We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heading North”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barlborough
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    259
    91
    19
    11
See reviews for
119
214
37
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night last weekend whilst visiting family. The reception was inviting, as were the staff, but on reaching our floor we were greeted with a rather pungent smell. I am unsure if the building has had a fire in the past as the smell seemed vaguely like that of old smoke (not cigarettes) but it was quite strong and unpleasant. The room itself was functional, and made up as requested - a family room so a sofa bed was made up for us too. The bed was comfy and clean but the sofa bed was at such an angle it would not have been possible for an adult to sleep comfortably on it. As it was for my 5 year old it was fine. The cot bed for our 2 year old was clean and in good order however there was no mattress in it and so we had to fashion one out of a duvet. It was a particularly warm evening and so we had to open the windows to get some air. Unfortunately it seemed as though our room might have been directly overhead of the laundry room and so we heard the washers and dryers going well past 10pm as well as staff outside talking on their breaks.

We stayed for the breakfast the next morning which was quite nice and well stocked although maybe a little overpriced for what was available. On the whole, the hotel provided us with a place to sleep for little expense, I do think we will be looking for elsewhere on our next visit to the area however.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wunderluste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield_North, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the ibis Chesterfield North, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. The sofa beds that are available in the rooms are only suitable for children under 12 years of age and would not be used for an adult. We do have fans available upon request at reception as we do appreciate it can be quite hot during the summer months. I do apologise about the disturbance you had due to the noise. If possible it would be a great help if you could provide me with your room number so I can look into this further in order to prevent any further occurrence. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with us.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the ibis Chesterfield North and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.
Kind Regards
Donna Davies
Guest Relations Manager

T - 01246 813 222
E - h3157-am@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Having had to evacuate our home due to a swarm of bees we were very grateful to find that the ibis accepts dogs .They could not have been more helpful the room was spacious and clean we were told if we needed anything someone was on duty all night . It is excellent value for money

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pop5350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield_North, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Chesterfield North, while you had to having to evacuate your home for a short while and i do hope everything is now ok at home for you. Kind regards, Donna Davies, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Although it has been a while since I stayed at this hotel I am only now getting around to writing a review of it, as I simply could not be bothered to fire up the computer especially to do so.

This is a budget chain of hotels and as I say you get what you pay for! The door to my room had clearly been damaged, by somebody forcing the door open recently, for whatever reason, leaving the wooden door frame splintered and a new piece of wood inserted into it, with no attempt to cover it with new coat of paint or filler etc. Not a good first impression.

The room is typical of this standard of hotel, simple and fairly spartan with the basics essentials covered. The bed was not the most comfortable I have slept in, with a thin foam mattress that I found uncomfortable. The TV screen was covered in dubious smears of some sort of liquid, that in defense of the staff, only really became apparent once it was switched on.

Cheap and served a purpose, but I am sure I will find better elsewhere the next time I am visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyDPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield_North, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us at ibis Chesterfield North, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
I have noted your comments in regards to the door and this is something i will be addressing. We do have the new sweet beds in place throughout the hotel but i am sorry you did not find the bed comfortable during your stay.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the ibis Chesterfield North and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.
Kind Regards, Donna Davies, Guest Relations Manaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable, clean and friendly staff. Surprisingly spacious room which I was not expecting for an Ibis. Very good location for choice of food and drink and access for other areas. Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Schuster-Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield_North, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Chesterfield North and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Donna Davies, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was a business trip, so I was just staying one night. The hotel was very easy to find, just off the M1. The rooms were pleasant and serviceable, although there was a bit more noise than I'd like. All the staff I met were friendly and the wifi was free and a good speed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield_North, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Eddie M, Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Chesterfield North. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Donna Davies, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barlborough
6.5 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
787 reviews
6.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,401 reviews
6.0 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#35 of 53 in Sheffield
245 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Chesterfield North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Chesterfield North

Property: Ibis Chesterfield North
Address: 3 Tallys End | Chesterfield Road, Barlborough, Chesterfield S43 4WP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Barlborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Chesterfield North 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Chesterfield North hotel is located 8 km from Chesterfield and 16 km from Sheffield Airport. Admire the nearby Chatsworth House or wander through the famous Sherwood Forest of the Robin Hood legend. Book one of our 86 rooms and benefit from the hotel amenities on offer, including four meeting rooms for organising seminars and conferences, a restaurant and a snack bar open 24 hours 7 days as well as private outdoor parking. Business guests will appreciate use of our wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Ibis Chesterfield North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Chesterfield North Hotel Barlborough
Ibis Chesterfield North Barlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing