We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The closest place on earth to heaven.The closest...”
other traveller has booked this property
The Cottage. 2 bed, 2 bath with full kitchen and screened porch !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage. 2 bed, 2 bath with full kitchen and screened porch !
Better here than the Office
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The Cottage. 2 bed, 2 bath with full kitchen and screened porch !
Better here than the Office
Enjoy the Sunsets !
Bedroom
Room to relax in Comfort !
Comfy Living Room Area
Bedroom
Kitchen closeup
Kitchen and Dining areas
Bathroom
Bathroom
Awesome Screened in Porch !!!
View from the Porch
Screened in porch with table for 6 !
Super view from the Porch
Tree Trunk Seating For Two!
Beach Looking North
Beach looking South
Chairs on the Beach
Coconut Grove and Cottage
Entry to the Property
Nice place to Watch a Sunset
Palm Shaded Picnic Area
Path from Cottage to Beach
Secluded spot for Two
Hand-stacked Rock wall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Long Island, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
catherine...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The closest place on earth to heaven.The closest place on earth to heaven!!”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The closest place on earth to heaven!!

We have read all the reviews that have been posted and all are 100% true!!
My husband and I have stayed with George and Cindy for last three years and have already booked for next year!!
Our first trip was for eight days, the second for ten and this one for fourteen. Next year twenty!!!
There a lots of places in the world to go but George's place and Long Island tick all of the boxes for us.
We can only reiterate everything the other reviews say – George and Cindy are fantastic!! Absolutely nothing is too much trouble. They will do anything in their power to make your stay perfect.
The cottage is wonderful (just as you see in the photos) and Long Island is beautiful.
Thank you both for everything you have done for us.
See you next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2016
And we are looking forward to your EXTENDED stay in 2017 !!!! Thanks so much for the kind words....you and Duncan certainly exemplify our motto "Come as a Guest, Leave as a Friend !" We are privileged to count you both as great friends !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn201
Palm Bay, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Convenient to both ends of the island - great host!”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Upon arriving George greeted us and had the cottage ready with the air on. He is the best host we've ever met. He's informative and just made you feel at home. Can't express how comfortable we were.
Loved the screened porch! It was so nice to enjoy the evening w/o mosquito attacking you. After four trips to islands in the Bahamas it was our first time enjoying a screened porch loved it! Just bring along a few mosquito coils to keep the no-see-ums away (they are on every island in the Bahamas not just on Long Island).
Take advantage of George's offer to assist with travel and/or grocery needs - he'll stock the fridge for you before you arrive how amazing is that!?! George also has amazing contacts on the island for car, boat and kayak rentals and more. George has everything you need - if you don't have something just ask!
The rain water showers are the best! There's outside areas to spritz off after a day out always a plus.
The island has the most beautiful turquoise water we've ever seen! OMG! Be sure to travel to the southern tip of the island for one of the most pristine beaches (Gordon Beach)you'll ever seen and enjoy it all to yourself!
The island restaurants are plentiful - we were amazed at how many there were. Two new ones opened just before we arrived - Tinys and The Beach Bungalow great food and people! Both are close to the cottage and located on gorgeous beaches. Also you have to go to Max's Conch Bar for the best conch salad we've ever had and we've eaten a bunch! The island is only 80 miles long so be sure to go from one end to the other!
THANK YOU George and Cindy - we'll be back!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beaches
Liked least: We had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyraCanyo...
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Unforgettable Holidays for the whole family”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed in both cottages for 3 weeks over Christmas and New Years with our 4 kids and grandparents - just perfect! Since we rented both cottages, every generation could live on its own path: seniors had their early morning coffee and swim, mid-age could do some work in the morning - thanks to Wifi - and the Youngsters could sleep in and kite surf right in front of the property.
Both cottages are clean, colourful, friendly and well equipped! You get a clean up every week and as much towels as you want. Everything is there when you arrive and George is great with organizing whatever it is before you come.
The South part of Long Island had a lot of damages through the hurricane end of September 2015 and you still could see destroyed houses. The area of Whymsical Wish looks much better and although the water raised about 5 feet onto the property, George did a great job in cleaning up and restoring the garden.
George and Cindy are fantastic hosts!!! They helped us with any issue: broken rental cars (ask George for recommendations !), where to get fresh seafood and how to prepare it the right way, where to go for swimming, shopping, sight-seeing and everything else you can think of!
Our highlight was their invitation for Christmas dinner and boxing day with their whole family - imagine we were 8 more to feed! These folks are just incredibly welcoming and generous - we had a great time and want to come again for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: George, Cindy and the beaches
Liked least: sand flies
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great beaches and great host”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My wife and I spent a week in late Februray at this very comfortable beach cottage. Couldn't have been a better week of weather and beach. The owner, George, helped us with our travel plans and checked on us frequently at the cottage to offer assistance with directions, local stores, etc.
We rented a car and traveled to the fantastic beach in the north, Santa Maria, to the beatiful Gordon Beach in the south as well as many beaches in between. White sugar sands and turquoise water. At most we would see a couple of others on the beach, but often had the entire beach to ourselves. Must see: Blue Hole. Note: Side roads are quite rough. On a return vist we would rent an SUV or high clearance vehicle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie F
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Heavenly isolation of long island enhanced and enabled by George and Cindy's hosting”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was our second trip to Long Island - last time we stayed in the south. We love it because it is so quiet, simple and untouched - every day we take our kids to a new, different and completely deserted beach! Our expectations were therefore high for this trip but the Whyms location in the middle of the island on the Caribbean/leeward side and George and Cindy's welcome and comfortable cottage easily exceeded those expectations. The cottage is in site of and a short walk from the beach and is well equipped and comfortable. George's discrete but always available hosting from his nearby home really supplemented our stay - he kindly did a grocery shop in advance of our arrival, he recommended car hire and restaurants, he gave us daily weather and beach suggestions, he sorted out our flight changes on departure and he even conjured up candles for my wife's birthday cake! Thank you George and Cindy for a wonderful stay - we all loved it, Jamie, Sarah, Tessa (6) and Charlie (4). We will be returning for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: George's kind hosting
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnnema
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“More than I hoped it would be”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Our stay at Whymsical Wish was exactly what we needed. The location of the cabins are ideal for exploring the whole island being that they were in a central location. George, the owner, was the perfect host. Giving us all the information we needed but not smothering us. He made our stay amazing. We had an incredible time exploring all the island had to offer. From unbelievably gorgeous beaches, to amazing snorkeling locations and delicious fresh seafood long island had it all. We had the beaches to ourselves, only Dean's Blue Hole was "busy" with up to five other people at a time. Which is understandable because the view was incredible. It is definitely a must see!! We went snorkeling around and over the blue hole and saw tons of amazing fish and shells. Our overall stay on the island was incredible.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wloporto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A TRUE Island Getaway”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When landing in Nassau you cannot help but notice that you are in a place just as crowded and busy as the place you may have just came from, only warmer. After landing on Long Island and stepping off the plane, you start to realize that you are in the “Real Bahamas”!

My Fiancée Jessica and I stayed at Whymsical Wish for 8 days this February and we cannot begin to say enough great things about not only Wymsical Wish, George and Cindy, but of Long Island too!!! We have traveled all over the Caribbean and Long Island and our stay at Whymsical Wish is our favorite yet! We have always said that we will never visit the same place twice but I think this is a place that we will have to visit again! It is UNIQUE!
George and Cindy are AMAZING! They went well out of their way to ensure we had absolutely EVERYTING we needed and to answer all of our questions about what to see, where to go and how to get there! We landed on the Island on a Sunday when grocery stores are closed. George, who had been in constant contact prior to our arrival, had stocked our kitchen with everything we had requested! WOOHOO!! He was also gracious enough to let us use his Kayaks, which allowed us to explore the gorgeous bay in front of the cottage. The cottage is beautiful and had everything we could have asked for! The beach in front of the cottage is stunning and the water is the stuff we here in New England DREAM about in winter! You can also snorkel right from the beach! We enjoyed spectacular Sunsets every night while sipping tropical drinks and the stars at night were AMAZING!

On most of the islands we have been to, once you leave the comfort of your cottage or resort, the environment outside that cocoon can become dirty with litter and garbage, dangerous and downright hostile. Long Island could not be more the opposite. Along the main road that traverses the island, you would expect to see a ton of litter but you do not! The island is spotless and in fact, the roads were cleaner than where we live in New Hampshire! We never felt threatened or unsafe on Long Island at all!! The people are amazingly friendly and everyone on the roads and the people driving towards you wave when you drive by them, which gives you a real sense of welcoming and wellbeing, so much in fact that since returning home I have continued the practice and wave to everyone!

The Beaches on the island are SPECTACULAR!! They are all over the island to discover and explore and getting to some of them is an adventure in itself! Other than the ones at the resorts, we never saw a single soul at the others! The one at the Cape Santa Maria Resort on the North (East) end of the island is GORGEOUS and was ranked as one of the top ten beaches in the world! Having said that, the one that is just five minutes from the cottage was the most beautiful beach we had EVER SEEN! It is a hidden GEM! Ask George where it is! ;-)

I could go on forever about Whymsical Wish, Long Island, and the BEST HOSTS you will ever have!! If you are like us, you like to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and go to a place that truly slows you down, warms you up and rejuvenates your soul! Whymsical Wish and Long Island IS that place!

Thank you SOO Much George and Cindy!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing