridge with a bigger fridge outside in the kitchen too. Also a safe in the room and wifi. Shops nearby and petrol station too. The property is very private. The beach is really just for the 2 rooms so even when full probaly only 4 or 5 of you max. Its a small beach with lovely sand, plenty of chairs and a lovely big straw and wood type shade umbrella with built-in wooden table around the middle of it. I spent time just sat there with the great view and a cocktail ( self made in the kitchen )
The water is great, there is a small pebble line at the base of the beach as you walk into the water but that is no problem to get past. There is some snorkelling around some rocks immediately as you get in the water which was fantastic for training my 7 year old daughter to snorkel with confidence. The deck area around the 2 rooms is one of the nicest deck areas I have ever seen and it is in the shade so it is perfect for relaxing if you do not want to be in the beach sun ( 10 metres from beach only ) The area around the deck to the drive and to the beach is very nicely planted. There is a cave about 30 metres away which is really exciting, I only went a third of the way in as the bats where active although harmless ( what a wimp I am ). I guess it is a hundred metres or so deep or maybe much more?
The owners Jean and Kris where the perfect hosts. They checked on us in the morning and the pm to see if we wanted anything, they put together a great info pack in the rooms with restaurant, beach info, all tel numbers you may want. Great info and directions for all things.
If you take the time to speak to them you will find out that they are so nice, completely customer dedicated and so interesting. They have such great stories if you are interested. We spent the last 3 days of December and the 1st and 2nd of January there. New years eve next door in a fantastic restaurant called Island breeze ( approx 400 metres away ) and then on the beach before midnight to see a few fireworks. It is a dream place and myself, my wife and daughter came away from our holiday including staying at a total of 4 hotels in the Bahamas wishing we could buy this place and go there all time. The beaches on this island are a dream by the way.
Such a shame that as we live in Vienna we need 2 days to get there with inter island connections included.
Thank you Kris and Jean. We hope to come back.

PS: most people who come to this island want peace and quiet so in the next room, your only possible neighbours will probaly never bother you. We met a really nice Australian couple there and they where smashing. Hope you enjoyed your funnymoon, nice to meet you.

Room Tip: only 2 rooms, both the same, one next to the kitchen has evening sun on its deck area, one on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnJackson_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
0.0 mi away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
0.0 mi away
Stella Maris Resort Club
Stella Maris Resort Club
#2 of 5 in Long Island
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,509 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor Breeze Villas
Harbor Breeze Villas
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotto Bay Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Bahamas

Property: Grotto Bay Bahamas
Address: Salt Pond, Long Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grotto Bay Bahamas is a private beach front rental property on Long Island, Bahamas. Each room includes a bathroom with a shower, a vanity with sink, coffeemaker, microwave, mini-fridge, TV, DVD player, DVD and book library, and queen sized bed. The beach is private and includes activities such as kayaking, fishing, volleyball, horseshoes, snorkeling, swimming, sailing, and windsurfing. There is also a natural cave for exploring. Island tours, fishing trips, and even scuba diving can be arranged! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Bahamas Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing