We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
128
56
18
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
128
56
18
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsearly nightthe pubsunday carverylovely mealreal alefresh vegetableshome cooked foodcasserolegreat nightbeeffirst classhome madenice roomwell worth a visitnight staywarm welcomepudding
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was the 1st time we'd decided to eat out for Christmas dinner and it certainly won't be our last.

We regularly go to the DM for the excellent carvery and as usual, they provided us with the perfect blend of good, real ale, friendly atmosphere and a proper home-cooked belly full.

Thanks again folks. See you in 2014!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thanks Steve for your fab comments and it was a fab relaxed day for us all with great food and company from our army of regular diners.
Some people have been coming every year for over a decade on xmas day and we are already half full for this year!
See u soon.

Regards Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

The Dusty Miller carvery was a splendid bite to eat! It was very enjoyable and great value for it's money, The friendly staff were delightfully welcoming and it's definitely a place to return to again and again, I would highly recommend the Dusty Miller.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Connor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi Conner

I would and my team like to thank you for the recommendation you have given us so other readers can be assured that we try to stay at the top of our game on service,food quality,comfort and friendliness on our approach to all our customers.
See you again.
Kind Regards

Adrian & team Dusty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my family went to the dusty miller this year for our Christmas Day meal one word AMAZING the food was excellent , service fab couldn't fault it already booked for next year there was great choice on the Carvery and the starters and desserts were lovely .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flossy198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi

I would just like to thank you for your amazing remarks about our food on xmas day and service we provided.We over staffed our day to make sure you and everybody else had a perfect day.
So thank you for confirming what we also thought was a perfect enjoyable day all round.
See you soon and thanks for automatically rebooking xmas day!

Regards

Adrian & team Dusty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

as I work away from home all week finding good accomadation with good food is a must for me and when am in the Sheffield area theirs only one place for me and that's the dusty miller at barlborough the food is top notch staff very helpful so don't just take my word for it wind your window down at junction 30 m1 and follow your nose cheers kenny

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenneth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi Kenny

Well there can't be a better recommendation than that from the food to service and accommodation provided.
Top man & see you soon.
Regards

Adrian & team Dusty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

As a bike club we decided to have our annual Xmas meal here at the Dusty Miller. On arrival we entered a very lively big spacious pub that had a good atmosphere inside. We were shown to a back room area where there were lots of tables allocated to us, did think it was a shame that not all the party could sit together due to the dusty miller being chosen for its size and able to facilitate such a big group. All in all everyone seemed happy and we did manage to attach two of the tables together so it was more like a group sitting, the owner was lovely about this. Starters went down well. We were all able to go and get our own main meal via the carvery serving. I do however personally think the quality of the food was a little disappointing, as I had read such great reports I was shocked they weren't homemade roast potatoes, homemadeYorkshire puddings etc, I think in order to Achieve an outstanding carvery these must always be homemade. Besides this everyone enjoyed their meal. We were then given a choice of several desserts. Pure magic started at around 9.30pm and provided lots of entertainment throughout the evening. Thanks a lot for accommodating us last night :) Merry Christmas x

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank SOPHIE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi Sophie

Thanks for your great comments,as you can appreciate with a party of 30 plus at least you had all the wine bar to your selves so it was ideal to keep your party together.
You were all a very friendly crowd and i could see that everybody was having a smashing time.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope we can be of service in the near future.
Kind regards

Team Dusty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews