We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
128
56
18
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
128
56
18
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews early night the pub sunday carvery lovely meal real ale fresh vegetables home cooked food casserole great night beef first class home made nice room well worth a visit night stay warm welcome pudding
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Booked to stay here to visit family. Very friendly staff on arrival, family room was double booked, but this was sorted no bother and we were offered 2 rooms for the same price, so was happy at that. Rooms themselves were very well presented and warm although en suite was a little chilly, but was only to shower and freshen up so not a problem for us. Car very looked and smelled smelled delicious unfortunately we didn't have time to try it.

Recommend for a stop over and when next in area I may just call back to try out the highly rated carvery... After looking at the newspaper review in the wall.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo81977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi

Great you were more than satisfied with your stop over Jo.
Look forward to you being here again.
Regards team Dusty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This pub/b&b is excellent. Friendly staff, great food and on our stay a band was playing (not too late) Food we had was from there well liked carvery (Newspaper review on the wall) and I could have eat it again, even though it was a huge portion...tasty!

Room clean inc en-suite and warm. Will be down that way again next year, and will stay here. Excellent value too. Way better than a Travelodge for less money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi Graham

Thanks for the thumbs up on all aspects of our staff and establishment and top marks.
We look forward to offering more of the same on your next visit.
All the best from team Dusty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The location was great for an overnight stop - within sight of the M1 but still very quiet.The staff were really friendly, so couldn't be faulted. The room and bathroom were fairly average, although unexpectedly cold. They did fire up the boiler for the central heating for us but this took a while to get going. The real let down was the food which was awful. Having been told we could have anything we wanted for breakfast we asked for poached eggs, only to be told we could only have scrambled eggs. These arrived on plates awash with water and were totally tasteless. The limp bacon was fatty and inedible. Glasses of orange coloured liquid were already in our places on arrival. This turned out to be some sort of orange squash or tropical juice and was horrible. The meal the night before had been OK but we were very worried by how long the carvery meats were left on display uncovered.
This pub was good value for money and served our purposes but we would hesitate to recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Well it seems to me that most aspects of your stay were favourable .Breakfast sounds like you did not get what you wanted but that does not reflect our quality food that is produced on site and served throughout the day.As you mention our carvery- it is checked regularly and freshness is maintained and temperature.I don't think your opinion and concern is valid as you are not here long enough to have 1.We serve over a 1000 meals a week so actually keeping up with produce to be available is the only problem we encounter.
My comments are only to enlighten you of our actual procedure and assure you of our freshness which you seemed to enjoy your evening meal anyway.Plesed you thought location,staff and value was tops.
Regards
Adrian & team Dusty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were visiting family in the Chesterfield/Clowne area and decided to stop at The Dusty Miller, It was a great experience The food was excellent and brought back many memories od wholesome English cooking. We will definitely return on future visits home. Janette, Sean, Vicki and Nicole

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Visiting from the USA and enjoying our traditional home made food by our 2 chef's and the rest of the evening.Thanks for your excellent comments and a full house with top marks.Most appreciated.
See you on your next visit.
Regards
Adrian and team Dusty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We travelled up from Northampton to see the fabulous Harlem Nights Motown band on August 31st and what a superb evening we had! The band we excellent as always and gave a great performance of all the Motown classics.We had a great table,top drawer food,drinks and service from Adrian and his great staff.A truly memorable night! Many thanks,see you all again soon.Phil,Irene,Rob & Yvette.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Irenetwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Wow another fabulous review and top marks and to think you traveled all that way out to enjoy what we have to offer,just brilliant!Thank you so much and see you soon.
Regards
Adrian and team Dusty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews