We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Freezing snow outside, snug and warm inside”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pretty Cottage

Pretty 17th Century Listed Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pretty 17th Century Listed Cottage
Welcome to Eglantine Low ceiling and beams giving a feeling of a bygone age
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Pretty 17th Century Listed Cottage
Welcome to Eglantine
Low ceiling and beams giving a feeling of a bygone age
Cosy gas fire - not the old bread oven
Period features
Fully equipped kitchen overlooks the pretty garden
The Garden
Downstairs bathroom, small but perfectly formed
The Landing Area
Master bedroom with Superking size Brass bed
This cute bedroom separated by a curtain rather than a wall with gorgeous Antique 4' brass bed
Street View
Garden
Open vista across Surrey/Hampshire Countryside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Crondall, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WantanewV...
1 review
“Freezing snow outside, snug and warm inside”
Reviewed 2 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The cottage was perfect for our needs, beautifully presented interior enhanced by the warmth as we entered to escape the biting wind outside. A lovely combination of contemporary fittings where needed in the kitchen and bathroom and a fine period touch everywhere else in the sitting room and bedrooms. We had a busy daytime schedule for the 3 days we visited our family in the area and it was good to be able to return to a welcoming inn opposite the cottage that served a good range of beers, a reasonable choice of wines and a menu of good hearty food with the added bonus of a nice warm fire. On our first evening we realised that we had forgotten to pick up some fruit juice for the following mornings breakfast and asked if we could buy a carton from the inn. They kindly gave us some free of charge (which challenges the perception that all Yorkshire men are tight with their money - the landlord was from North Yorkshire). Given the weather we didn't explore the garden but again it is a lovely cottage garden with a patio for use in better conditions and views across open fields at the rear. The main bedroom was delightful and the occasional bedroom suited our adult daughter who decided to join us after we had planned the trip. One minor hiccup, the broadband connection was not very fast, but overall a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for such a lovely review Alan :-) glad you enjoyed the pub too hope you choose to visit again in the sunshine- keep well Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Mar 2018
Thank you for your kind review Sarah and glad your little ones enjoyed despite the awful weather - hopefully see you again in the sunshine! Best wishes Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Charlotte...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming character cottage nestled in the heart of exceptionally pretty village - dog walking heaven on the doorstep!”
Reviewed 11 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Have just returned from 2 week stay in the charming Eglantine, owned by the equally lovely owner, Julie.

This pretty cottage is situated opposite an historic old pub within a few minutes walk of another equally good country pub both guaranteeing a good wecome with open fires in winter, add to this, a Post Office/Shop run by a very friendly lady who has owned/run it for 40 yrs and you have the perfect cosy cottage in the perfect setting right in the heart of the village where you wake up only to the sound of birdsong and the occasional horse rider trotting along the country lanes.

It’s true Midsummer Murders countryside (minus the murders!) the quintessential English village, it even has the requisite duck pond, the prettiest listed cottages and straight out the front door are stunning walks across fields and woodland that stretch for miles in every direction. Added to that, you are minutes away by car from the very pretty and unspoilt town of Farnham, the historic village of Odiham, well worth a visit, Frensham Ponds and the Devils Punchbowl, and of course you are under an hour from London and very close to Basingstoke with all the accompanying amenities. It actually felt more rural than Cornwall which was a huge surprise to me as I had no idea you could live so close to London yet feel you are in deepest countryside. I would love to move here if it wasn’t for the prohibitive house prices and an still working on it!!

The cottage is a delight, so cosy and warm, even in deepest winter with a lovely roaring fire (it’s so well heated you don’t need it but couldn’t resist it!). Everything is very well equipped, kitchen, ditto bathroom, and we particularly enjoyed the super comfortable large bed - so comfy - I came home and ordered identical mattress/topper/pillows for here! The well enclosed pretty garden is a real treat, perfect for enjoying a coffee in the 2 seating areas with views across the fields without worrying about our escape artist terrier disappearing. It was even nice in deepest winter with the snowdrops and crocuses about to bloom, so in summer it would be a great place to relax with a barbecue and book.

Julie has been fantastic from initial enquiry right through until leaving. Responds immediately to queries and is incredibly organised and helpful throughout. I was so touched to find she had dropped off a Get Well Card and pressie at the cottage ready for my return from Hospital (we booked the cottage as needed to access post op physio/hydro for 2 weeks in Basingstoke - snowboarder caused multiple ligament issues last March - 2nd op and still ongoing!) The milk and goodies on arrival were also very welcome. If you stay more than 7 days you get help from her 2 lovely girls who pop by with freshly ironed linen/t towels and towels. They make the beds and do a great job leaving everything sparkling again (so welcome when you are on crutches and subject to a ‘man clean’ only!

In short, it’s rare to find such a quality let that also allows dogs but its also ideal for couples, non dog owners (no whiff of dog whatsoever) walkers, riders, cyclists, in fact anyone who loves the countryside and appreciates character properties and is looking for something a bit different from the large, modern but rather bland properties out there. My only worry is it will get oversubscribed soon, so please don’t tell too many people!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2018
Dear Charlotte, Thank you so much :-) It was a real pleasure hosting you and to hear such lovely remarks brought a tear. The girls will be so happy to hear what you have said too, it is so nice to be appreciated - looking forward to seeing you again and wishing you a speedy recovery.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aidan M
1 review
“Cosy characterful cottage done up to very high standard - highly recommended”
Reviewed 17 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We used Eglantine a a base while we we preparing to get married in the area. We found it to be a beautiful English cottage, both cosy and quaint but done up very impressively with modern appliances and very comfy beds! The kitchen and the bathroom were particularly impressive, and we loved the original exposed wooden beams in the ceilings and some walls.

Being January we didn't investigate the garden too much, but it certainly looked bigger than one might expect for a small property and in warmer weather I'm sure it would be lovely to spend time in.

It was easy to park, right outside the cottage.

Communication from the owner Julie was excellent - she was incredibly helpful and welcoming at all times.

The ceilings certainly aren't the highest ever, but for us this added to the charm of the place, however anyone particularly tall might struggle slightly...!

We'd certainly love to stay again should the opportunity arise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2018
Thank you Aidan for you kind review, it was a pleasure hosting such lovely guests on their very special day :-) Many good wishes for your future life together Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette S
2 reviews
“Beautiful cosy cottage”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a lovely stay in this beautiful recently refurbished cosy cottage. High quality fixtures and fittings. Exceptional shower! Huge super king-sized bed. Spotlessly clean.
Lovely enclosed private garden perfect for a sunny afternoon - our westie loved it!
Yummy complimentary chocolate brownies were a lovely touch.
Quaint village setting with well stocked local shop nearby and pub opposite.
Highly recommended.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2017
Thank you for your kind words Janette :-) So pleased you enjoyed your stay and everything was positive, look forward to meeting you next time and Big Cuddles to Baby Westie x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing