We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK farm version of Perigord cuisine”
Review of Le Maraval

Le Maraval
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$39
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK farm version of Perigord cuisine”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This farm restaurant is billed as having authentic Perigord food, and it certainly has the duck, frois gras, etc. you'd expect, and the price is reasonable. Fine, as long as you keep in mind this is a mass produced version of the cuisine, as tour busses come regularly. The dining room is decorated with farm implements and a weird combo of baby binkies and other oddities. The host is genial, pouring liquors gratis and chatting (if you speak French). We felt this was somewhat overrated.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    42
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Forster, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wow - what atmosphere!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

What atmosphere - this is a must visit in the Sarlat area! We had a really memorable lunch mid-week (Tuesday) and it was packed - you must book as this marvellous rustic, traditional auberge appears to be on some tour bus itineraries. Although it was crowded it was not noisy and we were pleasantly surprised that we could have a normal conversation across the table. The meal is "in your face" unpretentious traditional fare of about 5 courses (depending on the menu you choose) and is remarkably well priced - we had the 23 euro menu. Red wine included plus Eric's home brewed liqueur that he dispenses during the meal. Total relaxation and no need to hurry - we were in Le Maraval from 1245 until 4 pm and yes we were the last to leave. In our 2 week's stay in Cenac, this was the culinary highlight, largely due to the ambience of the place. The whole vist and meal was just a great experience - and as for La Chabrol, what can we say? Do not miss Le Maraval!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SixtyplusOldBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Cove, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Forget the food..Taste the Atmoshpere”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

If you are anywhere near Cernac do not miss a night out at Le Maraval.
We dined there twice with friends. Making a booking can be fun! Phone did not respond so several call ins & ringing of bells & calling out worked though. Nights of closure can vary.. BUT stick with it.. its worth it..The place is always full, so unless you are lucky a booking is essential.
Eric Miané is the host & wife Sandrine operates the kitchen side. The food is certainly not careful manicured French Cuisine but it is great taste.. A soup is served from a huge pot at the table.. and then normally the canard follows.. there were other choices on our nights, lapin,poulet but canard seems the house speciality. You won't run out of food though!
But what makes all this work is the atmosphere of the building, the locals that eat there and mein host Eric.
Wines of various grades are available and Eric keeps you topped up with his 'specials' he dispenses from his own war chest!
Then there are cheeses with a heap of walnuts to smash open..
Its a great night out, fun and atmosphere and if you like it all, Eric operates an internet on-line service where you can purchase a range of his & Sandrines products.
Again, if you are travelling through or staying nearby, make sure you book this one..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Palmcovetone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value farmhouse cooking”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I don't quite share the rave reviews already posted on this restaurant mainly due to the very ordinary standard of the cooking. However its all perfectly edible and what puts it into the 4 star bracket is the cost compared to the amount of food etc. There are 3 choices of set menu from 19e to 27e. We had the 23e but the 27 was identical except for extra course. Veg soup, pastry with artichoke puree sauce, duck breast stuffed with pate de fois gras and a few mushrooms with fried potatoes, some soft cheese.with some salad and crack your own walnuts then some walnut tart (which was pleasant but needed ice cream or cream, not on offer). All accompanied by small carafe wine included in price but you could have bought a bottle if you wished. However needing to drive back to our gite and knowing there would be some complimentary aperitifs brought out we just kept to the all inclusive deal apart from a chargeable delicious if very sweet local nut or peach aperitif to start, and still of course technically well over the limit.. Whole thing took about 3 hours but we did not feel service too slow as you needed a break between courses. So go hungry, don't expect fine dining and appreciate the value. Eric seemed to be cracking jokes with some of the customers which I with my fairly basic French could not follow but a good atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanRosemary8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perigord Cuisine”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is a former farmhouse in the midst of the fields, animals, bee hives, etc. The ambience is obviously very casual and relaxed. One the farm's dogs decided that sitting under our table was his preferred location in part influenced by the attention he received from us. Our dinner was country-style Perigordian, i.e., bounteous courses of soup, fresh vegetables, foie gras, duck, cheeses, cassoulet, a nut tarte for dessert. Though we had a perfectly good local red wine, we were constantly given aperitifs or sauternes to complement different courses. I couldn't eat this way each night, but we'll be back next trip. Make sure you come hungry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BruininEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Maraval also viewed

 
La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne
La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne
 

Been to Le Maraval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing