We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely village pub with rooms”

The Plume of Feathers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Plume of Feathers
Ranked #4 of 4 Crondall B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Nice pub, great beer, great service and menu.

Rooms are very compact but well decorated and very clean and tidy - fine for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgannonumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for The Plume of Feathers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 67 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

I booked this accomodation thinking the reviews were fine. How wrong was I! If you don't mind staying in a coverted stable, then that's fine. A pokey room with a tiny skylight as a window. How 2 people could stay in these rooms is beyond me, not even enough room for a bedside cabinet as the bed is pushed up against the wall to make room for it. Cold at night and that was October so the Winter months must be freezing. Thin walls, so you could hear everything from next door. The en suite isn't much better, very small. The door opens inwards with a stupid latch sticking out, which I cut my arm on. The restaurant was expensive and so was the beer. Meals are not served until 7 pm, so after a hard days work it is too late to eat. I skipped breakfast as this was a rip off too (Ten pounds) and not included in the price as another reviewer states.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GrayB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plumeoffeathers, Owner at The Plume of Feathers, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

We are sorry that this guest did not enjoy his stay.
This was an on-line booking so the guest will have been aware of the facilities that we offer with descriptions, photographs and reviews on our web site.
Our rooms are situated in a converted stable block adjacent to the rear courtyard giving every guest complete and private access 24 hours a day.
The rooms have sound proof insulation with-in the dividing walls but, unfortunately, some sound will travel between the rooms
The rooms are not particularly big but have a very comfy double bed, wardrobe, desk and digital TV.
The en-suite rooms have a WC, large basin and shower enclosure.
All the rooms are insulated and centrally heated.
We are a small village pub/restaurant that provides accommodation and we serve food lunch times between 12.00 and 2.30 and evenings between 7.00 and 9.30.
Our breakfast comprises limitless fruit juice, tea and coffee, full English or Continental breakfast with toast, jams and marmalade.
Whilst we do charge £10 for the breakfast, it is an option and we only charge £50 per night per room.
The guest did not make any complaints to us during his stay and indeed had a meal and a few drinks in the bar in the evening.
We do try to ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay here with both the comfort of the rooms and the quality of food and drinks that we serve.
Please read our other reviews on trip advisor and also the reviews on our on line booking web site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The room we stayed in was in a separate converted outbuilding off the rear beer garden/patio. The room was ensuite but quite small with enough room for a double bed and wardrobe - it was a tight squeeze for anything else. It was a comfortable nights' sleep. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was tasty and slightly overpriced. We felt that we should have eaten in the bar where the menu boards offered better value along with a good atmosphere. We had a full english breakfast that was included in the price of the accommodation - this was good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JollyHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We didn't stay over, so couldn't pass any comments on the accommodation. The pub was lovely, nice decked area at the back or you can sit out the front of the pub. Good selection of ales and a huge selection of food. We had one of their specialty meals 'the club' which was enormous and tasted great.

I'd definitely go back again for lunch or dinner, as the inside restaurant looked really cosy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaralouise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Shower not working. One tiny loft window only, could not be covered to keep am liht out. tiny room. Landlord just shrugged shoulders when made aware of shower not working.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nancyChristiansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plumeoffeathers, Owner at The Plume of Feathers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2011

We are sorry that this guest did not enjoy her stay. We were not able to explain the non working shower as the guest left in a hurry. The reason for the shower not working was because the isolating pull switch located outside of the cubicle, needed to comply with building regulations, had not been turned on.
The rooms are in a converted stable block and we were only able to install velux windows in the roof as the floors are raised and the rooms therefore have a vaulted ceiling.
We are currently sourcing some blinds for the windows.
The rooms are not large but are adequate for a comfortable double bed, wardrobe and desk.
The en-suite shower rooms are equiped with WC, large basin, cubicle electric shower with isolating pull cord, mirrors and shelves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

I never knew this place existed. If I had then I would have been visiting regularly.

The village of Crondall is a lovely little place. The area is very well to do. The pub has a restaurant to the rear of the building. To the front it is a village pub. The atmosphere is lovely. The staff are friendly and provide the right sort of attention.

The food is really good. I will be visiting the rstaurant again when I can make up a reason to pass through the area.

The rooms are quite small. They are in what I assume was the stables in days of old. The bathrooms are not large but are more than enough. My bed was really comfortable. There are windows in the roof for which a curtain of some kind would be good, especially in the summer.

This place is gorgeous. It suits someone who wants to be out of London but within easy reach. The M3 is not far. Aldershot is not far. I do wonder whether walkers etc. would find it useful simply because it is not in what I consider to be a walking area. A lovely place for the Farnborough Airshow, for visiting family in the area .... It is a gorgeous place.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Famsol67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crondall
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Aldershot Hotel
2.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
3.6 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fleet
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Farnham
287 reviews
5.4 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#6 of 7 in Hook
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vine Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plume of Feathers

Address: The Borough, Crondall GU10 5NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Crondall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Crondall
Price Range: £55 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plume of Feathers 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historic village of Crondall, the Plume of Feathers is a 16th century pub/restaurant. The accommodation is in the converted stable block adjacent to the rear courtyard giving guests complete and private access 24hrs a day. Food is served both in the bar and restaurant between 12.00 and 2.30 and 7.00 and 9.30.Free Wi-Fi in the bar and rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Plume of Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plume Of Feathers Crondall, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing