We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barlborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed for one night at this hotel and was very pleased with our experience.
Comfortable bed although would have liked a 5', good value, pleasant staff, convenient for the M1. What else can I say?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Chesterfield North
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights while at my brothers wedding up the road. Excellent location right off the M1 and I must admit I was pleasantly surprised by the standard of the room.

The reception staff were very helpful and sorted out all issues I had. Mainly regarding moving rooms and booking a new room for a friend.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthawkins85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis chesterrfield North and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Janet Cummings General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Room was clean, warm, quiet and had all we needed for an overnight stay. Staff were all very friendly and we checked in at 11.15am which was much appreciated as we were heading to a wedding at nearby Ringwood Hall. The echoed by the other comments the whole hotel was clean and had we needed to eat the resturant had a good selection and smelt good. Bargin at £29.50 with a £8 taxi each way to the wedding we went to at Ringwood Hall Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkshire_fern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your thoughts on Trip Advisor, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,Kind regards, Janet Cummings General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed at the Ibis Barlborough for three nights in May 2012. I was working away from home and looking for a good value weekend stay near the Peak District and Chesterfield. The hotel is located in an out of town development to the north of Chesterfield.

On arrival I found the reception area open and welcoming, I was checked in efficiently and allocated a room on the second floor. The room itself was typical Ibis; clean, simple and spacious. The room featured tea/coffee facility, double bed, shower room, desk and flat screen tv.

We had a spell of warm weather during my stay and I was a little worried that the room would be hot, it was ok with the window open a little - you don't get air conditioning at this price level.

I took an evening meal on the Saturday in the hotel bar. I ordered vegetarian food with wine and took a table in the relaxed bar area. The food was good quality, tasty and filling.

I'm giving this one an excellent rating because there were no disappointments and I really felt like a guest. Far too many hotels focus on weddings and functions during weekends leaving hotel guest to suffer indifferent service. At this Ibis hotel, the service is reliable, even at weekends.

I found the hotel staff to be excellent, the two receptionists and the waitress in the bar area were professional, friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: If you're easily disturbed, ask for a room away from lifts and stairs on the top floor.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Chesterfield North]and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

we needed a quick and cheap stopover at the lasst minute, booked at 5.00pm arrived at 9.0pm, check is was a pleasure, hotel was immaculate, room clean tidy and comfortable, all for 36 quid, bargain, left early so cannot comment on breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robv12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed here with a group of friends from a motorbike club from 4 - 7 May. Rooms are spacious and clean. If I had to make a criticism, we should have asked for a couple of hand towels as you only get one bath towel each, like to dry my hair with a separate towel - picky, I know! Staff were very friendly and helpful. A bonus is the time breakfast is served up until - 12 pm, great if you need a lie in! We requested a quiet room which is exactly what we got at the back of the hotel. Value for money, could not fault the quality and service of this budget hotel. The Treble Bob pub next door offers good quality simple food and the portions are very generous, you won't go hungry! Even better if you are 50+ they operate the Diamond Club meal deal - three course for £6.75! Overall, an excellent 3 night stay and a great hotel to stay at to explore Chesterfield, the Peak District and surrounding areas. We can definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter - away from the lift
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have stayed here before, and overall been pleased. I think the location is ideal, as it's much quieter than the main Chesterfield centre hotel. There's plenty around to do, and with a pub and some fast food restaurants as well as the hotel bar and restaurant, never really stuck for choice.

The one thing that continues to annoy me about booking an Ibis hotel is their insistence to "room for 1 or 2 persons". Although you get to specify how many, theres no way of selecting twin or double beds on the website. Quite often on arrival, myself and my partner have turned up to twin beds - sometimes the hotel are able to change rooms, but sometimes they're not. In complaining, I was told that theres no facility on the website! There is an issue that needs sorting at head office with their website. Luckily there was no problem on this occasion.

The room decor is basic, but the shower was a nice size. Ideal for a short weekend.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank gtmus2002uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to our hotel. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the rooms types on line our head office are aware of this and are reviewing this issue, I understand that this can be frustrating and for this i sincerely apologise. For future reservations once you have made the reservation online please call the hotel directly and we can pre allocate a specific room type for you.
Kind regards
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barlborough
6.5 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
800 reviews
6.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,433 reviews
6.0 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf
6.3 mi away
Sandpiper Hotel
Sandpiper Hotel
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
309 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Chesterfield North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Chesterfield North

Address: 3 Tallys End | Chesterfield Road, Barlborough, Chesterfield S43 4WP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Barlborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barlborough
Price Range: £34 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Chesterfield North 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Chesterfield North hotel is located 8 km from Chesterfield and 16 km from Sheffield Airport. Admire the nearby Chatsworth House or wander through the famous Sherwood Forest of the Robin Hood legend. Book one of our 86 rooms and benefit from the hotel amenities on offer, including four meeting rooms for organising seminars and conferences, a restaurant and a snack bar open 24 hours 7 days as well as private outdoor parking. Business guests will appreciate use of our wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Chesterfield North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Chesterfield North Hotel Barlborough
Ibis Chesterfield North Barlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing