We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carvery”
Review of Dusty Miller

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dusty Miller
Ranked #1 of 3 Barlborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were in the area yesterday and fancied a pub lunch. We remembered the Dusty miller from years ago and decided to pay another visit. We parked round the back where there was plenty of outdoor seating. On entering the pub we spotted a carvery, on closer inspection we saw 4 nice joints of beef,pork lamb and turkey plus a dish of beef stew and dumplings and my favourite, liver and onions. There was a choice of mash,boiled new spuds,cabbage,carrots, leeks and peas. There was also 4graveys to choose. The bar staff were very friendly and the food piping hot.we will return next week for another nice meal out.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

So the first thing to remember is that this is a pub .... It has people in who may make noise ( but not too late) so if you want a quiet dull night stay at the Ibis. If you want a lovely welcoming atmosphere, home cooked food, a wide selection of beers, great value immaculately clean rooms, and exceptionally friendly helpful staff - this is the place for you...... I look forward to returning to enjoy another carvery and a great nights sleep.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank screpta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

i would recommend this hotel its a great place with fab staff who makes you feel so welcome. The rooms are comfortable and clean with lovely views . Also great entertainment ,good food and drink will definitely being going back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent, friendly service, clean comfy room... A live band on whilst there bonus ! Didn't try the food as we had eaten before arrival .. But it looked delicious will definitely be trying the food on our next visit .. Which hopefully will be the beer festival end of May?

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you want a cheap and cheerful place, with good food, great beer and friendly service - this is your place. The rooms are small but well kept - and the bar / restaurant has a great friendly atmosphere and a good selection of food. The staff are very helpful - you cannot go wrong for the price!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DodgeRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My partner and I popped into the Dusty Miller after a long walk.Again the real ale was superp!!!!The place was busy and the staff were really nice and still had time to chat even though they were busy.If you like real ale then you must try the Dusty Miller

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rateeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Myself and my partner booked the meal and to see Acoustic Angels, We were welcomed to our table which was a nice and everything explained to us regarding the food. The food was excellent with plenty of choice.It was one of the best carverys we have had and will definetly go again. Also enjoyed the night and people friendly and looks like they have got some good live acts booked for the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barlborough
6 mi away
Sandpiper Hotel
Sandpiper Hotel
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
559 reviews
6.4 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
6.5 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
834 reviews
5.9 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusty Miller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusty Miller

Address: Dusty Miller Inn Sheffield Road, Barlborough, Chesterfield S43 4TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Barlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barlborough
Price Range: £46 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dusty Miller 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusty Miller Inn is set in the pictures'k village of Barlborough and is ideal for staying over in one of there en-suite rooms while visiting the peak district and for commuters alike with it just being a 2min drive from Jcn 30 of the M1.It has a warm welcome with comfortable surroundings and a great place to eat,drink and relax.Also it boasts 2 top music nights being Wednesdays and Saturdays. The Dusty daily Carvery is renowned for Miles also the Steaks and other offerings from there extensive bar menu.Sunday's special Carvery is a great day out with over 300 plus meals being served and a great Child's menu or Child's Carvery .Large Car park,picknick tables overlooking one of the most pictures'k view's in the area also a garden centre directly opposite-just across the road and your there.All roads lead to the Dusty Miller.Privately owned by the Fazakerley Family since June 1976.Need we say more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dusty Miller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusty Miller Chesterfield/Barlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing