We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The spa is more interesting than the room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Viking Aqua Spa & Wellness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Viking Aqua Spa & Wellness Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saeby
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The spa is more interesting than the room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Have been there several time in the spa area, wich we think is very nice. Have usually gone on thursdays, where they have special offers. Not to many people and peacefull without screaming children.

This time we tryed a night in a standard room, wich was ok, but a bit worn and boring. Don't feel especially tempted to try again. But have no idea how the business or wellnes rooms are.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fenris4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    68
    42
    25
    8
See reviews for
19
130
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

We stayed for a 4-night new year package. This hotel is a pearl. Fantastic to find such a good family owned hotel.

The Spa/Wellness area is outstanding in facilities and enjoyment. We had a wonderfull relaxing short break, really the way to enter a new year.

The food was good, not big-city high class but good tasting. The new years feastmenu was excellent.

We will definitely come back, this is a good place for 3-4-5 nights as a couple to wind down and relax.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

We had originally booked a standard double but we were not impressed with the one we got. Like another reviewer said, it looked worn, tired and none too clean. We asked for an upgrade and we were shown "business" and "wellness" rooms. Both looked far better than the standard one and we opted for the wellness room. For an extra charge of course but in this case it was worth it. A very nice room with a view of the sea.

No wireless internet but there was a contact in the room and a cable was supplied from the reception.

The staff were sericeminded & friendly. Breakfast was very nice too!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norwegiantourist_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home Counties UK
Level Contributor
228 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed here for one night prior to catching the ferry to Gothenburg. The spa and communal areas are well presented but the corridors and bedrooms are very tired and faded and in need of a makeover. The bathroom was dreary and the lighting extremely poor. Food in restaurant was good. There is a charge for using a credit card and there is also a charge for using the spa of approx £15 per person weekday - more at the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

We stayed at the hotel because we needed a single overnight in Saeby. We mainly chose the hotel because it looked liked it had a swimming pool combined with a wellness area. After a long drive we wanted to be able to let the children relax in the pool. Unfortunately we found out at arrival that children weren’t allowed in the pool area (or Spa area as they call it). But we were lucky they told us - they had just opened up for a possibility for the children to swim from 5pm - 8pm. As we had arrived at 5pm this suited us ok, but then we found out that access to the pool (Spa) wasn't at all included in the very expensive room price. We would have to pay 250DKK (33 Euro) for adults and 100DKK (13 Euro) for kids, per day. That is 700DKK (92 Euro) to take a swim... The price doesn't include any wellness treatments - you have to pay even more for that.

The hotel is an old highway hotel. It has now been sold, and the new owner has built a new section, with new reception, new rooms, bars and Spa area. All great, but it is still all in all just a highway hotel. Be aware not to get a room in the old section. It is the same price, but the rooms are old and not in a good condition.

The breakfast was basic but plenty.

The hotel is much too expensive compared to what you get.

  • Liked — It is only 300 meters from the beach
  • Disliked — The fact that it is not possible to use the pool as a guest in the hotel without paying an horrible price for it.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ode_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saeby
6.5 mi away
Scandic The Reef
Scandic The Reef
#1 of 15 in Frederikshavn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Jutlandia
Hotel Jutlandia
#5 of 15 in Frederikshavn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
6.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 15 in Frederikshavn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Stiholt Hotel - Saeby
Stiholt Hotel - Saeby
#2 of 2 in Saeby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
17.6 mi away
Aalbaek Gl Kro
Aalbaek Gl Kro
#1 of 1 in Albaek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang
BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang
#6 of 15 in Frederikshavn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking Aqua Spa & Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking Aqua Spa & Wellness Resort

Property: Hotel Viking Aqua Spa & Wellness Resort
Address: Frederikshavnsvej 72, Saeby, Frederikshavn 9300, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Frederikshavn > Saeby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saeby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Viking Aqua Spa & Wellness Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Viking Aqua Spa & Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Viking Aqua, Spa And Wellness Resort
Hotel Viking Aqua, Spa & Wellness Saeby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing