We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting museum and superb coffee and biscuits”

Bezoekerscentrum Jules Destrooper
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bezoekerscentrum Jules Destrooper: Geluk zit soms in een klein koekje. Kwaliteit, authenticiteit, natuurlijke ingredienten en bovenal een nooit aflatende passie voor koekjes... Toen Jules Destrooper in 1886 zijn gelijknamige Biscuiterie oprichtte, zal hij nooit vermoed hebben dat precies 125 jaar later fijnproevers in meer dan 75 landen de koekjes weten te apprecieren.In dit gloednieuw bezoekerscentrum wandel je letterlijk doorheen de rijke geschiedenis van dewereldberoemde koekjes uit West-Vlaanderen. Aanvullend zal je heel wat opsteken over hoe de familie Destrooper vandaag haar verfijnde koekjes bakt. In de proefbakkerij krijg je een deskundige uitleg van een van onze bakkers en vanzelfsprekend staat proeven hierbij uitgebreid op het programma. Open Iedere werkdag en zaterdag van 9u00 - 12u30 en van 13u30 - 17u30 (op vrijdag van 13u30 tot 16u30)laatste toegang een uur voor sluitingstijd Let op: op zaterdag is er geen productiegesloten op vrijdagvoormiddag, zon- en feestdagen gesloten van 21 december 2013 tot en met 1 januari 2014 Toegang volwassene (€ 5) - kinderen ( 12 jaar (€ 3) - kinderen ( 6 jaar (gratis)prijzen geldig tot 31/12/2013 individueel zonder begeleidinggids op aanvraag - supplement 30 €groepen vanaf 20 personen - steeds op reservatie gratis gids !
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We've been to this attraction a number of times as it is a. interesting b. you get superb biscuits and coffee as part of the visit and c. you can buy the whole range of Jules' biscuits at attractive prices (much cheaper than in the local tourist shops of Ieper etc.)

We always come away laden with products for ourselves and as presents. The attraction is in a beautiful village, which is well worth exploring.

As a good value, interesting and tasty visit in a relaxing atmosphere, I would strongly recommend.

1  Thank tkbrierley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destrooper, Public Relations Manager at Bezoekerscentrum Jules Destrooper, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your post about our visitors centre. We're glad to hear you had a good time :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Bezoekerscentrum Jules Destrooper
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I visited the center when I was in the area for a weekend. The exhibition is very interesting, nice pictures from the beginning of the firm, real material from that time, ... But the best is the tasting itself. You get the chance to taste different cookies with a lovely coffee. The people were very nice. At the shop you can buy great presents for your family or yourself

Thank traveller8550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We visited the 'Visitor Centre' for Jules Destrooper as a side trip from Ieper (Ypres).
These biscuits are a Belgian favourite, so it was interesting to see/hear the history of the place.

Make sure you get the address right. My quick google search sent us to their other Production plant about 20minutes away!. Fortunately, a friendly young lady provided us with the information we needed to get to the actual visitor centre (that is also attached to one of the production factories). The display is reasonably well done and it is good to have a view of the production floor.

of course, coffee and product samples at the end of the tour (and further explanations) is a bonus. The prices in the 'gift shop' are more than reasonable (unlike some other places).

Cost of entry was 4euro which I thought was fair.

Worth a visit if you are in the area.

Thank RedDeePh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The visit takes around 1 hour and it is possible to see the cookies being produced. A movie is also presented and the visitors can learn about the history of Jules Destrooper (the creator and the factory). At the end, you can taste some cookies and buy some boxes (cheaper than at Brussels stores).

Thank CLGoulart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Jannik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bezoekerscentrum Jules Destrooper also viewed

Lo-Reninge, West Flanders Province
Vleteren, West Flanders Province
 
Veurne, West Flanders Province
Westvleteren, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bezoekerscentrum Jules Destrooper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing