We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Masseria Quis Ut Deus
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crispiano
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“PARADISE!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We found this place by coincidence and it is simply lovely !! Nice big clean rooms, friendly service, beautiful pool! It's great if you traveling through Italy and you want to relax for a few days !
I'd definitely recommend it !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlaMarieNovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    38
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
81
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here Aug 2013 as a base for my sister's wedding. The place itself is a bit remote, no cabs etc (must hire car if you visit!) but as such you really appreciate the rustic, rural charm of the area. The hotel is immediately lovely, the old white painted buildings just ooze old fashioned charm. Inside, a modest concierge and dining area and lovely stone area with pergola outdoors. The wonderful chef Luigi and his team of waiting staff are really friendly and attentive, and though the menu is the same every night, its always delightful and plenty!! The breakfast isn't extensive but at the time we went, hot and dry, the simple cereals, cakes, breads, cheese and fruit were absolutely sufficient for us. The only criticism I have is that if travelling with young children this isn't the most child friendly of hotels..the staff are great and do their best to adapt but essentially this isn't a hotel that caters to children. We found the pool a bit far from our rooms, so running back for forgotten trunks or snacks tedious and in the end carried everything with us which meant always carrying a load!! That being said, it is a lovely clean pool when you get there and no sunbed hogs -hooray!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our room in a trulli was beautifully furnished and clean but the hotel was deserted and lacked any atmosphere. We had the swimming pool and breakfast restaurant to ourselves which were delightful locations but lacked fellow guests. There is no restaurant on site but the one recommended by Gino 5 minutes drive away was good value for money. We were disappointed that use of the hot tub was extra.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieofDartmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We arrived for our overnight stay after cycling 85kms from Matera in 34C. Gino, the wonderfully friendly manager welcomed us as heroes and gave us cold drinks. His English is perfect and he said we would be very happy to relax here! We stayed in a trullo and loved the cool dark room. Great to see a jug with organic tea bags offered! The swimming pool is wonderful and there are many loungers and plenty of shade. As the masseria doesn't offer an evening meal Gino suggested we dine at a pizzeria 2kms away and that he would drive us! Wow. As it happened, a young Swiss couple, who were guests, were going to the same restaurant so offered to take us in their car which was very kind. Cannot remember the name of the restaurant but it served excellent pizzas to us all. Gino said we could have early breakfast to get on the road to cycle to Porto Cesareo. The breakfast is served in a very interesting room with olive press and milling stones? The food was delicious with normal Italian fare. The lovely waitress made us tasty omelettes. Grazie Gino and your staff. You really know now to welcome guests and make them feel special!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the trulli!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a difficult review to write. We really liked our room (two beautiful trulli) and the masseria's set-up more generally. However, one of the main reasons we chose to stay here was that it is supposed to have a very good restaurant (see other reviews). But when we checked in (on 22 September) and asked about dinner we were told that the restaurant had closed for the season earlier that day. We were very surprised and disappointed about this. While we had not asked in advance, it had not crossed our minds that the restaurant would be closed in September and there was no suggestion on the website that this would be the case. We didn't really want to be driving out on minor roads every evening to find a restaurant and to not be able to drink and so we reluctantly checked out after two nights having booked four. To be fair to the hotel, they were very good about this.

One other criticism, though, was that the breakfast was very cake-heavy, even for Italy! We would have been very pleased to have been served them for afternoon tea but not for breakfast. On the first day, the only other options were some bread and jam, a bowl of grapes and a bit of meat and cheese. On the second day some cereal and nice juices appeared but it still was not a great spread, even for a small hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DB_n_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

A beautiful location is a less frequently travelled part of Italy that is well worth a visit. The staff are very friendly and capable (and working on their English skills). Stayed in one of the Trulli rooms, truly a unique experience. The highlight however were the meals and dining service. The dining room staff were extremely professional and attentive even when the restaurant was busy. Chef Luigi has an uncanny intuition as to his patrons tastes and desires. He cares passionately about his food and the satisfaction of his customers. The dishes use local and seasonal ingredients that make the meals as interesting as they are flavourful. We enjoyed the dining experience immensely, among the best we have had in Italy.

The masseria is in a convenient location but a car is almost essential to use the masseria as a base for exploring. The only suggestion for improvement would be some patio chairs and tables in the courtyard area near the rooms.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JMLT_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonoma, california
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This Masseria is "trulli" a hidden treasure in Puglia. My husband and I stayed here for two nights in June 2012 and wished we had stayed longer. Gino and Chef Luigi were always helpful. Gino helped us make a phone call to the U.S. on the Masseria's phone. His dog, Chops, always greeted us in the morning. They have a magnificent dining room filled with antique olive presses. Luigi's cooking was perfect - always striving for the freshest local ingredients and healthy, delicious cooking. Many of the ingredients come right from the kitchen garden, with emphasis on the local cuisine. I definitely recommend eating dinner at least once in the Masseria. Twice, Luigi helped us on the telephone when we were lost (he speaks excellent English) and could not find the Masseria at night. It is truly a hidden gem near Crispiano. The best way to find it is to take highway 172 that runs between Martina Franca and Taranto, getting off at the exit for Crispiano. Follow the signs towards Crispiano until you see a sign for the Masseria. If you still get lost, call the Masseria - they will lead you there if necessary. The room was lovely. We stayed in the "Gelso" room, which I believe was the former stable. It was nicely furnished, roomy and very comfortable. There is a refrigerator in the room. This Masseria is conveniently located to sights both in Puglia (Martina Franca, Cisternino, etc.) and Basilicata as well. They have a gorgeous, walk-in swimming pool - an excellent way to cool down in the afternoon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, even the non-Trulli rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iconlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crispiano
8.5 mi away
Relais Histo'
Relais Histo'
#2 of 14 in Taranto
924 reviews
23.1 mi away
Borgobianco Resort & Spa Mgallery By Sofitel
Borgobianco Resort & Spa Mgaller...
#4 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
479 reviews
18.6 mi away
Kalidria Thalasso Spa Resort
Kalidria Thalasso Spa Resort
#2 of 9 in Castellaneta
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Masseria Chiancone Torricella
Masseria Chiancone Torricella
#1 of 9 in Martina Franca
371 reviews
20.5 mi away
Il Melograno
Il Melograno
#6 of 14 in Monopoli
268 reviews
17.5 mi away
Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masseria Quis Ut Deus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria Quis Ut Deus

Property: Masseria Quis Ut Deus
Address: Strada Provinciale 49 - km 10+750, 74012 Crispiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Crispiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crispiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Masseria Quis Ut Deus 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Masseria Quis Ut Deus, surrounded by very old olives groves which seems to protect it, is a fascinating 4 stars Resort, including rooms and SPA. Built in 1710, it is located in a part of Italy not affected by changing of the modern age; inside its walls you can still fell the freshness and pureness of authentic pleasures.The 10 rooms, all made by natural woods and the SPA (located in the old “Trulli”) are at exclusive use of the couple. This peculiarity assure you a very private and relaxing staying.The Masseria Quis ut Deus is in Crispiano, in the northeastern province of Taranto, just in the territory of the 100 farms in the Valle d’Itria hills.There are frequent guided tours of some of the most beautiful architecture in this area with tastings of local products: wine, olive oil, cheeses and meats. The territory is rich in events including the Carnival of the liver (July / August), Feast of chili (September), the Living Nativity (Christmas), the Holy Week Rites in Taranto (Easter)Due to its favorable location at the heart of Puglia, from the farm Quis ut Deus are from various routes between neighboring places as beautiful: Alberobello and its trulli (UNESCO world heritage site);Cisternino and Locorotondo whit theirs old town; the baroque Martina Franca, town of Liric Festival of Valle Itria; Grottaglie and her ancient District of Ceramics; Ostuni the white city; Taranto whit its white beaches and the important Archaeological Museum of Magna Grecia; Castellaneta Marina and its Ionian coast; … just to name a few ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Masseria Quis Ut Deus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masseria Quis Ut Deus Crispiano, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing