We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best beach and resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Santa Maria

Ranked #3 of 13 things to do in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small island famous for its fabulous beaches.
Monett, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best beach and resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Great resort. Everything was outstanding. The water is unbelievable. The staff was excellent. The food was wonderful. No complaints.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brady H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    8
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence, The Bahamas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Incredible beach, great food and drinks and great service. Great place to relax and lose the stress

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cape Santa Maria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Best beach I've ever been to. Good staff. Very romantic.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We did not stay at the resort but we did come up one day and have lunch and do a snorkel tour. Our guide was Bert and he was very good. He took us on a boat out towards the Christopher Columbus Monument, it was cool to see it from the water.
Then he showed us some caves, unfortunately it was a really windy day, so we weren't able to snorkel or explore in any of them.
He brought us into a sound where we saw a Sting Ray, and he showed us around the various sites. We hit two snorkel areas where the fish were beautiful. I am a nervous snorkeler and he was very patient with me.

It was a worthwhile adventure. I would advise if you can find another couple to go with you, you'll save money. The minimum is 4 people and we just didn't want to drive all the way back up, so we paid for 4 people. It is $240 for 4 people (or less) for a 2 - 3 hours tour. We were out on the water just under 3 hours and that was plenty of time.

It was a beautiful area, very peaceful and natural.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauricup
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“good restaurant, good service, "too many tourist"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Food was excellent, cocktail very good and Service very kind;
We love the Island and enjoy being alone on all those beautiful beaches; In Cape Santa Maria there are too many people..and it's a pitty they build so many houses on this beach ...If you really want to sea a great beach, go to Lochabar or to the south end...

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank mauricup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Santa Maria also viewed

Clarence Town, Long Island
Long Island, Out Islands
 
Long Island, Out Islands
Long Island, Out Islands
 

Been to Cape Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing