We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barlborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Surprised people cannot find a four story building near a roundabout but we did it easily without a satnav :)
Easy parking and check in. Good size room with shower although the bed was a bit hard for me.
We were at the back so also quiet - well it was until a loud humming noise started at 8pm and by 10pm my wife had a headache from it. I visited reception to be told that it had happened the night before but only the night porter knew how to stop it. At 11pm it stopped and it was peaceful again. Just in case - do not - go near room 122! You can get an evening meal but we chose the pub opposite and it was excellent. Breakfast at £7.75 was very good - buffet and unlike some hotels, proper tea and coffee, not a large flask that tastes of both (take note Prem Inn).
Near to M1 so ideal for stop over when travelling or if you are visiting nearby. I would be happy to use it again as the staff are excellent. I am sure this is an Ex - Holiday Inn or similar.

Room Tip: Do not have 122 unless they have fixed the dreadful humming noise. Other rooms nearby must have hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gramps49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield_North, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at ibis chesterfield north and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards, Peter levers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Had a reasonably pleasant stay once able to find hotel - direction map supplied online not very helpful and as the hotel was tucked away on an industrial estate they didn't have any signage on the road or at the entrance to the estate, after travelling several miles past - even using sat nav when retracing our steps just happened to see the Ibis sign on roof of hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Thankfully we had warm weather as one of the windows didn't shut completely as the latch was broken, reported it when we left but do not understand why it hadn't been repaired before - it wasn't a recent breakage. We had to pay extra for breakfast but it was well worth money lots of choice hot and cold food.

Room Tip: We had a room on top floor overlooking the industrial estate, having said that it was quite a good o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandJSpalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield_North, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at ibis Chesterfield North.

Thank you for your comments in regards to the signage this is something we are currently looking into with the council in order to try and improve for the future.

I apologise that the window latch was broken and this should have been repaired prior to you checking in and I am sorry this was not the case. I am currently looking into this and I thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Once again thank you for your feedback and i do hope you will let us welcome you back upon your next visit.

Kind regards
Donna Davies
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Visited September 2013

We had an overnight stay here on the way to the south of England. The room was booked at the last minutes specifically because it was cheap. The room was quite old and worn looking but not in bad condition as such, just old. I’m keen to stress there was nothing in particular wrong it was just an old and worn room but for the cost it was fine.

It is worth noting how terrible the TV was though… it used a dreadful Ibis interface that was an absolute pain to navigate, the volume was locked very low and the screen size was tiny. Again, the room was cheap so you can’t complain too much but still. Fine for a short stay but I wouldn’t stay for any more than a single night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield_North, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Malcom,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at ibis Chesterfield North.

Since your last stay we have installed a new TV system throughout the hotel with freeview

Kind regards
Donna Davies
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here while we were having our bathroom upgraded. Although only a few miles from home we were away from all the noise, dust and hassle in a pleasant and relaxing hotel. The basic room had no bath with a shower was at the end of the corridor was overlooking the delivery bay but was not a problem
.A basic breakfast but more than adequate with fruit, yoghurt, cereal plus full english buffet style set us up nicely and was available up to 10.30.When fried egg and tomatoes were requested these were supplied to order and brought over.The staff were helpful,unobtrusive and friendly and all in all we were well pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 8720johnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield_North, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Chesterfield North and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Donna Davies, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed here for 2 nights to watch TDF. Good value for money especially as other establishment's nearer were charging extortionate prices. Brilliant location close to M1. Treble Bob (carvery) right next door and worth a visit along with McDonald's across the road for a quick brekky. The hotel staff very welcoming and polite. Rooms clean and of a good size. The only downfall was lack of air conditioning. Room very hot and stuffy. Being on the 3rd floor window openings are restricted and unable to get any fresh air in the room. On the last night around midnight someone decided it would be fun to keep opening and letting their door slam shut!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ole1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield_North, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Chesterfield North and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Donna Davies, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chesterfield_North, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night last weekend whilst visiting family. The reception was inviting, as were the staff, but on reaching our floor we were greeted with a rather pungent smell. I am unsure if the building has had a fire in the past as the smell seemed vaguely like that of old smoke (not cigarettes) but it was quite strong and unpleasant. The room itself was functional, and made up as requested - a family room so a sofa bed was made up for us too. The bed was comfy and clean but the sofa bed was at such an angle it would not have been possible for an adult to sleep comfortably on it. As it was for my 5 year old it was fine. The cot bed for our 2 year old was clean and in good order however there was no mattress in it and so we had to fashion one out of a duvet. It was a particularly warm evening and so we had to open the windows to get some air. Unfortunately it seemed as though our room might have been directly overhead of the laundry room and so we heard the washers and dryers going well past 10pm as well as staff outside talking on their breaks.

We stayed for the breakfast the next morning which was quite nice and well stocked although maybe a little overpriced for what was available. On the whole, the hotel provided us with a place to sleep for little expense, I do think we will be looking for elsewhere on our next visit to the area however.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wunderluste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield_North, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the ibis Chesterfield North, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. The sofa beds that are available in the rooms are only suitable for children under 12 years of age and would not be used for an adult. We do have fans available upon request at reception as we do appreciate it can be quite hot during the summer months. I do apologise about the disturbance you had due to the noise. If possible it would be a great help if you could provide me with your room number so I can look into this further in order to prevent any further occurrence. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with us.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the ibis Chesterfield North and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.
Kind Regards
Donna Davies
Guest Relations Manager

T - 01246 813 222
E - h3157-am@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barlborough
6.5 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
811 reviews
6.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,459 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sandpiper Hotel
Sandpiper Hotel
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#35 of 53 in Sheffield
260 reviews
6.0 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
235 reviews
10.4 mi away
Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Chesterfield North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Chesterfield North

Address: 3 Tallys End | Chesterfield Road, Barlborough, Chesterfield S43 4WP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Barlborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barlborough
Price Range: £35 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Chesterfield North 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Chesterfield North hotel is located 8 km from Chesterfield and 16 km from Sheffield Airport. Admire the nearby Chatsworth House or wander through the famous Sherwood Forest of the Robin Hood legend. Book one of our 86 rooms and benefit from the hotel amenities on offer, including four meeting rooms for organising seminars and conferences, a restaurant and a snack bar open 24 hours 7 days as well as private outdoor parking. Business guests will appreciate use of our wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Ibis Chesterfield North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Chesterfield North Hotel Barlborough
Ibis Chesterfield North Barlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing